We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value accommodation in centre of old town”
Review of Vranas Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vranas Studios
Ranked #15 of 115 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Centrally sited in Chania old town this is good value studio accommodation. Cooking facilities are limited but there is a full size fridge, kettle and, unusually for Greece, a teapot. The room was cleaned every day with clean towels. Rooms have heating/air-con. In February/March Chania is quiet and this accommodation, located in a narrow side street, means this is a peaceful experience. Mid-season would be a different matter as there is an open-air taverna across the street. Don't expect to lie in at the weekend though as these studios are very close to the Cathedral and the bells are very loud and rung persistently on Sunday morning and less so on Saturday morning. Local colour indeed.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrPokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

66 - 72 of 189 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

The place is kept very clean and people are helpful and kind. The stairs could prove challenging for some. The wifi is not the best either and some of the rooms could use some renovation (been there another time). But overall it's a very good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stranan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Situated in the old town of Chania, with many restaurants nearby this was an excellent base to explore the western end of Crete from. The accommodation was attractively decorated. The bathroom was a little tired but towels were changed daily. We had a warm welcome on arrival and the only drawback to the accommodation was the climb to our room on the third floor. There is little chance of a lie in either as the cathedral booms out early in the morning(7am when were there).
We still managed to have a wonderful time and would return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 767Jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We had the double studio - spacious and nicely decorated. The location was perfect! Right in the old town around the corner from the Cathedral and 2 minuted from the old harbour. Its also about a 5 minute walk to the bus station which was really handy too. The cleaner changed bedding and linen every day and the staff were really helpful. The lady working during the day sorted us out bike hire and gave us lots of info on where to go. I would definitely stay here again, it was great value for money!
There were a couple of downsides, not major issues but just worth noting. The hot water is a little temperamental. I take it because the water is solar heated maybe but having a shower before 9am before everyone else has showers is a must otherwise its a little chilly! Showers in the evening are fine though, lots of hot water....we stayed here in April to no doubt this is less of a problem in the summer months! Also wifi was a bit hit and miss in our room, probably because of the location (top floor).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sb_180889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

As noted in other reviews this spot is a little hard to find but shop owners were happy to point us in the right direction (it may not be the best place for you if you have tons of luggage to tote as you have to walk at least a few blocks). The rooms were clean and pretty and the view from our balcony was of a quaint little street. Overall a great place, picturesque location and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I would definitely stay here again. Great value in a perfect position to enjoy Chania Town. Right by the cathedral so the bells are your early morning call! Comfortable spacious studio suite for three. Fresh towels daily and bed linen changed regularly. Big comfortable beds - small uncomfortable bath..so take a shower! Cheerful, helpful proprietor. Excellent wifi connection in the room (free) and the use of computer / printer in the foyer if required. Have a beer in the Green Eye cafe downstairs ..they're nice and friendly.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank VisitorfromBerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2013

What is not perfectly clear in the literature on Chania Town is that no cars are allowed in all of Old Town. The streets are crazy-tangled and it is not easy finding your way around the first couple of tries. Vranas Studios is in the middle of all of this! The proprietor was lovely, the rooms clean and comfortable, the tiny kitchenettes and the balconies were really nice surprises. Note: there is no elevator. We really enjoyed hanging out at an "old man bar" directly behind the hotel, playing checkers, drinking beers, eating peanuts and watching the town go by.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NYCtoSantaMonica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#14 of 111 in Chania Town
281 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
429 reviews
2.2 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Palazzo di Pietro
Palazzo di Pietro
#27 of 111 in Chania Town
172 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avra City Hotel
Avra City Hotel
#41 of 111 in Chania Town
123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#24 of 111 in Chania Town
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vranas Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vranas Studios

Address: Mitropoleos Square & Agion Deka, Chania Town, Crete, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 115 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range: $51 - $121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vranas Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the Old Town of Chania only 50 m from the Venetian port Vranas Studios offers spacious guestrooms with kitchenettes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Vranas Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vranas Studios Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing