We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gem of a private hotel in Agios Nikolaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Polydoros

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Polydoros
Ranked #27 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Prague
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Gem of a private hotel in Agios Nikolaos”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

We stayed in the Polydoros over New Year with my two teenage daughters staying in two apartment rooms. Compared to other hotels we found along the coast, this is a rare gem. Its small, family owned and right on the water adjacent to one of three beaches in the town but with its own semi-private frontage. You can swim directly from the hotel which we even did on New Years day. There is private parking and the two rooms we booked had kitchens and were very roomy. Apartment 6 directly faces the sea with a private balcony and Apartment 5 which also has a sea-facing balcony is less private but has a large separate bedroom and huge bathroom. This is a small hotel ideal for travellers that appreciate that it has all you need for a perfect vacation in this part of the world. To walk home along the beach at night from one of the many local tavernas is a million dollar experience. You are also close to a beautiful cove and you can run from the hotel around the headlands. Agios Nikolaos is a pleasant town, far more happening than the dowdy Elounda. We also hiked on the island across from Elounda. I would not recommend a lot of the nearby coast as the rampant development has restricted beach access which is a pity.

Room Tip: Apartment 6 is the best room for a couple as you have your own balcony overlooking the sea. Apartmen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fliegenkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
155 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

My partner and I arrived at this hotel, and the owner and his mother gave us the warmest welcome ever! Lovely people! We had a large marble bathroom, and the rest of the accommodation was very spacious, if the beds are a little too hard for me - however my other half slept like a log!! Nice balcony overlooking the sea, too. The location is just wonderful, and you can step from your accommodation straight to the cafe overlooking the sea for breakfast, coffee, or a snack at lunchtime. Just in front of the cafe/snack bar is a further area decked out with sunbeds, and the water is lovely and warm for a swim, with steps down into the sea! A few steps further along there is a small pleasant beach, if you prefer to wade in, There is also a very nice taverna there. Just a short stroll along the seafront brings you to the gorgeous lakeside, where there are plenty of great places to stop for a coffee, ice cream, cocktails or a drink. However, the four top ranking restaurants (TripAdvisor) are closest to the Polydoros, so no need to go far if you don't feel like it! A word of warning however - see my (separate) review for the Bokos!! Upon leaving the owner offered to order a taxi...which he did, and he came back saying VIP service. We thought he was joking, until a very flash people carrier with cream leather seats, polished walnut interior, liveried driver (who asked if we preferred any particular music to be played, and pointed out the magazines available for reading, the armrest, and proceeded to treat us like royalty all the way to the airport! I was concerned that the journey was going to cost us a fortune, but we were most surprised when he told us how little it cost (set price)! No more than a normal taxi! A further lovely touch was when the owner's mother called after me, and presented me with a hand painted bottle, which she had done herself!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snowbird29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswestry
Level Contributor
197 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have stayed in this property before, we liked it so much we booked again for this year and again for next year. The apartments are roomy, with coffee maker, kettle, microwave, TV, good bathroom, lovely balconies especially the one at the front with a full sea view. The owners are friendly. The food in the small snack bar is basic but good. Free sunbeds in front of the property with direct access to the sea. Great!

Room Tip: Studio on ground floor outside space not very private. All apartments on 1st floor good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JME138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

What an absolute gem...in a brilliant position right on the water.
Far enough out of town to feel secluded , but in reality an easy walk of 30 mins along the waterfront. If your'e staying in Ag. Nik....dont go anywhere else. The family who own and run hotel are delightful, helpful and the breakfast is fantastic.

Room Tip: Get the sea views...but all are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenneth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed at the Polydoros for a week in May and chose this hotel because of its perfect location right on the waterfront. We were not disappointed and spent many an hour soaking up the sun on the terrace in front of the hotel, from where we frequently swam in the crystal clear water, accessing the sea down some steps. If you prefer to enter the sea from a sandy beach, a short walk of a few metres along the terrace takes you to Ammoudi Beach, a small sandy cove with shady trees, watersports and a taverna.
The Polydoros serves an optional hearty breakfast which, at six euro per person, is very good value. They also serve drinks and snacks throughout the day and early evening.
We stayed in Apartment 4 on the first floor (there are only six apartments altogether so it is a small and friendly hotel). Our apartment had everything we needed, including air conditioning and a small balcony with a side sea view.
The hotel is in a quiet area with a handful of tavernas and supermarkets nearby. The bustling centre of Agios Nikolaos is a pleasant fifteen minute walk along the sea promenade.
The family who run the hotel are helpful and friendly and we would love to stay there again.

Room Tip: Apartments 3 and 6 have balconies facing the sea, whilst numbers 4 and 5 have side sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliGCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovereto Italy
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

We just returned from a long weekend spent at this little hotel with our 6 year old daughter. Its location is just perfect: not far from the center, but in a quiet position with lovely views and directly on a very nice beach with crystal clear waters. Even though it was February, we saw people swimming there each morning! The atmosphere was so peaceful and relaxing that you would want to sit there for hours just soaking in the scenery. It was like an anticipation of spring time and summer together. Even though we had visited the area of Aghios Nikolaos several times throughout the past years we never had noted this hotel before as it is hidden away from the road. Opposite the hotel, a few meters down the road is a taverna offering excellent and home made food. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Amazing value for money! We had everything we needed to just feel comfortable. Free wifi. Free parking. And the owner Panagiotis Houliaras is a very friendly and helpful person and has lots of local knowledge which he generously shared with us. We definitively recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mandm034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This is the second time we've stayed at this lovely little hotel, and we weren't disappointed. It has a range of rooms from studio's through to superior apartments, some with direct sea views and some with side sea views. We stayed in room no. 3 which is a one bed superior apartment with a direct view looking back towards Agios Nikolaos.

The room was great, with a kitchen area, bedroom and large bathroom, and has all the basics you would need for a good self catering holiday. We didn't actually end up using the cooking facilities as we ate out each night at some of the lovely restaurants and bars the town has to offer.

The hotel is situated about 1 km from the centre of town, but there are wide pavements all the way from the hotel, and they are well lit at night. There is a small sandy beach a short stroll away from the hotel, but you can make use of the free sunbeds provided by the owners which have direct access to the sea for a dip via a small set of steps.

The hotel has a small cafe which serves chilled drinks and snacks throughout the day. Good value and handy if you don't want to travel too far. Although there are plenty of taverns and bars very nearby and they all seemed to be good value for money.

If you wanted to travel further afield, the hotel has a private car park and there is a car rental company opposite the property. Although its as easy to get the bus to Elounda or beyond. The fares are extremely reasonable and the buses themselves are all modern, with air conditioning and wifi!

Agios Nicholaos and Elounda have some lovely sandy beaches but they can get very busy in high season and at weekends.

Overall, we would recommend this hotel and will be returning next time we visit Crete.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Howezthat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.1 mi away
Victoria Hotel
Victoria Hotel
#20 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Primavera Apartments
Paradise Primavera Apartments
#24 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
0.4 mi away
Eliza Hotel
Eliza Hotel
#26 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lato Hotel
Lato Hotel
#10 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creta Hotel
Creta Hotel
#23 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Angeliki Apartments
Angeliki Apartments
#32 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Polydoros? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Polydoros

Property: Hotel Polydoros
Address: 3 Koundourou Roussou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#15 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Polydoros 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Polydoros reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Polydoros Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing