We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Middle eastern flavours in Splantzia”

The Well of the Turk
Ranked #20 of 406 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Well of the Turk restaurant and bar offers a delicious selection of Mediterranean and Middle Eastern specialties, to be enjoyed to the sounds of a great collection of Middle Eastern music. Set in a historical building in the center of the Turkish district of Splantzia, with its labyrinth of narrow streets and two remaining minarets, one will find The Well of the Turk restaurant at Rouga Square, across the unique 13th century underground church of Agia Irene.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Middle eastern flavours in Splantzia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had dinner there two nights ago, after being away from Chania for 15 years, and clearly To Pigadi to Tourkou is continuing to do very well. We were impressed with the setting in the side street, slightly quieter than on the square, and by the variety on the menu - although some old favourites are still being served fifteen years later.

We had delicious marinated anchovies, a tasty spicy aubergine brik, calamari with salsa verde which was succulent and very light fava. We finished the meal with unusual olive oil and orange blossom ice creams which rounded off our dinner by well.

Our Spanish waitress was very bubbly, and overall we had a great experience. We would recommend this restaurant for something different in the heart of the Old Town of Chania.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BertrandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    435
    204
    52
    22
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Highly recommended.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My daughter and I ate here twice and loved it both times. The food is delicious and beautifully presented, each dish having a wonderful extra something to it. Even familiar sounding dishes taste better here. The atmosphere and setting are lovely, The Well of The Turk proving a quiet haven away from the hustle and bustle of the centre of town. The price was very reasonable and you can take your time. There is no pressure to leave until you are ready to. Our favourite restaurant in Chania.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ilonaemilia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Level Contributor
95 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Very nice cuisine”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very nice location and atmosphere. Had dinner outside the restaurant who is in a beautiful old building. Really, the setting is the best one of all Chania. Very good cuisine. Nice service. Price was good. Would go back anytime. Loved having dinner with all the cats around us....

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mktgcove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Very disappointed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Went to this restaurant based on a recommendation from our hotel & also it's ranking on trip advisor. We had a reservation at 9.30pm & when we got there were advised that it would be a 10 minute wait (we were fine with this & went for a walk & came back 10 minutes later). After being seated & given our menus, 20 minutes went past & no one had even approached us to take our order (a lady dining by herself actually asked if she could have one of our menus as she wasn't given a menu & had been waiting for one). We tried to flag the older lady down (she seemed like the person in charge) & she said she'd be over in a minute, we then tried to flag one of the guys working there down & he said he'll send someone over to take our order. Finally a younger girl came out to take the order of the table next to us (who sat down after us) & l thought that she would then take our order - instead she took their order & walked back inside. That's when we got up & left. It seemed to me that the older lady was run off her feet doing everything & the other staff were just clearing the tables. Maybe the staff should be assigned there own area of tables to look after or more staff need to be put on.
I was really looking forward to eating at this restaurant & am really disappointed that l have had to write this review, however l think people should know that they may be required to wait for service. Maybe I should have paid attention to the other reviews on trip advisor about the long waits.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brooke J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
1 review
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Udring the last week we have been visiting this excellent restaurant 3 times. Every time we had delicious food, fine wine and good and kind service. We highly reformens this restaurant which also have a nice and pleasant atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ib_Rasmussen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Well of the Turk also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to The Well of the Turk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing