We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Pano Stalos Villas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chania Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pano Stalos Villas
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A week of heaven!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Just spent a week staying at Pano Stalos Villas - we thought it was fabulous.The villas are up in the hills above Chania - I think a car is a must (although we didn't use ours every day, spending quite a few days by the pool soaking up the sun and the peace and quiet!). There are 4 villas there, but all nicely spaced out so that you are not overlooking each other. We stayed in villa Europa, which was lovely, there were 3 of us and we all had a double room each. The villa is really well equipped and we had a nice welcome pack with basics and a bottle of wine so that there was no need to head out looking for a supermarket straight away. We had a balcony all around with tables on each side, there's a lovely pool area with a sun deck. It's nicely located so that you can get into Chania easily, we also visited Knossos and the beautiful beach at Elafonisi. The couple who run the villa are lovely and really helpful without intruding on your peace.
I came back after a week, totally relaxed and refreshed - I would definitely stay here again if I was coming back to Crete.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JP260912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
7
2
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

After a question about differing price infomation given by David and websites and trying to point out different prices and ask why. David seemed to be under the impression I was after a discount and not just the price advertised, this was not the case and just wanted to point out the information on their website and others was not the same as the price he quoted.
After they offered to lower the offered price and I told them thank you but still over our tight budget and it might be an idea to change information on websites, he became really rude, I was really shocked and upset at the way he spoke to me in his emails and am very relieved I didn't get as far as actually meeting him.
Customer service leaves a lot to be desired to say the least.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Justine0795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
drudge, Owner at Pano Stalos Villas, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
This person has never stayed at our villas as his review implies.

Spent a long time replying to emails where continually all i was asked was how much i would discount the villa by .
In the end suggested he asked the airline he was booking for a discount.
If thats being rude and unhelpful i'm guilty.

We always try to offer excellent villas at a competative price .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We spent 10 days at Pano Stalos Villas in October and had a wonderful time. The villa we occupied was spacious, well maintained, well equipped and had an enviable position on a hillside overlooking a valley with olive groves, villages and the sea beyond.

There are three rented villas in this complex, each with its own balconies and terraces, mature gardens, pool and barbeque area. It has been beautifully designed with plenty of space between the units and none blocking the views of the others. Our villa had terraces all round with tables and chairs on three sides so you could choose to sit in sun or shade at all times of the day.

The villa itself was comfortable with plenty of room for a good-sized family (although we were only two people), decent size bedrooms with big wardrobes , large shower rooms, kitchen with a family-size table, cooker with ceramic hob and lots of cupboards and a large sitting area.

But it was the outside that was a complete joy. Although it was October, we had hot sun every day and spent a great deal of time in or by the pool. Each villa’s pool is different: ours had a paved area around it where we had our daily lunch and a wooden decking area complete with sunbeds and a swing chair overlooking olive groves and the mountains behind them. The pool, although not large, is more than a plunge pool and even at this late time of the year had the sun until well into the afternoon, so it was used several times a day.

Being the end of the season, we were the only ones there and so enjoyed the peace and quiet, living only with little lizards and birds and watching larger birds of prey circling over the valley. On Sunday morning the place was silent apart from the sounds of sheep bells and church bells. Magic! On other days there was the occasional sound of a car but little else.

David, the owner, was really helpful and informative and was there if we needed him but not at all intrusive. He provides a good welcome pack, which was much appreciated, an excellent information pack and extra towels specially for the pool and beach, another nice touch.

We thought a car necessary unless you are a pretty good walker, but having said that, there were many days when ours sat in the drive while we just soaked up the scents, sounds and sights of our surroundings. The village of Ano Stalos with its 3 tavernas and little supermarket is not far and the closest beaches (all pleasant, clean and good for swimming) are a short drive away. Chania too is within easy reach.

We’ve stayed in and around Chania many times over the last 20 years so were in no rush to visit everything in the area, but we did venture out to see the site of Aptera and were astonished by its size and the archeological remains there. The mountains in this area are also well worth visiting - beautiful landscapes, villages, herds of goats and sheep, vineyards, olive groves, citrus orchards etc.

We had come looking for a restorative stay at the end of our busy season at home and that was exactly what we got – we were different people when we left to those who had arrived 10 days earlier! We hope to repeat the experience next year.

Room Tip: All 3 villas are lovely but different. Best to look at the website to decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Northernblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

My wife and I and our 2 young children stayed in Villa Europa for the month of may 2010. We were greeted on arrival by David (the owner) even though it was 1 AM. The views from this villa are fantastic. - you feel like you're looking down from heaven. David and his wife provided a welcome package containing nibbles, fruit, wine, etc. The villa is very well equipped and is air conditioned. On our first morning we woke up to the sound of a goat bleating in the village at the bootom of the hill and birdsong from the olive grove beside our swimming pool. Chania is a beautiful town, the surrounding countryside is very green, the food is great and the locals are very friendly. This was our third trip to Greece and we will be going back soon and staying in this villa again. Don't miss the opportunity of a lifetime!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank adambaird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chania Town hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Orestis
Hotel Orestis
#17 of 92 in Chania Town
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
2.8 mi away
Niriis Hotel
Niriis Hotel
#3 of 12 in Agii Apostoli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
4.8 mi away
No photo provided
Diana Rooms
#62 of 92 in Chania Town
4.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Alexis Hotel, Chania
Alexis Hotel, Chania
#1 of 1 in Parigoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.3 mi away
Corinna Mare Studios & Suites
Corinna Mare Studios & Suites
#9 of 110 in Chania Town
4.5 of 5 bubbles 525 reviews
1.9 mi away
Alexandros Studios
Alexandros Studios
#3 of 3 in Kalamaki
4.5 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pano Stalos Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pano Stalos Villas

Property: Pano Stalos Villas
Address: Pano Stalos, Chania Town, Crete 71300, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Chania Prefecture > Chania Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 139 Specialty Lodging in Chania Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Three individual villas ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Pano Stalos Villas Chania, Crete

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing