We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Ranked #18 of 110 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Kolding, Vejle, Denmark
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

My wife and I spend wonderful 12 days at Porto Kalamaki in July 2013. Very friendly staff and nice room. Cleaning was excellent and the restaurant was good too, both in terms of quality of the food, reasonably priced and a good selection of dishes. Service also very good.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms with west-faced balcony so you won't have the sun at the balcony in the morning du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    134
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
105
165
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is one of our best vacances and that has a great deal to do about our stay at Porto Kalamaki Hotel. Very, very nice and the staff made the best of their effort in giving us a wonderful week. Lilly that served us a nice breakfast, Andreas who saw to it so that I had glutenfree bread every day (thanks!!!) The staff in the reception that made their utmost to give us a room on the upper floor with seaview. Always tidy and clean. The location was near Chania, easy to rent a car and travel around. Lots of nice restaurants by the sea. We will surely come back to Porto Kalamaki Hotel!

Room Tip: Nice on the 2nd floor with a seaview.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AsaHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Nice place to stay, clean, friendly staff. Public transport to Chania centre close. Only one bad thing: the frying pan was absolutely terrible, don't even try using it, waste of food as everything sticks to it and burns, just bring yr own if you plan frying eggs or chips.
I would definitely come back again if I'd be looking for a place to stay in Chania.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agia Pelagia, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

A very comfortable, spacious and cozy hotel just by the beach. In case wind blows a big and CLEAN swimming pool is available! We really enjoyed the amazing cocktails at the pool bar under jazz&piano sounds. Quality of breakfast and food served was also very good. Friendly staff whilst more than willing to help us get around. Take advantage of the location to enjoy a romantic walk along the coastline and enjoy the unique sunset of the Aegean sea.
Very easy to find and navigate yourself: 500m. from the High way, 5-10 minutes from the city (depending on the traffic) and next to the main big beaches where all clubs, restaurants, night life and shopping centers are.
After all a great value for money hotel and for sure when visiting Chania again, stay at Porto Kalamaki.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eleosmetaonomata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

An average hotel but what annoyed me the most was the location. "Seafront" doesn't mean that you're going to stay next to a nice beach - maybe it was the offseason but during our stay ( early september) the beach was dirty. There's nothing to see nearby except for a couple of restaurants so you need to go to Chania town in case you want to go out for a night. Hotel rooms were OK, but we had problems with air conditiong being broken and ants coming in. This is clearly a hotel for budget travelers.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKItraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balantinos, Manager at Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Dear Mr/Mrs HKItraveler,

thank you in advance for your comments concerning Porto Kalamaki Hotel. We are always keen on taking feedback from our guests in order to improve our facilities & services.
Seafront means in front of the sea. We never implied that our hotel is located in front of a beach.
If the beach is dirty, it's not the hotel's fault. We always co-operate with the municipality in order to advise the guests not to leave their litter on the beach, but there is nothing more that we can do. So, we believe that a dirty beach it's unfair to affect the rate of our hotel.

We really apologise for the broken air-condition (we couldn't predict it, though), thus we did everything we could to fix it as soon as possible.
Concerning the ants, we deworm every month but because of the gardens of the hotel, ants and other insects may appear once in awhile.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heraklion, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is a great hotel, right at the sea front. The rooms are spacious, with fridge and a.c. it offers an amazing pool with clean water, perfect to chill out before an evening walk to the town. It is 5 minutes to city center but within walking distance from great beaches. The national road is 200 meters from the hotel and you can drive quickly to the famous beaches of the south.
All in all, the hotel is a great value for money. Highly recommended. I have stayed there for 3— 4 times and i cannot wait to go back again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank billyz127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We had a very nice stay at this hotel in september/october 2012. The rooms were comfortable, and we had a beautiful wiew towards the sea. The hotel was big enough to have all the fasillities we needed, and yet small enough to have a cosy atmosphere. The staff was always helpfull and friendly, and we felt we got to know them a little. The food and the service in the restaurant and bar was also very good. In walking distance there were many nice beaches, bars and restaurants. The bus to both Chania and Platanias stopped right outside the hotel and took only a few minutes. All in all, this was very good value for money and we will definitely be back..

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tove D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#4 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
5.1 mi away
Royal Sun Hotel
Royal Sun Hotel
#8 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
1.0 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#30 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
1.7 mi away
Amalthia Beach Resort
Amalthia Beach Resort
#11 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments

Property: Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Address: Kalamaki, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Best Value Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PORTO KALAMAKI Hotel - Apartments is a brand new apartment hotel, located at the west coast just outside Chania town. The beach is only 20 meters away.Porto Kalamaki Hotel - Apartments lies at the foot of a hill, facing a peaceful small port, where the guests can swim or just relax and enjoy the view of the amazing blue - sea.In the flowering garden a lovely pool-bar, next to the private swimming pool offers the gusts a refreshing shelter, while the children’s swimming pool gives entertainment to the young ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing