We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable Hosts”
Review of Chrisostomos

Chrisostomos
Ranked #22 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $17
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hospitable Hosts”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Had a delicious dinner. Nothing was too much trouble. The lamb tasty and succulent. After dinner I asked if I could buy 4 glasses for our boat as they were a good shape for the drinking slots. .they then gave me 6 as a gift! What lovely people.
It does overlook the car park but it is shielded from view and doesn,t really detract from the overall atmosphere. Lots of Greeks in the restaurant too which is a good sign!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    598
    241
    79
    22
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant used to be open for many years from October to April and it was open for locals mostly. So many years now it was a must visit during the winter. This season though it is open all year long giving the chance to visitors to taste its cuisine. Unfortunately the quality of the taste has dropped significantly so I dont recommend it to anyone . Guys of the restaurant do something before it's too late

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ioannis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
201 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful little restaurant”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is the best food we have had in Crete. Ymmm. The homemade bread was very good and a nice touch. They had 3 or 4 choices for house wines and the most expensive was a cab. It was the best house wine by far that we have had on Crete. We also had a bottle of chard which was good enough. We had their Chrisostomos salad (ymmm), excellent mushrooms, and the goat in a cheese sauce for a main dish. All were extremely good. There are MANY restaurants here in Hania but if we were eating dinner again, we would most certainly eat here again.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LostWanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“High ranking more than deserved.”
Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Just a few more positive words for Chrisostomos. The food is great and the service friendly and very attentive. They had one of our favorite wines (the Alexandra's of Manousakis wineries) but usually red wines are served chilled in Chania. Fortunately, when we told the waiter that we prefer our red wine unrefrigerated, he came up with a bottle from outside the fridge. As a main dish we had the Stifado with wild boar and the Gigantes (big beans) with pork. Both delicious and recommendable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Movemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Delicious Cretan food!”
Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

We came on the recommendation from Iannis at Hotel Splanzia, and we wanted to try traditional Cretan food. We're glad we did! We thoroughly enjoyed our meal here, and even though we didn't have a reservation we were seated after about 20 minutes (close to 10)

I recommend the rolled pork, which was deliciously tender and flavorful. We reminisced about this dish the next day while hiking the Gorge. We also ordered this creamy cheese dish (forget what it's called) which went really well with the dark yeasty bread. The siglina (sp?) or fried pork was also really tasty.

The bill came out to 76 euros for 4 of us including a 26 euro bottle of wine, 2 appetizers, 1 salad, and 2 main entrees. Very worth it!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrisostomos also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Chrisostomos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing