We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Must”
Review of Thalassino Ageri

Thalassino Ageri
Ranked #31 of 412 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Scenic view, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
75 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Must”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have dinner here every time I am in Chania ... excellent food, great atmosphere, the table is literally on the water's edge. Come early and reserve a table.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Man D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thalassino Ageri appreciates your very nice and kind comments! We're glad that every time you've been in our town you pay us a visit and that you enjoy it! We hope seeing you also this year!
Wishing you the best for a very happy and full of travels new year 2013!

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    124
    40
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great home made food, fresh fish and sea food, friendly service!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

A must eat in restaurant is the friendly Thalassino Ageri, in Chalepa. Beautiful scenery, great food, fantastic price-quality relation. Do not miss out the calamari in casserole!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stavi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

Thalassino Ageri appreciates your kind and positive review that you've posted about it! We're glad you've enjoyed your time at our place and we hope you'll have always such wonderful experiences when you're on holidays!
We wish you a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
220 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful fish place by the water in Halepa Xania”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We returned to this old favourite last weekend to find it better than ever. In deceptively basic surroundings, but at the water's edge down a back street in Halepa, you will find the widest varety of fish in Xania. Based on our experience, it will also be the freshest. We chose our fish - a kind of small Bonito - from a box filled with ice and it was grilled and served to perfection with the olive oil and lemon jiuce sauce traditional here. The fresh small calamari we had were also delicious and the horta and beetroot salads simple and good. The house white is honest and good but there is an intersting wine list too. The service is generally good and helpful. Most of the clientele seem to be local regulars This place shuts soon for the winter we believe - we hope to go back this weekend before that happens. Check opening times if you are visiting - if you don't have a car, it takes about 45mins to walk there from central Xania - a taxi is probably the best way to get there.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lilywall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, October 28, 2012
Dear Madam/Sir,

we're grateful for the so positive and analytic review that you've posted, and we're glad that you've remained so satisfied from your visit to Thalassino Ageri. At this moment and until the middle of March we'll be closed but we hope we'll meet you again next year!
We wish you always having great experiences during your traveling! Best wishes also for a nice fall and winter time!

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unique location, excellent food”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

First of all, I'm quite surprised to see that the owner of the restaurant replies to almost every comment whether or not it's a positive or a negative one. How dedicated !

Second of all, that's the reason why I write my comment too.

During our stay in Chania, my husband and I went to dine at this restaurant twice while there are plenty other fish tavernas around the city. We like everything about this taverna; the atmosphere, the simplicity, the staff who are all attentive to what we wanted and never tired to explain the different kinds of fish as we have very little knowledge about this, and the high-quality seafood. The dishes come in quite a big portion so you'd better be aware of your appetite ;-) The raki offered after the meal was so generous and we were offered the grapes and some kind of local dessert as well. They were also delicious ! Please go to eat there one time and see for yourself that I'm not exagerating.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lapoupee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Dear Madam,
we're so grateful, firstly, that you've visited Thalassino Ageri, secondly that you've appreciated the services and the quality of food, and, of course, for your time that you've devoted to write a so positive review for us on Tripadvisor! It seems you've been satisfied from your choice and that's our goal for our customers to feel. With our reply to your comments we have the chance for one more time to express our appreciation and pleasure that you've choosen our place, more than once, for your dinner!
We wish you to have a nice fall!

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best kept secret”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Secluded little rocky cove with tables right next to the sea. Spectacular view with sea and rocks. It's a fish taverna, so limited menu if you don't want fish.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HaraNtountounaki, Owner at Thalassino Ageri, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Madam,

Thalassino Ageri appreciates the time you've devoted to post a review about it. Many thanks for your visit and many wishes to you for a very nice fall!

Sincerely

From Thalassino Ageri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thalassino Ageri also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Thalassino Ageri? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing