We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2012

This hotel was ok. Quite basic actually but for the price we payed I think it was good enough. The food in restaurant was very good. We didn't have breakfast there but lunch was always fabulous!

The staff was very friendly and helpful, rooms were quite large. Bathroom however was tiny. Cleaninglady didn't visit every day and towels and sheets were changed only once during the week. The rooms were very cold and humid - of course that was partly because our early visit (off-season, really).

The beaches were sad sight because the off-season. They were not cleaned yet. Also most of the restaurants, cafes and shops were still closed.

The locations felt quite bad. We were told there are buses going by every 15 minutes to Chania and surroundings. What the quide didn't tell us was that most of the buses don't stop in front of the hotel. So usually we had to waite for our bus 30-45 minutes.

Chania is beautiful town - really worth to visit. It took about 30 minutes by bus there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kialto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balantinos, Owner at Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2012

Really Thank you for the review.
As far as i can see the most of the problems you had are because of your really early visitting & the bad weather.
Also the cleaning lady & the towels change, are part of the contract you had with the tour opperator you used, to come to our hotel, so you had to know about it before your arrival.
Really thank you & hope to visit us again..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (392)
There are newer reviews for Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 392 reviews

Reviewed March 25, 2012

I suggest this hotel for anyone. Good location, very friendly staff and very clean rooms. Also the pool is large and has clean water. You can find many sandy beaches nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mariantzella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2012

We visit this Hotel last summer with my friends... It was a very nice and clean hotel, with a large and clean swimming pool and large rooms. The staff was very friendly and helpful to our questions. Near by you will find many sandy beaches and on a small distance clubs, cafes, restaurants and more amenities... I suggest this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smaragdi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2012

The hotel's location is excellent. I was amazed by the friendly environment and staff. I really enjoyed the big swiming pool and the delicious cocktails at the pool bar. The rooms were very clean and comfortable! The see view from my room was fabulous!!!!! I will definitely visit the hotel again for my next holidays!!!!

Room Tip: All rooms have an amazing view!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eleni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We had a great holiday experience at Porto Kalamaki in the end of August 2011. The hotel is fresh and clean, has a nice pool area that is suitable for children, very friendly stuff and excellent food both for lunches as well as dinners.
The location fitted us good even thought is not in the central of any major village. The buses to Chania and Platanias are passing right outside the hotel and a great sandy beach is only a couple of minutes away.
We can highly recommend this hotel and will surly return again soon! :)

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnnaSvea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

I had a special offer for this hotel from Finland. Therefore, chose this hotel. It was May, and the water in the pool was still too cold for myself. There are some beaches in walking distance. The restaurants are very few in this area. However, buses to Chania go just across the hotel. The hotel was just relevant to my needs - with a reasonable offer. The small bar by the pool is ok.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Javanainen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2012

Very beautifull place to go on vacation with your girlfriend!!!!!the staff was very polite helpful!!!Clean rooms!!5km from well known clubs and 6 km from Chania!No parking!!!You have to leave your car on the road

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side have excellent view!!!!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jamew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.6 mi away
Yakinthos Hotel
Yakinthos Hotel
#3 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
350 reviews
0.9 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#4 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
558 reviews
1.0 mi away
SunCity Hotel Studios
SunCity Hotel Studios
#32 of 111 in Chania Town
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Athina Beach Hotel
Athina Beach Hotel
#8 of 11 in Agii Apostoli
90 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kriti Hotel
Kriti Hotel
#12 of 111 in Chania Town
415 reviews
7.1 mi away
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
Giorgi's Blue Apartments
#15 of 111 in Chania Town
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments

Address: Kalamaki, Chania Town, Crete 731 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Price Range: $30 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PORTO KALAMAKI Hotel - Apartments is a brand new apartment hotel, located at the west coast just outside Chania town. The beach is only 20 meters away.Porto Kalamaki Hotel - Apartments lies at the foot of a hill, facing a peaceful small port, where the guests can swim or just relax and enjoy the view of the amazing blue - sea.In the flowering garden a lovely pool-bar, next to the private swimming pool offers the gusts a refreshing shelter, while the children’s swimming pool gives entertainment to the young ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Kalamaki Hotel Apartments Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing