We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“excellent value for money hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Filoxenia
Ranked #79 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent value for money hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed second year in raw in the same room,everything was fine like last year,we totally recomended, especially if you have a car because it is just 5 min walk from the old port but it has public parking nearby.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has better sea view than the 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ellie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    17
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
7
45
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights and it was ok for what we needed it for. It is located fairly close to the main tourist attractions (port, museums, shopping) and you can see the water from the balcony as it is only a block away. It was relaxing to hear the sound of the waves from the hotel room.

However, we did book the budget room originally, but when we got there we were told it wasn't ready and that we could have a room upstairs that was ready, for an extra 7 euros/night, or wait. As we were there very early for check in, and the "budget room" did not look very appealing, we didn't mind paying extra to get a better room right away. So be aware that the budget room is misleading.

Another downside to the hotel was that it smelled like smoke, and we found ashes in the drawer beside the bed... the room seemed fairly clean otherwise.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very clean, but small bathrooms. Very budget friendly. Air conditioning. The neighborhood is difficult to park in, but other than that, fine. It's a close walk to the inner harbor, and the owners have great recommendations for restaurants and beaches.
The beds aren't that comfortable, but you will be hard-pressed to find a comfortable bed in the entire country.

Room Tip: Ask for a tip on the top floor, they are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel experience as the owner and his son, Chris, provided me with very accurate and helpful information on how to enjoy Chania and Crete. The overall service was warm and friendly as the hotel staff would often take the extra effort to ensure my vacation was going very well.
The rooms were excellent as they were spacious, clean and modern with excellent flat screen TV and the best free Wi fi service experienced in Crete. Located 100 metres from beach, entrance into Old Town and many cafes and bars with a beautiful view of the sea! Plenty of parking available if you are driving and slept very well with the comfortable beds and quiet room.
Would highly recommend to all travellers and will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Crete!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leonidas439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August. Not very central but ok location. The neighbourhood is a bit run down. The hotel staff was friendly and the room clean but the bathroom was extremely and uncomfortably small. Overall, ok for a budget stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

.Very clean,modern,central and really friendly stuff....Just a few minutes away of everything... The little beach a 100 m away was a really nice surprise as I did not know that you can have a swim so close...

Room Tip: All the rooms have very fast wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viviekon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
246 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Run by its owners. They serve you a homemade delighful breakfast, squeezed orange juice and more! Strategically located, 1 block from coast and bars, 300 metres from port. Comfortable rooms. New bathrooms. very good price.



Note to Tripadvisor: please do not translate my reviews into Spanish.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#48 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
Elia Betolo Hotel
Elia Betolo Hotel
#35 of 111 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splanzia
Hotel Splanzia
#14 of 111 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Theofilos
Hotel Theofilos
#102 of 111 in Chania Town
2.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Nostos
Hotel Nostos
#53 of 111 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tina
Hotel Tina
#95 of 111 in Chania Town
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filoxenia

Property: Hotel Filoxenia
Address: 36 Dodekanissou, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Filoxenia 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Chania’s lively Koum Kapi district, just 40 metres from the small sandy beach and close to Chania’s Venetian harbour, this friendly hotel offers warm hospitality and free wireless internet. Hotel Filoxenia has been completely renovated and offers warmly decorated rooms. Relax in your comfortable room and check your emails, using free wireless internet access. Enjoy a drink in the friendly bar area. Filoxenia Hotel is surrounded by Koum Kapi’s traditional tavernas and bars, as well as a great beach scene. A short walk will take you to Chania’s old harbour and historic attractions. Should you wish to further explore Crete, you can rent a car from Hotel Filoxenia and take advantage of the free public parking available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Filoxenia Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing