We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money hotel”
Review of Hotel Filoxenia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Filoxenia
Ranked #76 of 111 Hotels in Chania Town
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We stayed second year in raw in the same room,everything was fine like last year,we totally recomended, especially if you have a car because it is just 5 min walk from the old port but it has public parking nearby.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has better sea view than the 1st
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 79 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2014

We stayed 2 nights and it was ok for what we needed it for. It is located fairly close to the main tourist attractions (port, museums, shopping) and you can see the water from the balcony as it is only a block away. It was relaxing to hear the sound of the waves from the hotel room.

However, we did book the budget room originally, but when we got there we were told it wasn't ready and that we could have a room upstairs that was ready, for an extra 7 euros/night, or wait. As we were there very early for check in, and the "budget room" did not look very appealing, we didn't mind paying extra to get a better room right away. So be aware that the budget room is misleading.

Another downside to the hotel was that it smelled like smoke, and we found ashes in the drawer beside the bed... the room seemed fairly clean otherwise.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Very clean, but small bathrooms. Very budget friendly. Air conditioning. The neighborhood is difficult to park in, but other than that, fine. It's a close walk to the inner harbor, and the owners have great recommendations for restaurants and beaches.
The beds aren't that comfortable, but you will be hard-pressed to find a comfortable bed in the entire country.

Room Tip: Ask for a tip on the top floor, they are quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Fantastic hotel experience as the owner and his son, Chris, provided me with very accurate and helpful information on how to enjoy Chania and Crete. The overall service was warm and friendly as the hotel staff would often take the extra effort to ensure my vacation was going very well.
The rooms were excellent as they were spacious, clean and modern with excellent flat screen TV and the best free Wi fi service experienced in Crete. Located 100 metres from beach, entrance into Old Town and many cafes and bars with a beautiful view of the sea! Plenty of parking available if you are driving and slept very well with the comfortable beds and quiet room.
Would highly recommend to all travellers and will definitely stay here again on my next trip to Crete!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonidas439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in August. Not very central but ok location. The neighbourhood is a bit run down. The hotel staff was friendly and the room clean but the bathroom was extremely and uncomfortably small. Overall, ok for a budget stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thallo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

.Very clean,modern,central and really friendly stuff....Just a few minutes away of everything... The little beach a 100 m away was a really nice surprise as I did not know that you can have a swim so close...

Room Tip: All the rooms have very fast wifi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viviekon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Run by its owners. They serve you a homemade delighful breakfast, squeezed orange juice and more! Strategically located, 1 block from coast and bars, 300 metres from port. Comfortable rooms. New bathrooms. very good price.



Note to Tripadvisor: please do not translate my reviews into Spanish.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vivyrom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Candia
Hotel Candia
#61 of 111 in Chania Town
57 reviews
4.0 mi away
Lena Beach Hotel
Lena Beach Hotel
#81 of 111 in Chania Town
30 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Tina
Hotel Tina
#92 of 111 in Chania Town
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Odos Oneiron
Odos Oneiron
#102 of 111 in Chania Town
61 reviews
1.0 mi away
Theofilos City Hotel
Theofilos City Hotel
#67 of 111 in Chania Town
25 reviews
4.1 mi away
Sunrise Studios
Sunrise Studios
#64 of 111 in Chania Town
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Filoxenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Filoxenia

Address: 36 Dodekanissou, Chania Town, Crete 731 32, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Chania Town
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chania Town
Price Range: $46 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Filoxenia 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in Chania’s lively Koum Kapi district, just 40 metres from the small sandy beach and close to Chania’s Venetian harbour, this friendly hotel offers warm hospitality and free wireless internet. Hotel Filoxenia has been completely renovated and offers warmly decorated rooms. Relax in your comfortable room and check your emails, using free wireless internet access. Enjoy a drink in the friendly bar area. Filoxenia Hotel is surrounded by Koum Kapi’s traditional tavernas and bars, as well as a great beach scene. A short walk will take you to Chania’s old harbour and historic attractions. Should you wish to further explore Crete, you can rent a car from Hotel Filoxenia and take advantage of the free public parking available at the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Filoxenia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Filoxenia Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing