We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best location ever!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Miramare Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“best location ever!!!”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

although we visited the Greek islands several times before, the Miramare Resort Hotel was the best location ever. The view, the great service and the fact that we received a free upgrade without asking for one was exceptional!! Originally we booked a double room for 3 people in the renovated part of the hotel, but upon arrival we found they had booked us in a luxury suite with 2 bathrooms and a huge balcony. Thank you very much Yiannis from the reception desk for accomodating us in such a luxurious way!!! You and all your colleagues at the Miramare Resort Hotel have made us feel most welcome during our stay and we will make sure to recommend the Miramare to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ingrid-willems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

I truly value your feedback regarding your recent stay at our hotel, on its location and its facilities as it will definitely help other people considering a trip to get an overall view of our property.
Given this oppurtunity I would like to thank you for choosing to stay at the Miramare Resort and for recommending our hotel to other travelers. I sincerely hope we will get the chance to welcome you back to our resort in the future for another unforgettable holiday.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

779 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    291
    125
    45
    21
See reviews for
203
412
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The hotel is located 10 minutes away from the city, what is both good and not-so-good. Considering we were looking to relax and get away from the daily routine, the quiet and peace of it's location was perfect. Didn't mind the walk to the city every now and then for the exquisite restaurants and pubs...
The hotel was built on a hill, making the "trip" around the facilities a little bit tricky, especially after a good meal in the city, having to "climb up" to the lobby in order to take the elevator to the room.
The fact that it's built based on little villas and not rooms, gave it a scent of privacy and quiet like no other regular hotel I have been before. Each villa has it's own balcony looking towards the sea so we could enjoy the breeze and the beautiful sundowns.
The food was great, the staff were friendly, and especially the bartenders that were always happy to serve us with a smile on their faces.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Martin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.
It was pleasing to note that you felt we provided a great location and that our staff took good care of you. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.
We look forward to seeing you soon for another enjoyable and relaxing time.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stansted Mountfitchet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Our first bungalow room was awful, toilet leaked all over the floor, front door rattled continuously due to wind, small balcony barely enough room for two chairs, fuse box cables were hanging out and not covered and overall you couldn't swing a cat in the bedroom unless it didn't have legs! Considering we paid £160 per night for our room we felt it was not a four star hotel and we did complain to be moved to another room which we were granted and found it was only slightly better and bigger for the same money? The staff at reception were not helpful throughout and seemed offended by the comments about the room and told us the problems could have been fixed but I was not prepared for a 'DIY SOS' team to put things right while we stood around for a few days waiting.
The security box in the room was not free to use and cost 20 euros a week or 3 euros a day, wifi access is 5 euros per hour and very slow, these are services you would expect to be included for that room rate and hotel star rating! The beds/mattresses (single beds doubled together) were nice and solid and great if you were in training for lying on a bed of nails contest but challenging if you just wanted a relaxing sleep. The bathroom was almost as tired looking as us on the first night and also in need of modernisation although the shower head that looked like a purchase from the pound shop must have been a reasonable bulk buy deal for the Hotel.

We had bed and breakfast and thanked our lucky stars we did not go half board or all inclusive due to the 'soup kitchen/dining room' experience we had to endure each morning. You first have to be bossed to your table by the maître d who is not a man to be messed with or answer to! You then prepare yourself for what I relate to a 'human bumper cars' scenario at the buffet counters whereby you endure physically engaging moments with over enthusiastic Russians, Germans and other very impolite Eastern Europeans in a grab what you can as quickly as you can food frenzy. This was a bit of a chore each morning to be confronted with especially as breakfast has to be finished by 10am so it seemed like getting up for work to participate in the rush hour! And if you weren't done with your food on the plate be ready to play 'wrestle mania' with the waiting staff or they would be hovering around the table in awaited anticipation for your final moments of chewing.

Overall, the façade of the hotel is good, nice pools and landscaping with great views but the important customer friendly ingredients and details are not there which is a shame.
The local beaches, tavernas and the harbour town are positives and worth spending time away from the hotel although I do agree with other travellers who found the walk unpleasant in the fact that you have to navigate along a road with little or no pavement to walk on.
We would not go back and stay at the Miramare but would visit the area again and particularly enjoyed the late afternoons chilling at the Votcalo beach bar located opposite from the hotel on the rocks which is fantastic for a combined swim and cocktail/beer. We must mention the local people are friendly and relaxed and the food in the more authentic tavernas are worth sampling.
Review the responses from the Miramare management on this site and you will notice an acknowledgement for certain comments but an ignorance in action which at some point may just turn customers away unless they just want cattle to book in for the 'all inclusive' stay!!
Overall, a decent place to stay if you are paying a lot, lot less and we are sure there is better alternative accommodation.

Room Tip: Be able to speak in Russian, German etc.. or go to Hotels.com!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Relaxedchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,
I was disappointed to read that you found our reception staff not helpful and that we did not meet any of your expectations regarding the comfort of your first bungalow , as well as I was concerned to read regarding your breakfast experiences in our restaurant.
As per charging for the Wi –Fi, it is common practice in all hotels of the area but we do offer complimentary Wi –Fi as a privilege only for our guests in the DeLuxe section rooms .

However, as we welcome any kind of constructive criticism I appreciate your comments and haven taken them into serious consideration for future reference.
It is truly regrettable that you did not enjoy your time with us. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the areas we have fallen short of your expectations.
Again, I highly appreciate your feedback as it will assist us in becoming better at what we do and I truly hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back to the Miramare in the future.


With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iasi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just came back from this hotel, and we can say this is def not 4 star hotel. We got a room at the last floor near the pool and the wind was strong, we could even felt it inside the room. We notify the reception of the problem, they did try to fix it somehow, it was better but we could still felt the wind when it was stronger. Be careful what room you are receiving. We never had such a bad experience with our room until on this hotel. Food was ok, not too much too choose from. Location was ok, nice view, you have to walk a little bit to the beach, as the beach near the hotel is not good. There was no animation in the hotel, just a DJ once at two days and a Cretan night. Drinks for all inclusive were poor, bear was awful. Hotel is pretty far away from the airport. If you are going with Christian tour company, be careful because most of the trips are very far away and you will be in the bus a long long time. Be careful as they won't tell you that, they will say it is a very nice pink beach to visit, thy will charge you for that, and in the end you will spend most of the day in a bus, and the pink beach is actually a normal beach nothing pink to see. Be very carefull to whom you listen to regarding the trips.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Diana G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post your comments and give us your feedback on your stay with us.
I am pleased that you liked the food and the view of our hotel but I am concerned that
that your frustration of the room location had such a negative impact on your stay.Unfortunately, although I totally understand your frustration regarding the wind , I would kindly like to note that as our resort is located on a hill slope unfortunately the strong wind cannot be avoided .
We welcome any kind of constructive feedback from our guests and therefore I have taken your notes regarding the full animation program, as a soft animation program is available at our resort, and your comments regarding the beverages for future review.
I apologize for any inconvenience caused and I hope that you will give us the chance to restore your faith in our services.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Been ther with our children. Got a nice room with a private pool. The room was ok but all the rest was terrible. The dining room was in chaos the waiters were angry all the time and made us feel guilty for having breakfast lunch and dinner. The selection of food was poor and the food wasn't tasty.
The mini club for the kids was locked all the time and we had to go to the reception which was 10 minutes walking (by stairs and elevator) from our room to get the key. when we opened the door we found an uncleaned space with few broken toys and video tapes.
Not enough shade in the pool
Poor selection of snacks during the day between meals.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelley293983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Miramare Hotel in May 2012. There were 6 of us, we all had different rooms however all of the had great sea view. The best was bungalows panoramic view room.
The hotel is situated in quite location in walking distance to Agios Nikolaos city centre. It takes around 10-15 minutes to get there. The centre with its stunning lake and lots of tavernas is really beautiful, we spent there almost all our evenings.
There are 2 beaches right in front of the hotel. Upper swimming pool has great view.
It was nice spending time on the terrace of the hotel listenning to live music sounding from the lobby.
We bought tickets for ferry and went to Spinalonga island ourselves. It was nice trip with a stop for lunch in lagoon with really clean water. We took bicycles and had a small bicucle trip.
I will come back to Agios Nikolaos for sure!
I think that Miramare is a good value for money hotel.

Room Tip: Take bungalows panoramic view rooms. There is a nice small lagoon beside the taverna near the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alya_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2013

Firstly Can I Say That You Get What You Pay For !!!!
I Thought This Hotel Was Brilliant, The Views Are To Die For And The Room We Had With A Sea View Was Almost Like Being On A Cruise Ship !!!
We Stayed For A Week At The End Of June To The Beginning Of July On A Bed And Breakfast Basis ( Why Stay All Inclusive When You Are In Crete ?)
It Seemed That We Were The Only British Couple Here As It Was Mainly Russian And German People Staying All Inclusive, Not That It Bothered Us Bit, You Could Actually Set Your Watch To Them As They Pile From The Pool To Get There Breakfast And Lunch !!!! Breakfast Was Great And A Good Choice, We Did Not Eat In The Resort For An Evening Meal But Did Have A Pizza From The Pool Bar Restaurant Which Was Good.
The Main Resort Centre Was A Lovely Walk Which Took About 15 Mins, If You Took A Taxi Which We Did Several Times Coming Back Late It Costs 5 Euros, The Lake And Harbour Area Are Really Nice And Have A Great Choice Of Over 20 Restaurants, There Is Not Much Night Life, But We Found A Really Great Bar Called Sorento Which Was Very Friendly, Also Evana Restaurant On The Lake Was Probably The Best We Ate In ( 3 Times ) The Bridge Bar Had Great Cocktails And I Even Asked My Girl Friend To Marry Me There !!!! ( She Said Yes ) Overall A Lovely Holiday, The Pound Against The Euro Is Rubbish At The Moment So A Little Costly Out And About, We Did Not Find The Steps A Problem At All On Resort, There Is A Lift Any Way To Most Of The Floors, We Were In Room 217 Great View And Right By The Entrance !!!
All These People Reviewing With Negative Feedback Should Ashamed, For What You Pay It Is Great, I Have Been Th The Maldives, Caribbean And Stayed With Secrets And Sandals Resorts Which Cost Alot More Money, But I Thought This Place Was Great Well Done Miramare !!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank craig f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your wonderful review following your stay at the Miramare . It is great to know that you truly enjoyed Agios Nikolaos as it is indeed a beatiful town and our resort is privileged to be situated close by in one of the most amazing areas.
It was a pleasure taking care of you and we look forward to having you back at our resort.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
4.4 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#12 of 35 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
42.3 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#5 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#7 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
60.0 mi away
Hotel Panormo Beach
Hotel Panormo Beach
#7 of 14 in Panormos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.7 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare Resort & Spa

Property: Miramare Resort & Spa
Address: Gargadoros, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#10 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramare Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 288
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MIRAMARE resort is an attractive hotel, bungalow and Luxury Villas complex in Eastern Crete. It is situated in a magnificent and peaceful location just above the sea front, with a startling view of the picturesque town of Aghios Nikolaos and the Mirabello Bay between two fully organized beaches offering full facilities and a large variety of sea sports.The cosmopolitan town of Aghios Nikolaos is within walking distance from the hotel, only one hour from Heraklion International Airport and a short drive from all major attractions of Eastern Crete.The hotel is built in traditional island architecture supporting the conservation of Cretan nature, with low buildings, all of which are generously spacious for your relaxation and enjoyment. Miramare Resort & Luxury Villas has been designed not only to fulfil but also to exceed the highest expectations of the most discerning traveller. Offering the highest possible service standards and an environment of discreet luxury and comfort, the Miramare resort promises to make even the shortest stay a unique and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Miramare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel And Villas
Miramare Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Hotel Crete
Miramare Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing