We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great diving experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pelagos Dive Centre

Pelagos Dive Centre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Pelagos Dive Centre has been operating since 1987 and is located in Agios Nikolaos (Crete, Greece), in the grounds of the Minos Beach hotel, one of Crete's most attractive and luxurious five star bungalow hotel complexes. It is ideal for all divers and free divers. Situated on the water's edge in the picturesque calm bay of Aghios Nikolaos. Relaxed, easy multilevel diving and free diving in current free crystal clear waters with 30m+ visibility. Dive sites include apart from a rich variety of interesting and safe marine life, reefs, drop offs, caverns, WW2 artifacts and ancient remains. Most sites are within 20 mins ride onboard our 10m purpose built, jet driven dive boat, with easy boarding access. Snorkelers and non divers are also welcom onboard Multilingual instructors with over 25 years of experience ensure safe and easy learning in an ideal controlled sea environment infront of our dive centre. We fully comply with all safety requirements. We hold EN certifications by BUREAU VERITAS and local authorities. Come join us for a memorable diving experience !
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Xave
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great diving experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

I scuba dived twice with Pelagos Dive Centre this May. It was very enjoyable and professional. Stephanos, Manu and Kathryn make it a lovely experience. It's friendly, reassuring, safe and I highly recommend it. Their gear is very well maintained and mainly brand new. The dive is amazing and they adapt to different skills and needs. And it always finishes with a warm cup of tea and a chat about Crete and Diving. I loved the place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank xvallee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    8
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
61 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“You must dive here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

So I first came across Pelagos when internet searching two years ago, and staying in nearby Elounda. I had a great dive with them. So it seemed natural when returning this year that I dive with them again.

And I had another great two dives with these guys. Having dived all over the med, this is one of my favourite dive centres for a few reasons:

+ Really friendly staff - Stephanos and Manu are great, and relaxed too which is nice
+ Nice location - beautiful
+ Dive sites are really close so no really long boat trips
+ Loads of fish - unusual for the med.
+ Not overly crowded and not swamped by tourists doing test dives. My last dive was one-to-one and I had 60 minutes underwater at up to 28m.
+ Boat hire and kayak hire available too.

I would recommend these guys, because they are nice people to deal with.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TimAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Scuba and Sailing Teachers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2014

Went for the Scuba Dive Certificate and had a great time. Manu is a great teacher both for diving and sailing. Very professional, PADI-certified dive school, so they really know what they are doing. Cool diving spots.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Marius W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Number 1 attraction for good reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Quite simply have never been made to feel so welcome and so impressed by the

The blend of Stephanos "depth" of knowledge, calm demeanour AND Kathryn's professional & systematic running of the centre results in a warm, sociable and of course safe experience.

If you are already qualified then dive at Pelagos.
If you are not then get qualified at Pelagos!

Hope to come back with my children in September for training at the best school I have come across since learning to dive in 95!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent dive centre”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Stefanos and his wife Kathryn are a real delight. He and his team have so much experience and knowledge it makes every dive interesting and very safe. Everything you could want for experienced divers to people doing their first dive. The equipment is first class. Thank you for a great day and for looking after us so well.
Kevin & Gian

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tomuk900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pelagos Dive Centre also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Pelagos Dive Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing