We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at the best part of the old city”

Semiramis Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 424 Restaurants in Chania Town
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food at the best part of the old city”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I ate here twice because I loved the food and the atmosphere the first time.
It's at the old city, not in front of the water but still great location.
Food was well cooked and presented.
Some plates were a bit more expensive than expected but they were worth it.
If you a Chania I would recommend eating here

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

737 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    259
    114
    40
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional Cretan food, great service, great location”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

A very nice atmosphere and very good traditional food. The restaurant is located in a courtyard in the old town of Chania, but is away from all the too crowdy places so this makes its location unique. The food was of very good quality and taste and the menu included many traditional cretan recipies. The service was professional and the staff very friendly, talkative and pleasing. At the end they served you the traditional cretan drink 'raki' for free as a sign of their hospitality. The music was greek nice relaxing music which made the atmosphere even better and you could see everyone enjoying themselves. We liked it so much that we went twice to eat there even if we usually prefer to try different places when we go on vacation.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marilena_gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somersham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant in a pleasant locale”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

We liked the location of this restaurant tucked away in a garden environment.Food was very nice and overall a very pleasant experience

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KZ7Cambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good food in a beautiful place”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is quite a big restaurant, with seating in a courtyard in the old Jewish part of the old town. When we went, most of the guests were tourists, but som locals had also found their way here, wich is always a good sign.
The food is traditional Cretan and it's good. We had tirokafterí (spiced soft cheese), garides saganaki (shrimps with tomatoes and feta), and lettuce salad for starters. They were all perfect. The main was lamb kleftikós (lamb made in a paper package) and that was exactly as is should be. The on the house-dessert was loukomades and, of course, a glass of tsikoudia.

Summary: no surprises, but very well cooked food. Other reviewers say it is expensive, but maybe they went for touristic things such as steaks? I say it is average priced, which means cheap for being a tourist restaurant. It's to average for a five but the good food makes it deserve a four.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere, but dissapointing food”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The place was very beautiful. The music was good. But unfortunately i can not tell the same for their food. I know from greek cuisine, so from everything we ordered, we did not find something special. The portions were big but not tasty. The service was poor. I will not go there again. There are much more nicer restaurants to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank POLINA2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Semiramis Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Semiramis Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing