We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mirabello hotel in Crete”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Ranked #6 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Mirabello hotel in Crete”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the hotel Mirabello on a all inclusive package. We went from the 2nd to 16th June. It is one of the best hotels we have stayed in when holidaying abroad.
Upon arrival the reception staff were very friendly and gave you all the information you needed. our cases were in our room nearly as quick as us and the safe in the room is free.
The room was a sea view room and what a view.
We are a family with the third person sharing and the third bed was a proper bed not a sofa bed.
Also everything was laid out for three people,as in some hotels we have had to ask for the third item(like a towel or glass etc)
The mini bar was also free on the all inclusive package and was topped up daily.But don,t eat the snacks as they are chargeable.
The room was cleaned and topped up daily to a very good standard and flowers left on the bed.(just a nice little touch)
The restaurant food was always plentiful and there were themed nights during the week if you wished to try different foods.
At lunch time the all inclusive meal was in the main restaurant the same as the eveing meal. But there is plenty of room if you choose to sit outdoors this is the same in a evening.
One small down side- there is a dress code in a evening where men should wear long trousers but we did see a few in shorts, we felt these people should have been challenged.
In a morning there is no fight for sunbeds, as the ground the hotel covers there are ample beds. All are either near a pool or the sea. Like most hotels some people do put towels out but this causes no problems. Sunbeds on the beach are chargeable at five euros for two beds and a brolly but free after 15.00.
Entertainment was hit and miss some good nighrs some not so good.
Activities were on most of the day if you wished to take part.
Around the hotel and grounds, including the beach everywhere was kept clean and tidy.
All staff were friendly and helpful
Ideal for a peaceful holiday with small walks around the hotel. If you like a longer walk Ayios Nikolaos is about half a hour away or six euros in a taxi each way.
All in all a very relaxing and peaceful holiday and we would recommend the hotel..

Room Tip: A higher room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,637 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    879
    505
    170
    63
    20
See reviews for
534
814
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (478)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon and the check-in was quick and easy.

The hotel and grounds were spotlessly clean. All members of staff were very friendly and couldn't do enough for their guests. A special mention to the Team Leader Dennis and his supportive Animation Team. It was quite obvious that they all got on very well and made every effort to make guest feel welcome without being pushy. The evening entertainment was very good, and the food was fantastic, something for everyone.

One negative point was the Maisonnette accommodation which we had booked as advertised in the Thompson brochure as 2 bedrooms, which one would mean to be 2 double rooms, 1 upstairs and 1 downstairs fit for 4 adults. In the downstairs room there are two very small, extremely hard, settee/beds not fit for adults to sleep on. Upstairs there is a double bed. Only one bathroom with shower and what looked like some sort of foot shower downstairs in a small cupboard area.. After seeing the rooms it was quite obvious this would not accommodate 4 adults. A couple with two small children would be more appropriate. After spending some considerable time speaking to the receptionist we asked to see the manager. He was very understanding agreeing that this was not suitable for us and eventually offered us two rooms in the hotel. These rooms were very nice and had the little extras expected with this type of hotel. Having said this, if this hotel is wanting to be known as a true 5* rated hotel it lacked a couple of things. A hairdryer that has more than 1 speed with hardly any output (I would advise taking your own), robes and slippers in every room, face flannels and bath size towels.

The pool areas were very good. Unfortunately we found that guests were reserving their sunbeds by putting their towels on chairs in the early hours of the morning and not coming down all day so there were no sunbeds available for other guests. This could be easily corrected if there was a Pool Attendant who gave out the towels and set up the beds on request. Also there were no mattresses for the beds, just the basic sunbed, which was quite hard and the sun shades were quite small and extremely thin which didn't protect from the sun at all.

There are steps everywhere at this very large complex so not really suitable for anyone with a disability.

Although there are a few minor bad points, on the whole this hotel is very good and would visit again but not a true 5*.

Room Tip: Rooms in the hotel are better than the maisonette accommodation. Not suitable for disabled persons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonHoli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Cornelly, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We returned from the Mirabello on Thursday after having a wonderful wedding at the hotel.

After a very long journey we arrived at the hotel at gone 11 pm so had obviously missed our evening meal. However, we were greeted on arrival with refreshing cold fruit juice and an evening meal had been put on for us, both of which were well appreciated. Check in was simple and straight forward and we were informed that as we were getting married they had upgraded us from standard bungalow to a maisonette with shared private pool. To say we were excited would be an understatement. Us and our luggage were taken from reception to our maisonette by golf buggy. First impressions at that time - AWESOME!

As I said previously, my partner and I were there to get married. Anne-Marie, the wedding coordinator, Maria and Nikos were fantastic with regards to the wedding plans - nothing was too much trouble. We opted to get married outside the church and it was so pretty and I would highly recommend this to anyone thinking of getting married at the hotel. Then we chose to have a BBQ for our reception/wedding breakfast which was out of this world. The food was plentiful and the drinks were constantly flowing. Maria and Nikos kindly organised for us to have use of an ipod docking station so we had some background music and was well received by our guests. Our room was decorated with rose petals and ribbon which was really lovely. All in all, the wedding team, consisting of Anne-Marie, Maria and Nikos were fantastic and I will never be able to thank them enough for making our day so very special.

The rest of the holiday was fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. The animation team were hilarious and didn't stop, especially Dennis who dressed up in all types of costumes (the first day we saw him he was painted blue, then he was captain jack sparrow, pamela anderson and on our last day he was dressed as a mermaid with loads more in between!!!). He was absolutely hysterical. The bar staff and waiter staff never stopped and made sure our cocktail glasses were never empty, especially down the tropical bar, the bar man and waitress were fantastic.

The hotel's cleanliness were second to none - extremely spotless - cannot be faulted.

The food was lovely and always plenty of choice. As we were there for two weeks, we had two visits to the Al a carte which were both wonderful. However, a word of warning, don't eat too much before your al a carte meal as it is 5 courses!!! It was fantastic but I was stuffed!!!

We did venture outside of the hotel and walked into Ag Nik, which was a lovely walk. We also found a little pub down the road called the Galley where we had a lovely welcome. I would recommend a visit to the galley (they do "real chips"!).

I know my critique has been quite long but I wanted to let everyone know what a fantastic venue the Mirabello is for a wedding and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We arrived back from Mirabello on Tuesday! We had a fantastic holiday!

We arrived late evening and where already impressed with what we could see of the hotel! The exterior and reception was very clean, crisp and modern! So straight away good first impressions! We where greeted with a drink and sent for a cold buffet which was lovely, and while we ate a porter took our cases to our room. Which was nice.

Our room was on the ground floor in the main part of the hotel, with a bay/sea view (they said we'd been upgraded for my birthday) When we went into the room they had left a birthday cake which was very kind. The rooms themselves where very clean, nothing outstanding but couldnt fault them. We stayed all inclusive so had a fully stocked fridge for free which was handy! Fantasic views from our terrace! Because we had alot of greenary around our wall we had ants, they actually somehow got into our room and into my handluggage bag (i had starburst in there) We told reception before we went down for dinner and by the time we got back they had been and sprayed all around our terrace and by the patio doors and cleaned up. They cant be to blame because like i said earlier the rooms are cleaned to a very high standard just one of those things, they get anywhere dont they!

The food was very good. Cater for everyone! My boyfriend and I are quite fussy and we always found somthing! For breakfast you can have smoothies mixed for you, omelletes made and eggs to how you like them. So a nice personal touch. They also have lovely freshly made waffles with various toppings! (Breakfast was my personal favourite)

Drinks & bars again very good! 5 Bars 1 beach grill, they all are to a high standard. Good variety too choose from on all inclusive. All cocktails are included and are made fresh in front of you. (I found them VERY strong though so took me ages to drink them if not waste them)
Beach grill was nice, this costs 3 euro if all inclusive. My boyfriend really enjoyed the pittas while on beach sunbathing rather than going upto restaurant. Personal prefferance.

Pool areas where again very nice! Like ive said earlier the thing that comes across very strongly is the standard of cleanliness. For example there are white tiles layed everywhere and they are gleaming. We didnt seem to come across a shortage of sunbeds as the hotel runs a no reserving sunbed rule. Which in my opinion seemed to be working.

Entertainment was ok/good. The team seemed really nice and very hardworking! Although we preferred the professional acts that where on. So maybe the hotel should decide on leaving it to the professionals. If your not keen on whats on in the entertainment area the roof terrace bar was a lovely place to sit back and relax.

We also visited the a la carte restaurant and chose the mexican menu, we really enjoyed it and had great service! Another thing is they run all different types of watersports from the hotel on the beaches. Very good pricing compared to previous holidays! We rented a pedal boat which was fun :) it was 20euro for an hour. The both beaches are very nice its 5euro for two sunbeds and parasol but after 3pm its free! The hotel provide very good quality beach towels and pretty much every guest made most of this service!

While we where there we did two excursions: 4x4 adventure- highly recommend this. It may be a little more pricey than others, it costs 79euro but completly worth it! We all had a fab day! Check out reviews for it on here guys.

The second one we did was Spinalonga (booked through thompson) not worth it very rushed around the island and the guide/day is more focused on the bbq, it cost us 50 euro each but a couple we met did it on there own and slashed this price. It really isnt worth it!

Few other bits about hotel, has a nice gamesroom, indoor pool, spa. And is a nice walk into town, took us about 20minutes. Also shout out to the thompson rep, he was very nice and professional! "scotty from scotland" he helped my boyfriend with lots of useful information about our excursions and even excursions they didnt offer from the area.

Hope you have a fantastic holiday at Mirabello as we did. Hope this hasnt gone on too long only just realised how much ive typed. Hope this helps.

Will defo be returning to the hotel, "5 star for Iberostar" :) (it rhymes guys)

Thank you. xxxx

Room Tip: If you dont like bugs, choosed a high room as alot of greenary around ground level rooms xxx
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 451Rachel_2012_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spent two weeks in this hotel in May. Paid extra for sea view room - well worth it. On top floor and had superb view. Food was plentiful - lots of choice. Weather very hot so ate outside both at breakfast and at dinner. Staff well trained, helpful and efficient.

Room was spacious, with a well furnished balcony. Tea/coffee making facilities provided free of charge. Safe in room also free of charge. Our Thomson rep, Scott, let us know that you could ask to have the mini bar emptied and you could then stock it with your items - again at no charge. We've bought milk in the supermarket across the road for our cups of tea.

Drinks in the hotel rather expensive if on half board. Make a point of visiting Stavros Bar just down the road. Maria,Mrs no problem serves drinks at a fraction of hotel prices. Snack food at lunch time good, as well as cheap.

Made good use of local buses. Taxis outside hotel willing to haggle over prices if four persons there.

Can highly recommend a visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor. Sea view. Sun all morning - therefore cooler on balcony in afternoon.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank May G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just arrived back after a two week holiday at the Mirabello and I must say everything was first class.
We went to this hotel for my daughters wedding and I must say nothing was to much trouble, we had a fabulous day and all the staff were all willing to do that little bit extra for you.
The holiday itself was complimented by the hotel being spotless with excellent food and top service.
Out and about there is a local bar called the Galley which offers a great home from home welcome.
All from all I would highly recommend the Mirabello Hotel and village for that special holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colin_williams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paralimni, Famagusta, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Fantastic resort - loved being in the village with a seaview and over looking Aghios nicholaoas. room (757) although from beach to room 130 steps and a small slop

SMALL NIGGLES 1ST

Don't know why have to pay €5 for 2 sunbed and brolley on beach each day (your own choice to use) - not municiple beachs as Iberostar staff take the money!! also only one delux sunbed €10 per day but booked out for 2 months

Be warned Men - take long trousers to wear in main restaurant (sirens) nearly caught out as this was not mentioned on the website, we spoke to reception who said smart shorts ok, - but staff in restuarant make it pretty clear this is not what the management say - I would suggest that June, July, August they relax this. Also in peak times a wait to be seated but not too long

Ladies - hairdryer in room is not a normal hairdryer but some kind of contraption in the bathroom fixed to wall - doesn't work if you have long hair to dry and don't expect to be able to blow dry into a style.

The animation team very friendly - but need to work on their evening performances, outside entertainers ok.

Memaids bar - cant cope in the evenings waited an hour for drinks, so unorgainsed

Safe in room didn't work properly twice had batteries changed would lock and then reopen (maintenance did attend very quickly but left without one main light not working and had reported it)

BEST BITS

All inclusive - excellent buffet style food, Il patio al a carte excellent

Fantastic location - the best great beach and views (all be it 30 min walk to aghios, €6 taxi, €1.70 bus)

staff - all very friendly

Rooms - clean & spacious ( tv quite old but not a problem and didn't watch often)

Shower worked with lots of power and as hot as you wanted

Resort - good beach and pools (village and main) ,clean, tidy, lots of sunbeds and towels provided

Will book for next year for sure if no major changes and dont "sell out" to Russians (lots of rumours whilst there)!

Room Tip: we had room 757 (top floor of 3) double seaview in village looking out towards Aghios nicholaos. the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.5 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
544 reviews
1.9 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
856 reviews
0.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#5 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.7 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
805 reviews
4.3 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel

Property: Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Address: | Havania, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Mirabello Beach & Village)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#6 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#8 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 311
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This impeccable resort on the Aegean Sea with elegant facilities and professional service is the ideal choice for those wanting to spend a luxurious holiday in Greece, either as a family or a couple. Its surroundings and landscape that can be seen from the rooms, terraces and swimming pools are spectacular. Furthermore, it is only a few miles from the center of the town of Agios Nikolaos, which has a lively nightlife. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Mirabello Beach And Village
Iberostar Agios Nikolaos
Iberostar Hotel Mirabello Village
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing