We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a harborside home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Ranked #8 of 98 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“a harborside home”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Although all we can really do is echo the praises that the other reviewers have heaped on Mama Nena, Matina, and Diana, we are so happy to do that. We spent two wonderful nights in this sweet hotel and left today with stomachs so full of our wonderful breakfasts, memories of our sweet room, and the warm laugh and conversation with Matina as she saw us off. We had the room on the first floor with the little balcony overlooking the harbor, and it was beautifully decorated, with a comfortable bed and everything we might need already anticipated. The shower was wonderful, and the blow dryer was a good one -- when you're traveling a lot, these little touches can mean so much. The house as a whole is very elegantly decorated, but not at all stuffy and formal. When Diana greeted us upon arrival, she told us that this is a home, and that we should feel at home. And we did, throughout our stay.

The breakfasts, stunning and huge. Any couple of bits would've made a large breakfast, but it was a whole spread. This morning there were boiled eggs (fresh from the farm), freshly made cheeses, wonderful little cherry tomatoes and wrinkly salty olives, a glass dish of extraordinary fresh fruit salad and great yogurt to top it, a basket of breads, homemade jams, a pitcher of honey, and a pancake with fresh cheese sandwiched between and honey drizzled on top. Every morning, a jug of fresh-squeezed orange juice and very good coffee or tea, as you wish.

Matina is such a great host; the breakfast table was filled this morning with 8 people, and her great smile and laugh embraced us all.

Room Tip: We really loved our room on the lower floor with the balcony overlooking the harbor. It was nice in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marc_Lori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
107
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2014

I visited Mama Nena in September 2013 with family and we had a wonderful time. The rooms and the location were fantastic and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. Our charming hosts were happy to chat over breakfast and offer suggestions on little trips, restaurants to try and anything else we needed. I could not recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

A truly exceptional conveniently-located B&B, with stunning views over the harbour (and the snow-capped mountains from the 3rd floor terrace). We stayed at Mama Nena for five nights and absolutely loved every single minute of it - from Matina's warm welcome on arrival, to Diana's wonderful ever-different delicious home-made breakfasts, to relaxing on the sun-filled terrace and in the spacious stylish bedrooms... On arrival, Matina proceeded to sit us down and help us plan our stay with recommendations of possible day-trip itineraries and places to eat (all suggestions spot on). Troughout our stay nothing was too much trouble for Matina and Diana who were always happy to advise/suggest things to do. The whole stay felt like staying at friends.

Room Tip: We spent two nights in the 2nd-floor bedroom and three nights in the 3rd-floor one. We liked both ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Didier L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013

From the moment we arrived and were welcomed with the offer of coffee in the kitchen/breakfast room by Eleni we were treated to a very special time.
Our room, on the first floor, by the kitchen/breakfast room, was beautifully decorated and furnished. The balcony with table and 2 chairs has, as has been said by many reviewers, the most stunning view of the old harbour.
The building is a beautifully restored tall, thin Venetian house. It has been in the family for 3 generations and the owners have created a very special place and they are welcoming and friendly.
Breakfasts, as has also been said, are wonderful. Freshly squeezed orange juice, home made sheep's milk cheeses, eggs, home made jams and various Cretan specialities keep coming as you are eating. We were treated to different specialities each day.
They also ensure that there is tea and coffee and (lovely) cake available at any time. It feels very much like staying with friends.
One of us has an issue with dairy and wheat and they were able to provide soya milk and wheat free bread, and made a real effort to provide alternatives.
We were there in the last week in October for 4 nights which was wonderfully relaxing, with a great choice of tavernas in the back streets and the late October weather was lovely so that we spent much of our time on the lovely town beach reading, sunbathing and swimming. A lovely time of year to go - not crowded but still warm enough to feel like late summer (though cooler in the evenings sitting out in the tavernas).
It is probably one of the best places I have ever stayed. Obviously we don't want too many people to read this - as we will be returning and don't want it to get too booked up!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Mama Nena is a beautiful three-room B&B right on the harbor in Chania. The rooms are well decorated and stylish. The bed was comfortable, and the view directly into the harbor couldn't be beat. We stayed on the top floor, and we had a nice balcony in the back of the room that overlooked the town. Breakfasts were absolutely delicious - my wife and I still talk about how much we enjoyed the fresh Greek delicacies. The staff was very pleasant.

The best part of Mama Nena is the charm that it exudes - the wood beams on the ceiling, the way the rooms are decorated and painted - it makes you feel at home in Chania. What a wonderful home base for us on the island of Crete.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpreston4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is one of the most memorable places I've stayed, with a great view of the harbor, elegantly simple rooms and architecture, good breakfast, right in the middle of town but not loud, restaurants and bars conveniently nearby. We were only here 2 or 3 days, and could've stayed 2 or 3 days longer and done some day trips out of Chania.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This beautiful renovated house has three special rooms/suites in a prefect location. We were in the double room and had a small balcony overlooking the old Venetian harbor. The view was amazing. It was wonderful watching the light change on the buildings as the sun went down. Breakfasts were delicious with fruit, eggs, etc. coming from the owner's farm. The fresh squeezed orange juice was the best! Matina (owner) and Diana were wonderful. Mama Nena and Chania were the highlights of our Crete trip.

Room Tip: Only the double room has a balcony over looking the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burgatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#2 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 822 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Veneta
Casa Veneta
#4 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#19 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 110 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
#2 of 98 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Porto Antico
Hotel Porto Antico
#9 of 98 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Nena Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Nena Charming Hotel

Property: Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Address: 30 Zabeliou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MAMA NENA charming hotel is a small, family-run boutique hotel in the Old Town of Chania and is open all year round. The 15th century 4-storey family house, converted to a hotel 3 years ago, is set along the waterfront in the Venetian port of the town. The building has been fully restored with particular emphasis on quality and attention to detail.The modern and minimalist surroundings recapture the atmosphere of the town house at the beginning of the 20th century. It offers one double room and two two-room suites. Each room and suite has its own individual décor with an unobstructed view to the lighthouse and the sea. A fine balance between the old and the new provides maximum comfort and aesthetic appeal. Carefully restored furniture, fixtures and objects blend in harmony with the comforts of a modern guest residence. Intimate atmosphere and a big smile, style and charm, authenticity and high quality are some of the main characteristics a guest can find in MAMA NENA hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mama Nena Charming Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing