We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh fish, not frozen! Great red mullet!”
Review of Amphora Restaurant

Amphora Restaurant
Ranked #36 of 419 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
235 reviews
162 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Fresh fish, not frozen! Great red mullet!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Not even try to go to the other place, just go directly to that restaurant it's located from the opposite side of the lighthouse. Everything was fresh and tasty, the best red mullet in my life (16euro), Really fresh fish. Very tasty grilled octopus (12euro) and imam (eggplants with feta cheese) 5 euro. You definitely need to order red mullet fish - it's amazingly tasty! delicious place. I reccomend this place for the tourists.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yaroslaw_Kerget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    551
    398
    149
    39
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, PA
Level Contributor
1,401 reviews
559 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,720 helpful votes
“Beautiful view - and food”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed at the Amphora Hotel and guests get a 10% discount at the Amphora Restaurant. We were very tired when we arrived in Chania after flying from the U.S. to Athens, then from Athens to Heraklion, then driving from Heraklion to Chania. So we decided to eat at the restaurant located right in the Amphora Hotel. We are glad we did. The food, service and view were all excellent. Plus the price was very good - even without the 10% discount. Also, we got free dessert and raki with each (yes we ate there many times) of our meals.

Everything we ordered was fresh and delicious. This was one of the few resyaurants along the harbor which was continously full. Other places were trying to lure in customers. As soon as a table was vacant at the Amphora, it was occupied by new customers - a very good sign.

I would recommend this restaurant highly.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank luvroma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money and superb service!”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My friend and I were attracted to Amphora due to its beautiful decor: from flowers and blue chairs to carefully laid out tablecloths and even a bouncy castle for the children, the restaurant looked homey and welcoming. We ate here three times in total: twice we just had drinks and desserts - it can be very hot in Chania and trust me, you will crave the ice-cream and refreshing orange juice by mid-day! Since the desserts were really good we decided to then come back for dinner and had the Greek salad, a portion of marinated pork skewers and lamb with Cretan vegetables. Everything was delicious! My friend and I were really amazed at how fresh the produce was and how well prepared the meat dishes were! Staff was incredibly polite and attentive and always up for answering a question or making us smile so it was a lovely dining experience! At the end of the meal you receive free dessert and raki - I must say, the best raki in Chania, so you have to go there and try it! The chef makes it himself and was kind enough to even give me a small bottle as a souvenir! I heartily recommend it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The go-to place at the harbor”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We went there initially attracted by the fact that unlike 95% of the restaurants along the Venetian harbor, there was no trying to drag us into eating there.

The food there was good, the house wine very good and the experience exceptional considering how cheap it was (you'll find many inferior meals for twice the price just a minute's walk away). Just as importantly, the atmosphere was warm, friendly, informal and very welcoming. We found ourselves coming back to this restaurant several times simply because we enjoyed the overall experience there so much. Eating here was one of the most memorable experiences in Chania.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Anders H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“very tasty food, great service”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We ended up going there three times (after disappointing encounters at other places).

Waiters were very friendly, food came fast, and the bread, water, and greek salad that came in the waiting time was not on the bill. We tried cretan salad, lamb, stuffed vegetables, boureki, veal, rabbit; everything was fresh, tasty and well spiced. The house white wine we took is worth recommending. Dinner was followed by ice cold raki.

The bill was surprisingly low for such a good experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank babyel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amphora Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Amphora Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing