We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alantha Apartments Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Faedra Beach Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$66
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas(Agios Nikolaos)
$781
$332
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elpida Village(Istron)(Great Value!)
$40
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Candia Park Village(Agios Nikolaos)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Du Lac hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$49
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Miramare Resort & Spa(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$67
$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Mirabella Apartments(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$42
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Blue Marine Resort & Spa(Agios Nikolaos)
$128
$107
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (277)
Filter reviews
277 results
Traveler rating
132
80
39
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
132
80
39
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolquiet residential streettop floorair consteep stepssea fronttown centreapartment was spacioussea viewkept spotlessly cleanbedding and towelslounge areaevery other dayammoudi beachcoach transferwalking difficultiesfantastic views
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 277 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a very relaxing week at the Alantha, and we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to others. Our room (106) was large, airy and very clean. It was definitely a step above the basic standard of accommodation you tend to find in Greece.

But without a doubt the best thing about these apartments is the view from the rooftop pool and sun terrace - it's absolutely stunning! The pool itself is freeeeezing but I suppose if you overheat after baking in the sun (as there are no parasols by the pool) then it's just the ticket. My boyfriend and I spent a lot of time on the sun terrace which is more shaded, and there was often a nice breeze preventing it from becoming too hot - making it the perfect spot to unwind with a drink and a good book!

The night porter, Adonis, never seemed to sleep and greeted us with a smile when we first checked in. I have to agree with others when they say the reception isn't always manned during the day, but it didn't really affect our holiday at all. If you have an emergency, they do give you a number to call if need be.

We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast consisted of the usual full English, omelettes and toast etc. I had Greek yogurt and honey most mornings but I have to say, I did miss a bit of fresh fruit. Chrissy - who runs the snack bar - did a good job juggling all the breakfast orders, as the hotel was still fairly busy despite it being the end of the summer holidays.

The location is great (a five minute stroll to bars and restaurants and ten minutes to the Great Lake and the harbour area) but be warned - the coach cannot drive you directly to the door when transferring you from the airport, so you have to climb a very steep set of stairs with your cases. In fact, the whole of Ag Nik is very hilly, which does well to negate all the extra holiday calories but it's pretty tough going in 35 degree heat! So I would think twice if you have very young children or trouble walking.

The apartments themselves are situated on a quiet residential street off of the main drag, meaning you get a slice of real Greek life. Women going about their daily chores, children playing in the street and Greek dogs and cats roaming about. We loved it and we loved Ag Nik. Go there, you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MissChoulesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Nice apartments close to everything (including the bus station for trips). Clean (towels changed daily etc) and simple (we are in Greece remember). Night porter (Vans - who seemed to work all hours) was always helpfull and available with a friendly smile.
There are plenty of decent restaurants and bars in town to visit , I'd particularly like to recommend Pelagos (at the end of the road) which while expensive was very nice food, Avila which was quiet but decent food and price, toedeledokie which was excellent and very welcoming (especially on the way home from town for a quick drink) , and the Greek place in the square (you have to queue but not for very long and it's worth it when you sit down - massive portions of meat and lovely salads).
If you're looking for a decent beach then take a walk to almiros - it's 30 mins to walk or 10 mins on the bus but its a lovely beach with bouncy castles in the water for the kids and water sports for the adults (plus they do a nice beer at the local beach bar)
Trip wise do the spinalonga boat trip which was a decent day out.

Room Tip: We were in 205 anything 3rd floor would have decent views (and bigger balconies) . Bigger balconies at the back also.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Agios Nikolaus is a really nice holiday location, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The restaurants were always nice, friendly locals and great food. The apartments were fine, although our's could have done with some maintanance. we had a one bedroom apartment for a family of four, the sofa beds in the main room weren't very comfortable, we was glad to get home to a proper bed. But saying that we did have a nice holiday, the roof top pool was great and the staff were all very helpful. But one point to consider, air conditioning is an extra cost that wasn't mentioned to us prior to booking I think it worked out at 8 euros a day.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Atlanta is a great apartment complex situated in a mainly residential area of Ag Nic, a great location to watch everyday Greek life go by. Although not on the main drag it is within easy walking distance of the resort centre, where there are some excellent bars situated around the lake and many different but excellent restaurants to be found. We stayed in apartment 205, it was clean and well equipped, our apartment had a nice view of the sea and watching the sun rise/set was amazing. The staff in the complex were friendly and helpful, Chrissy in particular (who runs the snack bar by the pool) gave us some great tips of places to visit, including the pretty little village of Mochlos and the Plateau of Lassithi. We had a slight problem with our door lock and the night porter was extremely helpful and got it sorted very quickly, great service.

While on holiday our daughter celebrated her 6th birthday (a fact the apartment owner had no knowledge of). Having opened presents and cards in the morning we put them up in the apartment and headed out for a day on the beach. We returned and were blown away to find a card and present from all the staff, and then having opened the fridge there was the most gorgeous chocolate cake ever. All I can say is we had a very happy little girl! For me this goes beyond average service, we have stayed in 4 star hotels on her birthday in previous years and not had such superb service or attention to detail.

Atlanta proved to be the idea place to explore not only all of what Ag Nic had to offer, but prove to be a great base from which to see nearly all the Island east of Iraklion (although I would recommend hiring a car in order to reach the more remote places that are of the beaten track).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Woody139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

A hidden gem in a mainly residential area, a huge apartment block with spotless rooms and a lovely roof top pool.

There is a very steep hill to climb to get to and from but that's Ag Nik in general.

Special mention to Chrissy and the guy on reception (never caught his name) friendly service throughout our ten day stay.

The building was a bit noisy but this was down to marble floors and windy balconies etc, we got used to it and found we were just as much to blame as anyone else.

We don't tend to go back to the same Islands let alone the same accommodation but I will strongly recommend the Alantha, we had a very good stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nik A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews