We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Mirabello”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2009

From the moment we arrived until the second we left, we loved our stay at the Mirabello Beach Hotel. Everywhere was absolutely spotless, the staff were very pleasant and friendly and the food was fantastic with so much choice even the fussiest of eaters would not go hungry. Our room which was a family room even though there was only two of us was excellent, really spacious and again spotlessly clean, with clean towels everyday if you wanted them. It also had a mini bar and small safe which you didn't have to pay for or leave a deposit on ( the safe that is ) the mini bar as usual was too pricey to use. The only downside was that the room even though it overlooked the mountains with spectacular sunsets, it also overlooked a main road which at times could be rather noisy. The gardens to the side of the hotel are well worth a walk through, with lots of secluded shady places to relax and escape the sun, if that is your preferance. A walk to the top of the gardens bring you to the small chapel, again well worth the effort. The only complaints we had were the pillows were too thin, we could have done with a couple more, and the price of drinks in the Hotel. £5:00 for 2 small lagers, and £8:00 for 2 glasses of white wine. Apart from that the Mirabello truly is a fabulous place to stay. We will definitely be going back..............very soon.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SolitaireBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,773)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,773 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2009

Just returned from another great stay in the Mirabello Village (2nd one this year) - due to being on my own had a view overlooking the mountains (although did request this from previous visit) and the sunrises and sunsets were just stunning - been going to Havania since 1982 and always wanted to stay at the Mirabello and was not disappointed.

Staff all very friendly and being on your own you need staff to be polite and acknowledge you.

Swimming Pool in the Village was always clean and plenty of sunbeds, although when I went in June, they were always being taken with towels being put on the beds early, but in October there were plenty and the weather was in the 30s.

The rooms in the Village are very spacious and were very clean.

Although Havania very quiet area there is a beach about ten minutes going up the road to Elounda and opposite a very good taverna called Olga's if you want Greek food and don';t want to go into town at the end of the day, also there is a real Greek bar next door to the taverna.

AN is about a 15/20 min walk although bus stop outside the hotel and there were always taxis outside if needed.

Can;t wait to get back to Havania next year and hopefully the Mirabello.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravellerIlford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

Just returned from a glorious week - middle of October but still hot sunshine every day. Bliss! Hotel is situated in a lovely bay with views over to mountains. Lovely setting. This hotel is spotlessly clean ( and I am very very very fussy!) and is well maintained. We were in Room 530 which turned out to have a huge hall, a double room, a twin room, a bathroom AND a shower room - a perfect family room (suite!) We had a balcony, a kettle, a mini fridge, hairdryer, T.V. safe etc. All the staff couldn't have been more pleasant, helpful and did lots of extra touches that make all the difference. They knew who we were, knew we liked coffee at breakfast, folded my nightie into artwork on top of my bed every day and they were always ready with a smile. We were there half board - the meals were great. Beautifully presented, fresh food, wide selection, loved the Greek choices (if you wanted them) Dining room had nice balcony or a terrace if you like to sit outside. Pools so clean and always a choice of sunbeds -shade or sun. Fresh beach towels provided each day after a returnable deposit. Entertainment team worked so hard to keep everyone happy - they still had so much enthusiasm and energy at the end of the season. Full of fun - if you wanted to join in. Local busses ( comfy coaches) were reliable outside the hotel entrance. We also walked into Aghios Nikalaos - 25 minutes no problem. Took the bus 20 minutes into Elounda and then took a boat out to Spinalonga. Great day out. Local Tavernas just down the road - but you won't need more food if you are half board! We enjoyed a lovely meal out on our last night before the bus came and dragged us away home. Thanks for a great holiday Mirabello!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BUCK050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

Stayed at Mirabello Village for two weeks on All Inclusive option with our two young children (aged 1 & 2) and felt immediately welcome by staff and other guests. Weather was fantastic with only the odd shower for a short period during a couple of days. Hotel was extremely clean in all areas and standard to rooms was excellent. The resort is split between hotel and village (across road) which is where we stayed. We stayed at the top of the resort overlooking the resort and sea. It was bit of an effort walking back to room with double buggy as we had to walk up a fairly inclined hill to reach the room but was worth the walk for the views. We have seen alot of reports on many steps which we agree with, but we found that in most instances there are lifts to all locations so we didn't seem have any major concerns. Food buffet was of good standard although my wife struggled a little with limited vegetarian options it was still ok. Wide selection of drinks available on AL option and kids enjoyed the free ice cream which was available all day. 5 pools available for use with 2 children pools (not heated). We found the 4 outdoor pools warmer than the indoor pool which apparently is sometimes heated but not while we were there. Highlight of the holiday for the children was the mini disco which was on 6 days a week (8.30-9.00) and although generally for older children (very few around due to school time), the staff running it were get with the kids. Unfortunetely didn't do many activities but the resort many daytime and evening activities going on so there was always something to do. The beach was disappointing as it was tiny and sunbeds on beach were at a charge, other areas feel. A number of places were available for drinks during the day so didn't have to go to same place all the time. Overall we would recommend the resort to anyone and even thinking of returning in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KMIS-G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2009

The Mirabello Village room was excellent, large, modern, clean and in very good condition, pool was very clean and plenty of sunbeds. Went all inclusive, and was the correct decision, as any drinks or food are very expensive at the hotel, the all inclusive more than pays for it's self. The hotel was kept in spotless condition, the staff were very good, approachable, helpful, and nothing was too much trouble. It sports its own single beach, mini harbour, games facilities, tennis, 5 a side pitch, small watersports setup, and spa/gym. The hotel is a 20 minute walk to Ag Nik or 5 min bus ride (euro 1.50).
I have travelled the world on business and this hotel is very good, admittedly in October it's not full, was at around 60% capacity.
For mass catering 3 times a day, the buffet system was good, with plenty of choice, but it's never going to be restuarant style service in a buffet setup, so be relalistic with expectations. But plentiful selection of meat, fish, pastas, vegetables, local specialities, ie breads, olives, meze etc.

The only letdown, was Thomsons absymal staff at Gatwick, who were cluless and we queued for 90 mins to check in, and the cattle class flight conditions, with the worst leg room I have ever experienced. If you are going to Crete, find another tour operator.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CDubbsKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

Having just returned from 13 nights at the Iberostar Mirabello Beach, I have to say that I'm a convert to the excellence of the Iberostar Hotel Group for all our future holidays. Without doubt the Iberostar Mirabella was excellent value for money, especially on the deal we got from First Choice...£1300 half board total cost and private transport to the hotel!

If there has to be a down side to the holiday it's knowing how sardines feel in a can thanks to the ridiculous lack of leg room on the outward flight from Thomson and in bound by First Choice. But that shouldn't put anybody off considering this choice of hotel.

Although described in the brochure as 5 star it was more like a 4 star PLUS but again you get what you pay for and by booking on-line we saved money. Why bother with travel agents when it's so convenient to go on-line?

On arrival at Mirabello at around 11.30 pm it was good to see that a cold buffet was on hand to fill the empty chambers of ones stomach. A nice touch and most welcome. Other hotels should take note.

The bedroom was more than adequate with a bed big enough to hold a football team! The usual TV and mini bar where there although as a suggstion it would be great if an in-house movie channel (payable of course) was available as the lack of English speaking TV programmes was a minor irritant......

Bathrooms are spacious but an independant shower would have been welcome. However no 'foot bath'....which would no doubt upset our French cousins!

That all important first breakfast set the pattern for the rest of the holiday. So much choice, expertly prepared and beautifully presented. The option of eating in or outdoors was most welcome but a slight irritant was the lack of a no smoking policy outdoors which maybe the hotel should give further consideration for. However don't let that put you off. The attentive service and welcoming attitude of the staff throughout the hotel was an example for other hotels to follow.

Evening dinner was a feast of differing options. However after 10 or 11 nights of excessive eating due to the sheer choices available, it was refreshing to dine out and sample the delights of a different atmosphere. An excellent choice of restaurants and not too expensive at around £60 for a couple with a liking for Red Snapper.

Our thanks to the restaurant manager who looked after everybodies wishes no matter how small.

I'd read previously how some found the food not to their liking. All I can say if you want McDonalds then forget Agios and most certainly the Mirabello. I enjoy sampling the local food and to our delight it was excellent, but those with more conservative pallets are more than catered for as well.

The Mirabello has two excellent swimming pools but the one located in the Village complex for us was the bester of the two as it was quieter and more relaxing.

The recently introduced beach development built around a small but empty of boats marina complex was excellent and for those who enjoy swimming in the sea was more than adequate.

The interior of the hotel provides an air of class and no expence has been spared in providing a level of comfort for that after dinner tipple. Which brings me round to the cost of drinks. If you go all-inclusive then it would be worth the extra cost IF you like to spend a lot of the time drinking. I couldn't justify the extra £700 it would have cost us for all-inclusive. The cost of drinks is higher than in the UK but for us we couldn't justify the extra £700. The local store opposite the hotel does a roaring trade with hotel guests....I wonder why?

Overall the Mirabello is a superb hotel. Ideally located from the centre of Agios with its countless shops no doubt catering for the frequent stop overs by luxury cruises.

As for the island, hire a car and explore the interior delights that is on offer. Trips by the travel companies are ridiculously expensive. For example, a trip to Kanosos for two was £170. We hired Peugeot 207 for 3 days with a 4th free for £115 and spent £50 on petrol and visited all parts of Eastern Crete and got a real taste of the real Crete; stopping where and when we wanted.

Without question the warming character of the locals made our stay most enjoyable. Nothing was too much trouble, but maybe this is one country where the English are preferred to visitors from other lands! Don't be suprised at the number of guests from Russia and other Baltic countries.

Overall a most enjoyable holiday and if this is holidaying Iberostar style, then we we are converts.

Thanks to all at the Mirabello.

N and R
Cumbria

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2009

had a lovely week before joining Ocean Village for a weeks cruise.Village room was great,overlookng the pool,wish we had longer!Would certainly go again.so long as we could avoid all the steps! Shirley Gibbins Kent

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank shirleyRomneyMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
674 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
1.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
903 reviews
89.7 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Address: | Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $88 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing