We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect food...”
Review of Chrisofyllis

Chrisofyllis
Ranked #14 of 142 Restaurants in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect food...”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We were recommended to go to this restaurant by someone staying at our hotel and have to say we were glad we went.
The food was freshly cooked and delicious. We were under the impression that all the dishes were meze (small) but as we were ordering the waiter stopped us as we had selected 3 large dishes plus a greek salad, which he advised us would be too much so we reselected and were glad we did.
If you go you need to try the garlic potatoes, they are to die for.. They are sliced potatoes cooked with garlic and cheese...
As with the majority of Greek restaurants you are given a dessert at the end of your meal, it was nice here as you had a selection of chopped fresh fruit and not the heavy doughnut or sponges that you often get.
A 2 course meal for 2 with a bottle of wine, 2 beers, 1 ouzo and a bottle of water only came to about 55 euros...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie2102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    292
    116
    22
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Superb and yummy authentic Greek food with friendly and attentive service”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Food is fantastic. Prawns were enormous and very tasty. Courgette flowers were cooked in a way I'd never had before - stuffed with a rice mix - yummy. BBQ was very flavoursome. Full of locals and after eating here I know why. Very friendly too - I asked what out 'neighbours' were eating and was brought some to try. With 2 days to go we will be back for more.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenstars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Really good!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We ended up eating here twice.
Delicious food - huge portions!
Over the two occasions we had the stuffed courgette flowers, farmers sausage, tzatziki, anchovies, sardines, shrimp saganaki, leak and pork risotto, sauteed lamb and honey pork souvlaki. Apparently this is a meze restaurant although the lamb, risotto and pork souvlaki are all main course sized portions. The rest we had were meze style but still big portions which was good. Try not to over order.
Our favourites were the stuffed courgette flowers, the shrimp saganaki (favourite dish of the holiday), the anchovies and the sardines.
The food was delicious and the service was excellent. A good price too.
Also noticed a lot of locals eating here which is always a good sign.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HannahV88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tring, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Why isn't this number one!?”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Agios Nikolaos a couple of weeks ago and this was by far the best meal we had all week. You can't go to Ag Nik and not visit this place! We also went to Piato - the restaurant rated number one on here - and there was no contest. Chrisofyllis won, hands down!

We had dakos (traditional Cretan bread) chicken souvlaki, apaki (smoked pork), grilled vegetables with balsamico and a greek salad and sadly we couldn't finish it all! I cannot rave about this place enough - I'm a really fussy eater and I loved all of it.

The portions are huge, the food is fresh, very reasonably-priced and tasty and the staff are lovely too. What's not to like? Oh, and it's in a very pretty location on Koundourou, looking out to sea.

If you want rustic and authentic Cretan cuisine, then go to Chrisofyllis!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissChoulesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Excellent Greek Meze Taverna Excellent Value”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This is by far one of the best Greek Meze Taverna's I have ever eaten in. Dishes from 2.5 euro to 8 Euro. Great way of sampling a number of different dishes. Great Service and friendly staff. We ended up with about 10 dishes. The Stuffed Zuchine Flowers are a must. To top it all the biggest bottle of Raki with the bill I have ever seen. Outstanding and will be returning. Located just by Kitroplatia Beach.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Looeterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chrisofyllis also viewed

Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
Agios Nikolaos, Lasithi Prefecture
 

Been to Chrisofyllis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing