We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - pity about the entertainment!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 97 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2013

A seven day stay at the hotel was terrific.
Great buffet breakfast, mainly happy and friendly staff, beautiful location, clean and comfortable but a bit pricey for drinks. That said, this is the "new" Greece with 23 % tax!

However the evening shows.....?
Butlin's in the 60s come to mind!

Room Tip: Book early and aim high with a request for a high level floor with a sea view over the bay. The lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulvsouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,777)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

735 - 741 of 1,777 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

my family and i stayed there for five nights in July.we had booked a bungalow in the village.The apartment, 753. was 2 bedrooms, one downstairs and one up. No kitchen, no easy chairs just the large bed upstairs and a long surface on which the TV sat, with 4 cups and saucers and a kettle. There was no space to put things down. .There was a beautiful view. The downstairs room was small with 2 single beds and very poor lighting. We never used the toilet downstairs, kept the door closed as there was an unpleasant smell. moreover the back out curtains were extemely dirty...unacceptable for a supposed 5 star hotel..we had to call four times in order to change them.the cleaning supervisor told us at first that they couldn;t change those because it was not possible..excuse me but we pay a lot of money and we expect the room to be perfect in a five star hotel!!!!!

The private beach was actually open to the public and there was a charge of 2euro 50 cent per sunbed and 2euro per umbrella up to 3pm after which time it was free.Facilities on site consist of play room with pool table and table tennis etc but you have to pay 1-2 euro for the use of each one. The indoor pool and gym are free but you do pay for sauna and hamam (10euro per person) the gym is only open 10am -6pm

moreover they do not allow you to smoke in the open air breakfast area.we made complaints and they tolds us this is the policy of the hotel because the majority of the clients don ;t smoke.ani i have the simple question.if the majority wanted to smoke in the indoor area then the hotel manager would give permission; i honestly can;t figure out.

we are very disappointed and we do not recommend this hotel...this is a 3 star hotel and not a 5 star

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kresten Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

For the fourth year we have had a Thomson holiday which has exceeded our expectations. The Mirabello is an excellent hotel, as other reviewers have said its location is marvelous, on the beach if you like beaches and the pools are great, the village pool is to our minds the best place to be, it is quieter than the beach or beach pool and has its own bar for drinks and snacks. Our room (510) had magnificent view across the bay to Aghios Nikolaos which was all twinkling lights at night and across to the majestic mountains on the other side of the bay. The room was clean and well serviced by the charming housekeepers. I would not recommend you take a room on the first floor and particularly 110 to 115 as these have no view at all, the best rooms we think are 409 410 and 411 or better still on the 5th floor 509, 510 or 511. The food is good, but like all buffet meals a change is as good as a rest so we went to the Taverna down the road about 5 minutes called Kri-Kri where the food is excellent and not expensive (nor are the drinks) and the owners are charming. Everyone who goes to this part of Crete goes to Spinalonga Island which easily accessible by public transport, the reps tour takes all day, costs 40 euros which includes a barby. We went on the bus 3.40eu and the local boat from Plaka 8eu
a lovely lunch in Plaka for 12eu (including a drink) and 1eu to see the island, 24.40 euros in total so half the price!
Aghios Nikolaos is a lovely small town with everything you could want and the Mirabello is the hotel to go to as it has everything you will need for a great relaxing holiday - give it a try!

Room Tip: 409 to 311 or 509 to 511
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We'll start with the bottom line: wonderful hotel which got from us high score in most of the categories.
This is our first time in Crete and we had a great time and I must admit that we are not easy to be satisfied.
Room is great - we took the family room and we liked it very much, all was clean and organized well every day. Bathrooms rad clean and very very pleasant. View from the room is great as well.
Food - A very reach buffet with all the options you are looking for. No one was hungry after dinner and breakfast (we didn't eat lunch but we have the feeling that it was good as well). But one thing made us a bit angry and it is the fact that in dinner the only option to drink - even fresh water- is to buy a bottle of water which cost 2.5 € while you can buy outside in 0.60 € and we think it is not fair at all. If in the morning I can drink water from the cooler why can't I do it in the evening as well?
Pools - they have 2 outdoor pools and one (very small) indoor pool. They all were clean and nice
Attitude - we found a great crew with pleasant attitude and always with smile.

To those who'll read it we say: Go Go Go. It is an amazing hotel, 20 Min walk from the center of the city.
Applause to the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yaniv P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We came back from another lovely Thompson holiday on Tuesday on the Dreamliner we had a fantastic holiday in Crete the hotel is on the beach the accomodation is good quality and comfortable and the food is great and the animation team are great my favourite one was Francesca we went to a show every evening after our evening meal I can recommend this holiday

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jeanrosemarybrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel last year Food was good the service was fantastic the staff were brilliant. Even though the Thomson bus driver lost my suitcase, the staff at the hotel rang the other drop offs and found my case and got it delivered. The view was brilliant. The drinks were 0.50 cents more than last year €4.50 for large beer. But again would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Graham K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We have just returned from an 11 night stay at the Mirabello and really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is totally different from our usual choice of a large lagoon style pool and terrace and we can honestly say this is the most relaxed holiday we have ever had. Everything is set on different levels, so even though the hotel was full it never felt like it,. We stayed on the 5th floor of the main hotel overlooking Ag Nik and barely saw another guest on our landing, unheard of in the past. From reception the main restaurant Sirens is down 1 flight of stairs. On the next level down is the main pool,Asterias pool bar and terrace and then down yet down another flight of stairs is the beach, Mermaid beach bar and entertainment all spread out across the bay. On the sea level the beach bar area has a small marina and beautiful winding stairs zig zagging up the gardens back up to the top again where there is a pretty church, at night all this is all lit up. We chose to sit on the terrace of the Thea bar upstairs each evening over looking the bay and the gardens, truly peaceful. We have never stayed in a hotel where even at 9.30am each day only a handful of sunbeds are occupied. All the staff were so friendly and accommodating, especially Marina and her team in the pool bar and the girls upstairs on the evening terrace, the entertainment team were always cheery, but not pushy, the waitressing staff always smiling even when rushed off their feet. thanks too to the manager for the lovely fruit and bubbly we were greeted with on our arrival, as we had e mailed in advanced requesting a quiet room and stated that we were celebrating our 35TH wedding anniversary. if you are looking for a relaxing break in a beautiful location this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank D A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
675 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
23 mi away
Stella Palace Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
992 reviews
0.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
89.7 mi away
Kiani Beach Resort Family All Inclusive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Address: | Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $98 - $501 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing