We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amphora Restaurant, Excellent food, great service”
Review of Amphora Restaurant

Amphora Restaurant
Ranked #42 of 429 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Amphora Restaurant, Excellent food, great service”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Amphora Restaurant is a great choice for food when you are in Chania. The authentic Cretan cuisine is great and all the dishes are made of original products that the island of Crete offers. The staff was quite friendly, the prices are very reasonable and the atmosphere was very cozy. I totally recommend Amphora Restaurant for your dinner or launch if you are in Chania.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JamesJ_Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    585
    436
    159
    41
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Amphora Resaturant, best food, Chania town”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We visited Amhora Restaurant on August and we are very satisfied of our choice. The food was great, the staff quite friendly and helpful and the place very beautiful with great atmosphere. The authentic Cretan cuisine was very tasty and all the dishes were made of authentic Cretan products. Not to forget that the prices were very reasonable. Keep up the great job Amphora Restaurant.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgina F F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Decent Restaurant with very nice and helpful staff”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We had lunch with my wife here. I chose this restaurant because NO ONE TRIED TO PUSH US TO COME IN! Many restaurants in this area almost force you to visit - which is very annoying and irritating. Dishes and portions seemed to be bigger than normal - good news for those not on a diet ))). We ordered fish - which was well cooked and very tasty. A nice compliment awaits , i think for everyone, from house - rake - the local spirit with some deserts (in our case it was watermellons). Our bill for 4 (big) dishes was 45 Euros - which i think is a good price.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artur I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Back again! and its full it must be good.”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

My wife and I decided to go back to Amphora having been in June on our previous visit to Chania, we where at first dissapointed as the place was full with all tables occupied, but no fear the two super brothers remembered us and made a new table at the front perfect location and as always service was second to none, food great we both ordered beef steak which where the size of the plates with different sauces a litre of wine less than 30 euro total just great value. thanks guys your the best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gary I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A good lunch”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We tried Amphora because of the Tripadvisor recommendations and it was nice but not great. It looks out on the port so has a nice view, the table settings give it a traditional Cretan atmosphere and the service is good. We felt the food was comparable with other restaurants we visited in Chania but was not exceptional. It was a nice lunch but not so good that I would need to visit again in a holiday week.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphora Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Amphora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing