We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Tamam Restaurant

Tamam Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 424 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Oxfordshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent food”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Two vegetarians in our group means we sometimes struggle to find tasty local food, but Tamam was a delight. Quick service, lovely setting, excellent menu. The only downside was that we were a group of 5 which meant that we had to sit in 2 separate tables as they were seating us outside in what is effectively a narrow alley. Overall our best eating experience in Crete so far.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ss_familyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,754
    1,103
    310
    83
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A must”
Reviewed August 3, 2014 via mobile

If you want to eat FRESH, TASTY and AFFORDABLR this place is a musy.

Try local dishes created with great materials.

This place was recommended by 6 of our friends.. count me in

Helpful?
Thank Stefanos K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“delicious”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

a modern greek cuisine, with nice twists on classic dishes, as good as any i've ever had... the herb stuffed sardines were out of this world.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank jpv828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Best food in Chania... a must”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We booked a table at this fabulous place in the old town and sat outside where we could see the harbour although the location is in a narrow street. The food was superb and clearly cooked by skilled chefs. I had snails followed by an excellent lamb dish with mint and yoghurt. The quality of everything we ordered was first class and subtly and beautifully spiced... I tasted some of the dishes ordered by others in our group and they were all fabulous. An excellent avocado dip, beautifully cooked calamari and a grilled vegetable dish as a starter. The service was wonderful. It's also well placed for a post dinner wander around some of the charming boutiques in the old town. Watch out for the Raki which is given by Cretans when you've paid the bill.... after dinner liqueur which bites back after a few shots. I acquired quite a taste for the stuff... avoid if driving :) Tamam is warmly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrfrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great place, not to be missed”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

Tamam is incredibly well-established. I first came across it on my first visit to Chania in 1991 (!!!) and loved it; I later lived in Chania old town for 2 years and ate here regularly; I come back to Chania frequently and never miss to eat here on my visits. I have recommended Tamam to friends visiting Chania, all have been delighted with the food and service.. What to say: everything is good! More usually we make a mezze-style selection of smaller plates, but the main dishes are excellent too. Eat either outside in the narrow alleyway or in the old Turkish bath hall on the side of the alley further from the harbour. This is gorgeous, especially when the weather is cooler, late at night or outside summer (beautifully cosy on winter nights with a traditional stove for heating) The new room on the harbour-side of the alley has much less character. But this is the only less-than-glowing thing I can say about Tamam. If you visit Chania, eat here at least once!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TopTraveller101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamam Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Tamam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing