We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, nice atmosphere”
Review of To XANI Restaurant

To XANI Restaurant
Ranked #32 of 458 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A family run restaurant since 1989 with a passion for high quality food and caring service. Traditional Greek and Cretan local cuisine, including century- old dishes of Turkish and Jewish influence on Cretan food. Specialties are cooked in ceramic pots on a wood -burning stove. We use only local and fresh ingredients .We have a large selection of gluten -free dishes and gluten- free bread. Situated in a romantic and quiet, graphic small lane in the heart of the old Venetian Port . Outdoor seating, Ideal for special occasions. Very suitable for families with children. Live Greek music in the evening. CLOSED IN WINTER--NOVEMBER TILL MARCH/APRIL . OPENS BEFORE THE CATHOLIC EASTER
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Beautiful brown eyes talked us into visiting this nice restaurant. The food was excellent (goat, sea bream, souvlaki), service kind and price OK. Can recommend.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Matti K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you Sir for the review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,596)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

721 - 725 of 1,598 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

I've been visiting Chania on a regular basis for a number of years and every year I make it a point to dine in Xani. I also bring groups to the restaurant here and everyone has left feeling very happy to have found this special little corner of the old city. They've always been satisfied by the service and the food. We typically only order Cretan specialties which are all made with fresh local ingredients. Some of the dishes are accompanied with instructions. For example, if you order the goat, the sauce should be soaked up with bread.

All in all this is a great local restaurant with positive energy, great food, run by a family that is passionate about what they do.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank kcpeppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Yes, we are passionate about what we do-- about good food. I am glad it is so obvious. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Been there many times... Love it. Can't wait to get back. The food is extremely tasty, beautifully made. The goat and lamb is out of this world. Can highly recommend it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Pia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Welcome again and again and again!!! Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Our first visit to Crete, and we made a point of trying traditional Cretan food as often as possible in the week we had available, ranging from home cooked establishments to 5 star hotel restaurants. It is easy to see why To Xani is so highly rated in Chania Town. A warm, friendly welcome was matched by a quaint, interesting location down a quiet lane and exceeded by a superb selection of Cretan specialties on the menu.

Their version of the traditional wild green and feta cheese pie (mountain pie) was delicious, with a subtle flavour of herbs and olive oil and vinegar - the best we tasted during all our time in Crete. My main of goat was delicious - flavoursome and tender - as good as anything I have had before, even from my wife's home of Sardinia. My wife chose the grilled sea bream, expertly cooked with just the right amount of seasoning.

The excellent food was complimented by friendly, attentive service, and it was entertaining watching the owner joining in with the musicians, in rendition of traditional Cretan songs.

Dinner was followed by the complimentary dessert and raki - and of course, we chose the To Xani home-made wine to accompany our meal.

I would thoroughly recommend this restaurant, rather than many of the harbour front touristic establishments. Although you lose out on the sea-view, it is more than compensated for by superb food and service, and provides a different perspective of Chania Old Town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank johnstondj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your descriptive, good review. We try our best always.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We visited on our third day after seeing positive reviews and having had some mediocre meals at other restaurants well rated on trip advisor. The food was delicious and service was prompt, warm, courteous and unobtrusive, despite the staff being rushed off their feet. The atmosphere was fun with a band playing outside all evening. Inside had great decor with large moroccan lanterns. The restaurant is slightly off the beaten track in a quieter back street and this made the outdoor seating especially nice. We went back the next night as we'd enjoyed it so much.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Anonymous_citybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you very much for the review. We try our best to offer good service even when we are extremely busy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To XANI Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to To XANI Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing