We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Xani restaurant a must”
Review of To XANI Restaurant

To XANI Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A family run restaurant since 1989 with a passion for high quality food and caring service. Traditional Greek and Cretan local cuisine, including century- old dishes of Turkish and Jewish influence on Cretan food. Specialties are cooked in ceramic pots on a wood -burning stove. We use only local and fresh ingredients .We have a large selection of gluten -free dishes and gluten- free bread. Situated in a romantic and quiet, graphic small lane in the heart of the old Venetian Port . Outdoor seating, Ideal for special occasions. Very suitable for families with children. Live Greek music in the evening. Closed during the winter months.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Xani restaurant a must”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Don't usually write restaurant reviews but this was a great one.

A family run place. Food and service outstanding. Their lamb kleftiko and sezoukais was great.

A TIP - the backstreet resturants were far superior the restaurants along the waterfront who offer high prices and generally mediocre to poor food in exchange for the sea view. We were disappointed at every harbour restaurant we tried. Stay well away from the harbour front and walk into the backstreets for real good quality Cretan food.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank David300300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2013
Thank you . I am proud of my food. Yes, we don't have the view but my place is situated in a graphic, quiet lane surrounded by 13th century buildings...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    817
    324
    101
    28
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Petersburg, Russia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Divine!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We do not usually write reviews on restaurants on this site, but this restaurant is so good that it's impossible not to write. We are really happy that we went out there and this is one of the most powerful experiences of our trip to Chania. I'd like to point good location and friendly service. And of course, the food is above all praise (the most delicious lamb we ate in our life)! If we want to describe the perfect restaurant, it would be like this. Our children also remember To Xani Restaurant with admiration. We join all the glowing reviews left here. We wish the owner of prosperity and success. If we come to Chania again we will visit To Xani Restaurant for sure.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank megavladon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Many customers tell us that they use Trip Advisor when travelling but usually do not write reviews.Appreciate you finding the time to do so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More wonderful memories”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Having spent two great evenings at Xani last year we once again sought out this lovely little restaurant this visit and we were not disappointed. The hospitality is second to none and the setting is beautiful, especially when the sun goes down. The local musicians really add to the ambience and on the second of our two visits this year some spontaneous Greek dancing broke out which was lovely to see. It is a pleasure to spend time in a family run restaurant which really works hard to make sure everyone has a great time. The food is delightful and beautifully fresh and the wine list, although not extensive, has some very enjoyable local wines. Thanks to Xani for making our last night on holiday such a memorable one, we look forward to being with you again in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Edinburgh_Diner179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for returning again and again ...and for the review of course!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Restaurant Review”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

One of the treats for either the first time visitor to Chania or those who have been any number of times (as we as a family have) is to find in one of the little streets radiating off the busy Kondilaki the family run restaurant To Xani.
The edge of the street is filled with small flowering trees which add shade and interest to the tables outside.
The owners Dimitri and Margie set the tone for this delightful restaurant and welcome you warmly on your arrival as do the next generation Jasmine and husband Vasili, supported by the energetic and lively waiter Albi.
The food is excellent and the portions generous as is the ambiance of the place. Sought out also by locals, including the Mayor of Chania!
We cannot recommend it too strongly and urge you to visit: who knows it may become your favourite restaurant too!
John and Honor Alleyne
GB

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Honor A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for finding the time to write a review. As you describe, we are a family run restaurant who love offering good food!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
121 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Delicious food, infectious good spirits from the staff and a lovely setting made for a terrific evening. We had the lamb with yogurt, goat in wine sauce and a Cretan vegetable dish--they were all so good. The veggies were fresh and the meat was tender. We listened to live music while we dined. The restaurant is across from the Synagogue and seems to share a courtyard that is away from the frenzy in the streets but is still outside.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 2020trav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margie p, Owner at To XANI Restaurant, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for the review--we always try our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed To XANI Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to To XANI Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing