We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent seafood place, only go when weather permits to sit outside!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thalassino Ageri

Thalassino Ageri
Ranked #38 of 403 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
409 reviews
344 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 221 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood place, only go when weather permits to sit outside!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Great fresh fish place, the location is unique, when you sit outside JUST next to the waves ON the rocks! Order your fish, a greek salad, a bottle of white wine, some sea urchin salad and there you go... 30-40 per person. Make sure the weather permits you to sit outside, ie. not rainy or windy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank zuiveld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,
we appreciate your kind comments and your vivid description about Thalassino Ageri on that review. You're welcome anytime to enjoy your meal and the sensational atmosphere of our place.
Many thanks for your reccomendations and the preference!

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    122
    40
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
91 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Eat with the fishes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Slightly overpriced but worth it for location alone. Situated in the back streets of the suburb of Halepa, right on the water. You can literally stick your toe in if you are on one of the outer tables. Suitable for all occasions but mostly for romance.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank fionapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,
We appreciate your so kind comments that you've mentioned on that review! Many thanks for the location's apt description and as it concerns the prices they're equivalent to the high quality of the fresh local fish and sea food that is being served to our fish tavern.
We hope you always have amazing experiences in your outings!

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Top secret”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

We have visited this well hidden place several times with my family it well worth the visit.
It looks like its forgotten by the time and by the people(not the ones that know how to find it).
The food that they serve is basic Greek but is good and I personally think is worth the visit even if you have to catch a taxi there, the prizes are reasonable to cheap so if you go by taxi works out even.
For the romantic ones make sure you go there before sunset to remember the scenery for long time. The fish, the Horta , the beetroot salad try it something deferent from the upmarket josh posh. Go before sunset and enjoy the night. What's the hurry anyway!!!!!!!!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 66Nicolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
thank you very much for your so kind comments on that review and, of course, for your preference to Thalassino Ageri!
We're glad that our place fulfills your expectations for a high quality meal in addition to the unique atmosphere of the landscape.
We wish you always having experiences like that.

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2013

Superb food, fresh fish just 1 meter from the sea with an extraordinary view. Quality and prices were good and familiar atmosphere. We'll come bak

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cslgnn76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,
we;re glad that your visit to our place was so satisfying as you've reported on your review. It would be our pleasure to see you again, anytime!
Have a nice spring time!

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

It is a really beautiful place tacked away in the area of Halepa (where Venizelos Museum is). An amazing atmosphere. It looks like dinning at a theatre setting! Old derelict tanneries, next to the sea and lots of ducks! not crispy aromatic! :P a bit pricey but ok.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravellingCultures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Madam/Sir,
Thalassino Ageri appreciates the positive review that you've posted at this site and wishes you'll always have fabulous travel experiences. We're glad that you've enjoyed your visit at our place and we hope seeing you again!

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri

P.S. Consider prices are equivalent to the specific kind of menu (fresh local fish & seafood) that it's served and its excellent quality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalassino Ageri also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Thalassino Ageri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing