We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best restaurant in Chania!”
Review of To XANI Restaurant

To XANI Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A family run restaurant since 1989 with a passion for high quality food and caring service. Traditional Greek and Cretan local cuisine, including century- old dishes of Turkish and Jewish influence on Cretan food. Specialties are cooked in ceramic pots on a wood -burning stove. We use only local and fresh ingredients .We have a large selection of gluten -free dishes and gluten- free bread. Situated in a romantic and quiet, graphic small lane in the heart of the old Venetian Port . Outdoor seating, Ideal for special occasions. Very suitable for families with children. Live Greek music in the evening. Closed during the winter months.
Level Contributor
1 review
“Best restaurant in Chania!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and ready to serve all the time, dishes are very tasty, I ordered "apaki" (traditional Crete snack, slightly smoked pork slices) and "kleftiko" (oven-baked lamb with cheese) which was very very delicious! Live Greek music is uplifting and you don't want to leave this wonderful place! Thanks a lot!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kostas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
We all than!k you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    819
    325
    101
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Dinner in the shadow of the synagogue”
Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

To Xani is a popular restaurant and we understand why. The location is cosy, next to the synagogue. The staff is friendly and attentive. The food is good, the menu includes some Greek-Jewish dishes, and the portions are more than enough. What's not to like?

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Movemania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you. We try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Devon
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A well recommended restaurant which lived up to expectations albeit a little pricey perhaps...”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I'm not sure about other visitors to Crete but I do get a bit put off by the pushy nature of some of the restaurant staff whose job it is to drum up trade for their restaurants. I appreciate that it's a pretty competitive market in Chania Town but even so one or two of them are completely over the top and quite a few mo are just rude.
The young lady "pushing" for To Xani was nicer than most and focused her pitch on the clay pot cooked dishes they offered. Having included this restaurant on a TA short list anyway we were happy to drop in.
Service was very friendly and humerous without being over the top it set a good vibe for the evening. The main dishes were really good and in particular the clay pot dishes of Lamb with yogurt and Stewed Goat stood out. All served with either hand cut chips or rice. Our party of five were all very pleased with the only slight negative being slightly dry chicken in an otherwise tasty chicken dish. Setting was open air but peaceful with the buzz coming from numeous restaurant goers and some pretty reasonable Greek music ! The location had a good ambience without being as full on as in the main harbour itself.
The menu was good and seemed well priced although by the end we had probably spent more than we expected due to drinks etc. Around 25 euro per person but we only had main courses and a few drinks each. Chania is the sort of place that has so many restaurants it's nice to eat at different places on each visit - but for this we would certainly eat at To Xani again and I fully understand why it gets so many good reviews.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnnonFoodFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for writing a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
“For who are looking for the best greek food and the autentic greek culture in the heart of chania”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

If you are looking for a nice restaurant and a taste of a real greek food/culture all server for a very nice staff this is your restaurant!! the best moment to come is dinner time when you can also enjoy live greek music!!! Highly recommended!!// Buena comida servuda por unos camareros superagradables a un precio mas que razonable!! durante la cena tambien disfrutaras de musica en vivo!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MiriamS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant food”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked table for two nights as returning customers from last year .We was not disappointed with the food and service. All food we had was to a excellent standard and tasted deliciously (especially pork and chicken stifado).If you want romantic night out I would recommend this restaurant to you due to being secluded area from main tourist street with a live Greek music .
Again, thank you for sharing a magnificent place, food and wine

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sremac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for visiting my place again and again.....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To XANI Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to To XANI Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing