We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than before now with a new restaurant area on the roof garden!”
Review of Pallas

Pallas
Ranked #23 of 424 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Piraeus, Greece
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Even better than before now with a new restaurant area on the roof garden!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We're visiting again and again this place, having nice cocktails and great plates in the restaurant. A new area opened this summer and is the roof garden of the restaurant which has the name Thealassa (view and sea in Greek) and you can enjoy fresh fish with stunning views to the old port of Chania. The area is so romantic and unique with a special decoration and style that takes you away. Highly recommend it. Make your reservation before visit it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giroin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    131
    26
    11
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chania Town, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A pearl in the old harbor of Chania”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have been living in Chania for one and a half years now and I have had drinks or dinner at Pallas many times, but I decided to write a review now, few days after my last visit there for my wife's birthday.
The place is really wonderful. I am tired of suvlaky and standard tavernas here. It is hard to find a place serving something different than the others, but...
You have Pallas at your disposal.
Pallas is divided in two parts: Pallas and Theallasa, the first one being standards restaurant-bar and the second high class restaurant. Even Pallas can offer you excellent service, drinks and meals I will focus on Theallasa. That part of the place is located on the roof and it is totally different than anything in Chania:
- The cocktails they serve are their invention and they are amazing. My favorite is the one with Uzo.
- Theallasa has separate kitchen and the meal list is different. The fish meals are very good, but I liked very much the chicken salad - it resembles Cesar Salad, but it tastes like heaven in your mouth.
- They have an excellent wine list and the wines are presented and served by a sommelier (expert in wines). Try the white one from Santorini - you can feel the oak in your mouths and it goes very well with tsipura (I think in English it is bream).
- The view is very nice and being on the roof it offers refreshing breeze in the hot summer nights.
- A little bit higher prices than the others, but it deserves every cent.
- They were very helpful in organizing my surprises for my wife.
- NOTE: You will need a reservation most of the times. The phone is 00302821045688.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KidThunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Cocktails in the bay area”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

Service is good. The cocktails are professionally made. The view is nice too. The prices are a teedy little bit too steep. Overall, totally worth it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GorgiGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania Town, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Buzzing all day and night”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

One of the most popular haunts in the old town! Open from the morning straight through to the early hours, you can have anything from coffee to brunch to dinner to late-night drinks. The location is fantastic for people-watching and, being an in-spot, it can be difficult to find a table. The best thing about Pallas are the events they have on during the week. On Wednesdays they have wine-tasting with a buffet, on Saturdays they have a tapas and Spanish wine buffet, and there is also Cocktail Sundays. Definitely not a place to be missed!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fionapapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chania
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent tasting food choices- TRY THE SALADS”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

I like this place because it has nice tasting food. I love their salads!!! Architecturally is also nice. I don't particularly like the crowd that hangs out there but I don't care since it has nice view and good food. I would appreciate the less noisy music in the summer and the less squashed but that's ok.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingCultures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pallas also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Parigoria, Chania Town
 

Been to Pallas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing