We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disappointing experience”
Review of Chrisostomos

Chrisostomos
Ranked #22 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disappointing experience”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

decided to visit this restaurant as is numbered no.1 in Chania .The place is dark and miserable Waited for 10-minutes for staff to come and take our order and the waiting time for them to bring the second round of drinks was 5-10 minutes .
food is nothing special but at least at reasonable price .
not visiting them again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ana m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    241
    79
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great food and knowledgable service = a very happy evening”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Having experienced one of the worst dining experiences of our life the night before, it was decided this time to take no chances. We looked up the number one restaurant in Hania on Tripadvisor and went for it. The venue can be a little hard to locate if you haven't been there before, so allow time for that. With a view of the car park at the end of the harbour at this place it’s all about the food and not about the views and fortunately on the former, it totally lived up to and exceeded expectations. Firstly the staff are well trained and incredibly helpful and will describe a dish to you until you feel you have already eaten it, so no firing in the dark here. The menu is broken down into oven baked traditional dishes (The stone oven is upstairs and you can see it) all their bread, which is complimentary to the meal is baked on site. Consequently our bread was the freshest and warmest I have ever tasted, coming with the skim of goats cream as a butter, truly delicious. Water here is brought to your table as a matter of course and continuously refilled at your table almost without you noticing. We tried several starters including local wild mushrooms with a honey vinaigrette and Taziki and baked feta cheese. We would recommend going easy on the starters and leaving room for the main course. We were offered to taste the house wine, which was very good, so opted for half a litre of this, more than enough for our meal, and our main courses were pork steak in a wine sauce for my wife, while I opted for oven based Sheep on the bone with Feta cheese. Both were very good, though mine was a little bit of a mission to distinguish meat form bone, fortunately there was plenty of both. We had an accompaniment of sliced fried potatoes, just the way we asked for them. We were given a little complimentary deserts and shots at the end of the meal, and at a mere 38 Euros for all that for the two of us, the meal was not only very reasonable, but also very good as well, the staff even tried to find us a deck of playing cards as we had left ours at the hotel and always have a game between courses.. The reviews are true; we cannot recommend this establishment highly enough and will be one of the meals on our honeymoon my wife and I will always remember.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Island H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Could not have been better”
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We asked if we could have a lounger or somewhere to sleep while waiting to digest. It was the best meal on Crete bar none. We had lamb and goat, arugula salad, desert and wine. Just could not get over how good everything was. The price is reasonable because you are giving up on the view but who cares about a view when the food is so good with fantastic, polite service. Don't miss this restaurant!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 3ofusKauai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heggedal, Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Deserves its reputation”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Delicious food and the best bread ever in this nice little gem of a restaurant just outside the tourist machine of the old harbour. Good wine by the glass and good service. We'll be back.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Eswets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
“Delicious !”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

No great view but the service was very friendly and polite. The staff spoke very well English. The food was delicious, also the extra's : fresh bread, excellent housewine.

Helpful?
Thank panagirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrisostomos also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Chrisostomos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing