We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fast & Delicious”
Review of Tamam Restaurant

Tamam Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 424 Restaurants in Chania Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Greek, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Fast & Delicious”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in Chania for 3 days, and this was the best restaurant we ate at. My personal favorite was the meat pie, so savory and delicious. And, unlike every other restaurant we encountered in Greece, they serve you FAST! No waiting 30 minutes or more. We had our food within 10 minutes of ordering. Highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,751
    1,102
    309
    82
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic food”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We ate there last night and the food was fantastic. The Iranian rice was excellent. If you want to eat after 8pm then might need to book.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rod H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Great local food and atmosphere”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We arrived late but Crete seems to stay open late. The service and food was excellent after a long day's travel, really good quality ingredients and nice local wine and beer too. The location is very quaint and Chania well worth a visit.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Notdunroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I really don't understand why this place got such rave reviews. I went on the recomendation of the hotel staff where I stay...

The building that it is in is historical and quite nice. I believe it used to be an old bath house... But, as many have said here, the service was pretty appalling. I truly felt like I was a huge inconvenience for the waiter, who rushed through any greetings as a matter of form without so much as a tonal inflection. Anything we asked for as 'extra' was practically accompanied by a sigh, as if we were so audacious to ask something of our waiter.

The food itself was okay. The Cretan pies were very yummy, but the calamari was rubbery and incredibly difficult to eat - which was sad because calamari is one of my favourite foods. That being said, I didn't send it back so I can't comment as to how this sort of complaint would have been handled.

I don't think I would go back, there are a plethora of different restaurants in the old town, and if these guys don't step up their game, I think they will lose a lot of custom.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MorganLewisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
453 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“If you know one Greek restaurant....”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

You know them all. But Taman does the standard fare pretty well at reasonable prices. And they have some specialities that are well worth a try. The Iranian Rice for instance with nuts and fruits.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hansje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamam Restaurant also viewed

Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
Chania Town, Chania Prefecture
 

Been to Tamam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing