We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good cuisine”
Review of To XANI Restaurant

To XANI Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 419 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A family run restaurant since 1989 with a passion for high quality food and caring service. Traditional Greek and Cretan local cuisine, including century- old dishes of Turkish and Jewish influence on Cretan food. Specialties are cooked in ceramic pots on a wood -burning stove. We use only local and fresh ingredients .We have a large selection of gluten -free dishes and gluten- free bread. Situated in a romantic and quiet, graphic small lane in the heart of the old Venetian Port . Outdoor seating, Ideal for special occasions. Very suitable for families with children. Live Greek music in the evening. Closed during the winter months.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Very good cuisine”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

This place is hidden inside the streets and is calm, pretty and VERY TASTY!
If the owner comes to you to take the order, just tell him what you want fish or meat, all the rest will be done!
The starters were delicious as well!
The atmosphere was special as well due to the musicians!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thanks for the "tasty" review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    851
    335
    103
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
430 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Nice meal and friendly service”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a back street opposite a synagogue the location is nice. The staff were all very friendly and spoke very good English. The food we had seemed freshly prepared and tasty. The meal was finished off with some complimentary Raki and a piece of almond cake: nice touch.
Worth a look.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great food, great people!”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

To Xani is ideally situated in the narrow streets of the old part of Chania, away from the overly touristic port area. The set up is very welcoming - on a narrow street, between old brick houses. The food is excellent - plenty, fresh, tasty and the staff are just lovely - they regularly come and check if everything is OK, ar ehappy to offer free Raki and sweets and you can always trust their recommendations.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nuca0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
We visit our guests during their meal to see if all is satisfactory.Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gluten free options and Greek goodness at it's best!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

As I had previously read, being gluten free wouldn't be the easiest in Greece. We had been sticking to inherently gluten free food items. We were checking the menu of To Xani when the hostess came over to tell us about a kids menu. We mentioned being gluten free and were surprised and delighted to hear her response of, "Oh, we can do that here. We even have gluten free bread!" Yep, we were sold!!!! :-) We sat down to a wonderful meal of rabbit, goat, lamb and other delectable treats. The staff was able to guide us through the menu with ease. Very nice setting, homemade ceramic dishes, etc. Has an store next door that they give you a discount card for at the end of your meal. If you are gluten free, you don't want to miss this restaurant!!! Enjoy Greek goodness at it's best.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 33084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Yes, we can easily cater to people who are gluten intolerant. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
1 review
“Great food and great owners!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My friends and I visited the synagogue in Old Chania, and we spied this restaurant across the way. We came back a couple of days later. What a great decision! The owner and his wife (Maggie, I believe), greeted us graciously. Maggie suggested which dishes we should try and they were all very good. We had kalitsoumia, domadakia and stuffed zucchini flowers as appetizers. Also apaki (smoked pork) - a Cretan specialty. We also loved kleftiko -- lamb with local cheese and herbs baked in clay. If I ever return to Crete (which I plan to do), I will visit To Xani again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To XANI Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to To XANI Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing