We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday April 2013” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Miramare Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Miramare Resort & Spa
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Stratford upon Avon
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Holiday April 2013”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Beautiful location, lovely hotel and great splash pool from de luxe rooms. You do need to expect to have a bit of a trek to walk around site, lots of steps so be aware if you are disabled. Food average, lots of choice for breakfast, the evening meal buffet style, most dishes and cooked vegetables seemed overcooked or just kept warm too long. Salad where fresh and varied. Staff pleasant except for maitre de who spoilt the atmosphere on quite a few evenings by ordering you where you could sit obviously for his convenience, not the guests. Waiting staff happy to quickly lay up tables anywhere you chose until he got involved . Definately needs to go on 'people' skills training as he made many guest uncomfortable and spoke to staff in off hand manner in front of guests. Apart from this one problem, lovely place and would go again.

Room Tip: Room 615 excellent views, sun all day, near beautiful Aegeon pool and bar. You do need to be able to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your stay with us. I am pleased to hear that you loved the room, the view, the facilities and our service.
It is truly regrettable that you were not fully satisfied with your dining experience. I appreciate your remarks and I have noted them for future review.
May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing to stay at the Miramare Resort and I look forward welcoming you back in the future.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    278
    121
    42
    21
See reviews for
190
394
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

An absolute pleasure to stay at this hotel . Was greeted with a warm welcome and a great meal even though we came quite late . We stayed in the apartments with the private pool - which you cannot fault . Private , relaxing ,amazing views , an absolute pleasure . Our room was very neat and the hotel always clean .Would love to return and would definitely recommend . Staff is friendly and always helpful. Our stay here was slightly out of season ( April 2013 ) Lovely little town about 10 min walk with good restaurants and shops and a sandy beach 5 min away. My favourite part - the view. Least favourite - food 6/10 and the prices for drinks double in restaurant than in lobby bar ?

Room Tip: Sea view - private pool are newly build down at the bottom of the hotel ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FreeSpirit813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which is greatly appreciated and I am glad that you had a wonderful time.
It was pleasing to note that you felt we provided a great experience in a great location and that our staff took good care of you. I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.
Once again thank you for recommending us to others ans I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Miramare Resort for another perfect holiday.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
blackpool
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one week April 2013. Good hotel. Staff always helpful and smiling special mention for Mihalas and Sofia in the dinig room and Helaina in the lobby bar. Lovely beach just below hotel and a larger one 5 mins away, Amryos Beach. Great location stunning views would deff return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ballyconnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for sharing your experience of the Miramare Resort here on Trip Advisor. It is our pleasure to read that you so enjoyed your stay and your compliments have been passed on to the relevant departments.

We are looking forward to welcoming you again for another stay and hope that we will become your favourite destination for relaxation and rejuvenation.



With kind regards


Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

A warm welcome awaits you, from reception, the waiters, bar and house keeping staff . We had a light and airy room overlooking the sea some 25 yds.away. The complex built on the side of a hill is vast with three pools, one tennis court a lovely outdoor theatre set in rose gardens. Within 10 minuets walk of Agios Nikolaos a buseling town centre, harbour and Mariana and three local beaches. With top quality food with a large selection. The whole site was very clean and tidy, a most pleasant stay.

The Butlers

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Miramare Resort. We are always very pleased to hear that our guests appreciate the hospitalityof our staff.
It is also great to know that you loved your room and the amazing views from it and the quality of the food at our restaurant.

I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Miramare Resort.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

We stayed for a week at the end of March which was amazingly good value for a 3 bedroomed villa (96 euro/night). However, as the hotel was still shut there was no restaurant for breakfast etc, and the villa was only cleaned and linen changed twice during the week (I don't know how often it would be cleaned during high season).

The condition of the villa was good and everywhere was spotlessly clean, although as the villa had been closed over the winter there were quite a few creepy crawlies around. The villa had three bedrooms each with an en-suite, a master bedroom up the top with a double bed and huge terrace, and two doubles, each with a (small) balcony. There is also a lounge and dining area, with tv and dvd player, a well equipped kitchen and small laundry room, both with adequate supplies of washing tablets, cleaning products etc. There are multiple supermarkets in town to buy supplies (Carrefour on the road in from Heraklion, Spar on the inner ring road and Lidl on the road out to Kritsa), though not in walking distance. On arrival there was a bowl of fruit, plate of biscuits/sweets from the local patisserie and a bottle of wine waiting for us.

The patio surrounding the villa is huge, with well planted borders and a good sized private swimming pool. There were sunloungers, a hammock, soft seating and a dining table outside so you could sit outside the villa at any time, including meals (I imagine some people hardly leave the villa). The villas are situated a fair way up the hill so it was quite windy some days, but we were there in March, so I presume this wouldn't be a problem in summer. The views are lovely - with both sea and mountains.

The villas are located on a steep hill, but have their own car ports outside, although it was very difficult to turn a VW Polo around in the space. All the roadways are all well lit at night if you want to park up the top and walk down. The area was good - away from town but only a 2 minute drive along the coast in the car. The villas are near the main road to Sitia (which sounds bigger than it actually is) but whilst we were there we were not disturbed by traffic noise. You only see traffic if you look down from the terrace, and even then a lot is shaded by trees; they are currently building a bypass that will take the road away from the area.

Had the villa been serviced more frequently I would not hesitate to give this place 5 stars.

Room Tip: We stayed in the middle villa. The two villas on top of the hill are next door to each other so didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ceri393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for the comprehensive review of your stay with us. I was thrilled that you were generally pleased with your stay. Our guest feedback is invaluable to us and help us to enhance the experience and address the finer details . So I do appreciate your comments which I have taken on board for future review.
We much look forward to welcoming you back.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed in the Miramare Hotel in September. It was a nice hotel, but it wasn't in that great an area. The view across the bay was fantastic though. It took about 20 minutes to walk to the town of Aghios Nikolaos which is a really nice harbour town. It is very busy with loads of shops and bars and a harbour front where cruise ships dock up. The staff were lovely and helpful and the food was good, although the Maitre D' didn't have the best control of the restaurant when we were there. A simple "Wait here to be seated" sign outside the restaurant door would have worked better then him trying to be at two places at once (at the door and seating guests).

The transfer from the airport on the courtesy bus was never ending and took about 3 hours. We got a taxi back which took less than an hour. The spa facilities were excellent. There were lots of stairs and hills to climb to our room which was tiring.

Room Tip: The private pools to the apartments were very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jw547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

1st of all apologies for not writing this review sooner.
I stayed in this hotel in October 2012 near the end of the season.

Good points:
The staff and service were fantastic.
The hotel is very clean and the views and local area are beautiful.
The food was also very edible (my weight gain was testament to that fact)

Not so good points:
The all inclusive concept appeared to be an afterthought.
Our room was in the older part of the hotel and was small and tired looking.

Top tip - there are some really nice shoe ships in Ag Nik.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GlasgowLiz73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Miramare Resort & Spa, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on your stay at the Miramare Resort.Although I was truly glad to read that you enjoyed the magnificent views and our service was up to your expectations, it is truly regrettable that you were not fully satisfied with the All Inclusive concept and your room. It is great to learn from each of our guest experiences and your review highlights the areas you truly enjoyed, as well as those we need to focus on improving. I appreciate your remarks regarding the accommodation and I have noted them for future review.
It was a pleasure having your with us and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
4.4 mi away
Elounda Ilion Hotel
Elounda Ilion Hotel
#10 of 37 in Elounda
4.0 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.5 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
42.3 mi away
Peninsula Resort & Spa
Peninsula Resort & Spa
#6 of 29 in Agia Pelagia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
37.8 mi away
MariRena Hotel
MariRena Hotel
#11 of 32 in Amoudara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
1.7 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miramare Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miramare Resort & Spa

Property: Miramare Resort & Spa
Address: Gargadoros, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#10 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#14 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Miramare Resort & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 264
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MIRAMARE resort is an attractive hotel, bungalow and Luxury Villas complex in Eastern Crete. It is situated in a magnificent and peaceful location just above the sea front, with a startling view of the picturesque town of Aghios Nikolaos and the Mirabello Bay between two fully organized beaches offering full facilities and a large variety of sea sports.The cosmopolitan town of Aghios Nikolaos is within walking distance from the hotel, only one hour from Heraklion International Airport and a short drive from all major attractions of Eastern Crete.The hotel is built in traditional island architecture supporting the conservation of Cretan nature, with low buildings, all of which are generously spacious for your relaxation and enjoyment. Miramare Resort & Luxury Villas has been designed not only to fulfil but also to exceed the highest expectations of the most discerning traveller. Offering the highest possible service standards and an environment of discreet luxury and comfort, the Miramare resort promises to make even the shortest stay a unique and memorable experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Miramare Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miramare Hotel And Villas
Miramare Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Hotel Crete
Miramare Agios Nikolaos
Miramare Resort & Spa Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing