We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really charming!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama Nena Charming Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Save
You added Mama Nena Charming Hotel to your Saves list
Ranked #9 of 88 Chania Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really charming!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

They say that photos worth 1000 words. But Mama Nena was more than words and photos can describe. Very stylish, comfortable enviroment, with amazing view in Old Port, and details that make you feel like home. Don't miss out breakfast!

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Giannis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
98
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We ended our two week vacation in Chania, Greece. It was a perfect ending. Our ferry was late arriving in Iraklion and we had a two hour drive to get to Chania. We arrived about 11:30 p.m. & called Heleni, one of the owners on the phone and she gave us directions which seemed vague but were accurate. We had to park a bit a way from the waterfront where the hotel/b&b is located as there are no cars allowed. We were right on the waterfront with a delightful view of the Venetian lighthouse and all the people, restaurants and shops. It was vibrant to say the least but Mama Nena is an oasis in the center. The rooms are spacious and well designed. The beds and bedding are comfortable and luxurious. And there is absolute silence once you close the windows!
Heleni was filling in for her sister, Matina the manager, who we did meet. Both ladies are lovely and helpful and Heleni is particularly knowledgable about her town, history and politics. The breakfast was a food lovers treat. Homemade cheese, their Mom makes this and the fresh preserves as well as local delicacies made by Diane. The conversation was lively and fun. They had suggestions for itineraries and things to do that were very appreciated. The attention to detail in the restoration they did of this family home is evident everywhere. I almost don't want anyone to know about this special place so it will be mine alone.

Room Tip: There are 3 rooms. All are unique and each is a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pmancari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasschaat, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

What a lovely hotel! Sisters Matina and Eleni (they are the daughters of mama Nena, who grew up in this beautiful old town house) made us feel very welcome, and we stayed 2 nights in 2 different rooms, both of which had a fantastic view of the venetian harbour, The rooms are spacious, quaintly decorated and very charming and clean. Breakfast was lovely, with lots of fresh (some organic) produce and delicious food, some of which comes from the family farm and some of which was made by mama Nena herself. The location in the very centre of the old town, in one of the very narrow streets of Chania, make it perfect for exploring and just wandering around. It's like a hidden treasure behind the beautiful heavy wooden door!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank kast19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We spent one night at this delightful hotel in mid-July. The tasteful decor, antique furniture, and centuries old architecture all add to the charm of this hotel. We arrived in to Chania on a Sunday evening and were met by the hotel care taker who helped us settle in to our room. A bottle of raki awaited us, as did lovely smelling toiletries, and big fluffy towels. We had a peaceful night sleep and a scrumptious breakfast prepared for us with much of the organic produce coming from the owner's family farm. The portions were generous and the food was made with a loving hand. Various greek cheeses, seasonal fruits, local honey and bread and farm fresh eggs, decorated the breakfast table. Our only regret was that we stayed one night! My advice is that if you afford it, please splurge and book a room here. We certainly loved it.

Room Tip: Room on the top floor facing the Harbor is simply stunning. The sunset and sunrise were magnificent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 450Kelley_L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our third visit in as many years. We keep coming back because it's so good. Beautiful stylish hotel with everything we could want. The hotel is a really stylish renovated (to the highest standard) Venetian building. It has stunning views over the historic harbour. Our top floor suite also had views of the snow capped mountains. It's the best in Crete. Once again Matina did everything she could to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. She's a fantastic host. Diana really looked after us too. The breakfasts are brilliant. Wish we could have brought her home with us!
We love this hotel.

Room Tip: There's just three suites and they're all excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Warbyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We visited Chania during the Greek Easter Holly Week at the end of April/beginning of May. The weather was gorgeous, bright and sunny but not overly hot. My husband looked around prior to settling with Mama Nena and we certainly did not regret our choice. Budget permitting, I struggle to see why anyone would choose to stay anywhere else in Chania Old Town. The property is extremely well appointed, taking advantage of the beautiful vista and close proximity to some of the best restaurants in town, while continuing to have a special feel perfect for relaxation and a good night's sleep! The house has been restored to exceptional standards and the guests truly feel like staying with good friends. We stayed in the Argyri, which benefits from a very quiet and comfortable bedroom and a lovely sitting room overlooking the harbour. Breakfasts are great with Cretan produce (cheeses, jams, bread, yogurt etc), fresh orange juice and special local treats. And of course there is the marble cake, something which all reviewers seem to speak about! Best of all is the ambiance of this place, very relaxing, cozy, friendly, welcoming and above all authentic! Matina is a wonderful hostess with a great passion for her island and is always willing to give you great tips for a day out or a wonderful meal. In terms of restaurants, there really is a vast array of places for every budget. I would personally avoid some of the tourist traps right by the harbour though... We enjoyed a great meal at Chrisostomos (10min walk from Mama Nena) and Tamam (just opposite Mama Nena). For fish, we'd recommend Akrogiali by Nea Chora, which is a lovely 20min walk from Chania Old Town. You should definitely plan a trip to Balos for the most amazing beach on the island and the Monastery of Arkadi, a beautiful place of great importance to modern Greek history. There are plenty of traditional villages and long sandy beaches for you to wonder around...

We would definitely recommend this place. Crete is a beautiful island with so much to see. Mama Nena will make your holiday even more special. We can't wait to go back next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
227 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 4 nights and were delighted with everything. We were made to feel very welcome; the rooms were large and comfortable with beautiful views ( we had the suite on the 2nd floor), the breakfasts were amazing, with wonderful fresh home made produce, and the staff were very helpful at advising on places to go. We stupidly left our passports in the safe, but Matina got them back to Heraklion by bus the next day, so we did not have to drive all the way back. What great service!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chapyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MamaNena, Owner at Mama Nena Charming Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear guests,

Thanks for your nice review and your kind words...
I feel so happy to know that you felt very welcome and that you enjoyed your stay.
Serving our guests is always top priority to us!
We wish you all the best and hope to see you again...

Regards,
Matina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.1 mi away
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
Casa Delfino Hotel & Spa
#4 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Samaria Hotel
Samaria Hotel
#6 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
0.1 mi away
Amphora Hotel
Amphora Hotel
#26 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Belmondo
Hotel Belmondo
#25 of 112 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Maison Ottomane
La Maison Ottomane
#1 of 112 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 178 reviews
0.1 mi away
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
Alcanea Boutique Hotel
#2 of 88 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 stars 343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mama Nena Charming Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mama Nena Charming Hotel

Property: Mama Nena Charming Hotel
Address: 30 Zabeliou, Chania Town, Crete 731 31, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 88 B&Bs / Inns in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The MAMA NENA charming hotel is a small, family-run boutique hotel in the Old Town of Chania and is open all year round. The 15th century 4-storey family house, converted to a hotel 3 years ago, is set along the waterfront in the Venetian port of the town. The building has been fully restored with particular emphasis on quality and attention to detail.The modern and minimalist surroundings recapture the atmosphere of the town house at the beginning of the 20th century. It offers one double room and two two-room suites. Each room and suite has its own individual décor with an unobstructed view to the lighthouse and the sea. A fine balance between the old and the new provides maximum comfort and aesthetic appeal. Carefully restored furniture, fixtures and objects blend in harmony with the comforts of a modern guest residence. Intimate atmosphere and a big smile, style and charm, authenticity and high quality are some of the main characteristics a guest can find in MAMA NENA hotel. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Mama Nena Charming Hotel Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing