We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed and fleeced experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mare-Olympus Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Mixed and fleeced experience”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Unfortunately our holiday was very mixed at this hotel. Being half Greek i had a fairly good idea as to what to expect from a Cretian hotel but Olympic Holidays completely let us down and i would not recommend anyone to book with them ever. The hotel was mixed but overall i felt fleeced out of nearly £2500. The Olympic rep was non existent and forgot to give us any literature with contact numbers on arrival and did not turn up at the hotel once. Olympic were also too cheap to book an extra coach on pick up from the airport to take us in the right direction, instead one coach toured the southern part of the island at 5am taking hours instead of 40 minutes. We had no one to confirm our inbound flights with or to confirm our return transport to the airport. Eventually we asked the hotel manager who told us we were due to check out 2 days before our return flight, my confirmation booking said the opposite and the manager refused to speak to the tour operator so i had use my UK mobile to call which has cost a fortune and Olympic told me that the hotel had it wrong and they would re-send the booking. The manager spoke to us after the email and tried to deny she had tried to get us to check out early, after she had told us she was expecting another booking to arrive that day, but then said were supposed to check out one day before our flight. Something was definitely not right because our booking was all inclusive and the manager had transferred all our meals to the day we had been forced to check out of the hotel which did not make any sense. I called Olympic again and i was told it was not their responsibility and that the hotel manager could book us into another hotel which the hotel manager refused to do. Olympic then told me i would have to take it up in the UK. I was, and am furious, especially after explaining that my ten year old child was with us and that i had the paperwork - from Olympic - to prove that our booking was until the 7 August not the 6 August. The hotel was fully booked and I had to find another hotel and pay for another room for one day - i suspect this all happened because of a double booking. Appalling, appalling service and attitude. The staff on our last day of eating (but not staying at the hotel) then asked for tip before we checked out. Incredible. They actually looked surprised when i said no. Apart from that the food is good but not great and the hotel turned off the air conditioning two nights during the night which meant the room became unbearably hot at 4am. The apartments are also oversold, they are more than a hotel room but i would not call them apartments either, they don't fit 4 people well. The hotel also charged 5 Euros an hour for wifi which Cretian hotels don't normally do and the connection was rubbish, funnily enough the free wifi connections worked perfectly. Our room was cleaned every day but the towels were not changed every day.

Room Tip: The sea view is gorgeous but does not make up for the hassle we encountered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jenny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Mare-Olympus Apartments, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
I appreciate the time taken to post your feedback from your stay at the Mare Apartments. I am pleased hear that you liked the food at our restaurant, but I am suprised to read that you were disappointed with our staff , as the resort is well known for the best possible service.
May I kindly note that the reservation for your accommodation, received from the Tour Operator, was for the period of 30/07—06/08/2013 and due to late arrival time to the hotel offers the first day’s meals on departure date .As the date of your departure was on August 6th your meals was transferred to the above mentioned date.
With regards to the air condition problem we kindly point out that the air condition is individual and self controlled.

However, I truly apologize for not meeting your expectations and for the inconvenience caused during your stay.

With kind regards
Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    35
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
61
75
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We have just returned from a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Mare Hotel Apartments. The location, service and food were all excellent. First impressions were positive when upon arrival at about 11 pm, we were warmly greeted and shown in to our room (Skopelos). As we had missed dinner, cold plates of food had been made up for us and left in the fridge in our room, which was not only a sample of the great food we had to come, it also demonstrated the attentive customer service that we would receive during the rest of our stay.
The food really was excellent if you want traditional Greek cuisine (which we did); every night there was a wide range of choice to suit all tastes, all home cooked and buffet style meaning that we could try a bit of everything. My partner has been going to Crete for the past 15 years and has said that this is the best food he has tasted! (Thank you Mr Manolis!) Breakfast too was excellent with fresh fruit, yogurt, honey and all the cooked choices on offer too.
The location of the hotel is ideal. A stones throw from Kitroplatia beach, and a very short walk to other beaches, bars, restaurants and shops. Our room was brilliant too - spacious; a lovely sea view from the balcony (we could hear the sea its so close); free air conditioning; comfortable beds and we were even kindly given a kettle upon request!
The only criticism would be that the pool area is small, however this really didn't matter. Our ten year old was quite happy playing in there for hours at a time, and you are so near the beach anyway that the pool really is just a nice added extra to the hotel, ideal for cooling off at the end of the day!
Finally, big thanks to George and Anastasia in the restaurant who made us feel very welcome; and thank you to all the staff team who were always very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We stayed in Skopelos on the first floor which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank JH1Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Mare-Olympus Apartments, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Dear Guest,

I sincerely thank you for your outstanding review. It was wonderful to read all your lovely words about our resort and I am delighted to learn that we fulfilled all your expectations. Your compliments have also been passed on to the relevant persons.
May I take this opportunity to thank you for choosing us to stay at the Mare Apartments and I sincerely hope to have you with us again in the future.

With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Nice but simple hotel, location very good, 50m from the Kiroplatia beach, about 5 min walk to the centrum of Agios. Staff was super nice and helpful, breakfast really good, only minus is the pool area, very small. Roof terraces were nice, but too hot place to stay, temp. was around 28C.
We also had an upgrade from a studio to an apartment, this was a nice surprise ! Sea view and the weather was super all week, really nice holiday 26.4-3.5.2013.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaglemama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miramare1, Guest Relations Manager at Mare-Olympus Apartments, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

I thank you for your review and your invaluable feedback, with comments regarding our staff and the location, whicg are highly appreciated. At the same time, I was concerned to read that the pool area did not fully meet your expectations . However, as we welcome any kind of constructive criticism I have taken your notes on board which will only help us improve in the areas you mention.

We would very much like to welcome you back to the Mare Apartments during your future trips.


With kind regards

Maire Menegis
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This is lovely and very clean hotel with excelent location. Staff are very kindly and helpful. We had just breakfast and that was very good, bacon, eggs, sausage, different kind of breads, cheese, olives, tomatoes, cake, fruits, flakes etc. Our room (Skiathos) was on "coming in" side, peaceful and room wasn´t too hot. View wasn´t that good but it wasn´t also bad. Couple not nice things was that bed was kind of small (120-140) and matress was very hard (or old) and there was only one light next to bed (if you like to read). With little fixs this hotel could be excellent :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paivi68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

A special thankyou the lovely manageress and her staff for making our stay ( sept 11-22 2012)
so relaxing we had a really long transfer 3hrs arrived ot about 12.45 am so be greeted with a lovely lady with a lovely smile after checking in we were offered an upgrade from a studio to an apparment on the 5th floor zakinthos.
we were totally overjoyed with the room balcony overlookingthe sea spiral staircase on suite bathroom and outside this apparment their was a large balcony with views on three sides ,in the dark it is lovely in the daylight its beautiful.
we stayed all inclusive the food was really good something for everyone and plenty of it so thankyou chef.
the staff mainly young girls were really friendly and nothing was to much for them also the maid who came everyday kept our room spotless thankyou to all of them.
so to sum up our holiday we loved it and we go again and reccomend it defernatley
Maz and Fred

Room Tip: ask for zackinthos if you are a couple
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marion G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stay for a week in May and another week in september , we had a beautiful apartament sea wiew always clean, we had the all inclusive treatament and he food was lovely, a special mention to Crasoula, the manager of the Hotel Sofia always smiling that clean the room and to Manolis that is the chef of the restaurant. Everuthing was beautiful and relaxing, very good 2 minute from the beach

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mikabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for the first five days of our honeymoon and were treated incredibly well by the friendly and efficient staff.
Our room (Kithira) was clean, bright and spacious and there was a fruit plate and a bottle of wine waiting for us in the fridge when we arrived - a nice touch. Our balcony had a sea view and was pleasantly shady by afternoon so a perfect place to sit and enjoy a pre-dinner drink in the evening. The location is fantastic too, just metres from Agios Nikloas's tiny central beach and only a few minutes walk to the "bottomless" lake or the centre of town.
We didn't go for the full all-inclusive deal as we prefer to eat out, but the breakfasts were plentiful and with lots of variety.
Mare Apartments might not be five star luxury, but it is comfortable and very good value.
The service really sets it apart from other hotels or apartment complexes in the same price range. Stavroula on reception and Sofia who did our room were both so helpful and friendly, really making us feel special during our stay. Also after our departure I was dismayed to find I had forgotten a favourite pair of earrings but they were posted back to me at no extra charge.

Room Tip: Emailing in advance and stating what sort of room you want might be a good idea (balcony, sea view e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ClareJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.8 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
800 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
739 reviews
0.3 mi away
Santa Marina Hotel
Santa Marina Hotel
#12 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
522 reviews
0.4 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#14 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
419 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartments
Hotel Palazzo Arhontiko Apartmen...
#16 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mare-Olympus Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mare-Olympus Apartments

Property: Mare-Olympus Apartments
Address: 21-26 Tselepi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Mare Hotel Apartments)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mare-Olympus Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mare Olympus Apartments in Aghios Nikolaos CreteMare Olympus Apartments is an exquisite combination for those questing for tasting the core of the vivid nightlife of the cosmopolitan city of Agios Nikolas as well as the quietness of a blue flag fully organized beach! Being situated in one of the oldest and quieter neighborhoods and next to Kitroplatia beach, our guests may choose to walk around the tiled little streets of the shopping district and it numerous stores or swim in the pebble beach whose waters are so clearly transparent that urchins are visible on the rocks. Just at the other side of the cove, at the end of a tiled ally full of romantic restaurants and cafes, lovers of walking may find a newly created foot path by the sea leading them finally to the organized yacht marina. The property is blessed with extraordinary views of wild Cretan mountains, the Chaene Gorge and the endless blue of the sea that like a carpet extends itself till the eye can see. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Mare-Olympus Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mare Apartments Agios Nikolaos
Mare-Olympus Apartments Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing