We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely nothing to miss for non-mardy people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Santa Marina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Santa Marina Hotel
Ranked #11 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Zatec, Czech Republic
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely nothing to miss for non-mardy people!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Beautiful part of the town, very close to the sea and also to the parts of the town not overcrowded by turists. The food - very various choice of only great meals and goodies. But first of all - the staff! Michael, Petros, Giorgos and their team - extremely kind people assisting.
I don't like big hotels, but this one - especially thanks to the staff - anytime again! 8-)

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Otas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you really much for being so kind to feedback in such a gentle and posittive way.
We never stop our try for better and better service.
We would be really happy to welcome you again at ''Santa Marina''.
Kind Regards.
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    158
    85
    51
    39
See reviews for
120
236
34
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2014

like others be carefull this isnt about the santa marina hotel two differant hotels.the santa marna hotel in agios nikolaos is great staff first class food great beach only 1 min away and lovely clear warm water .i went on aug 12th and the weather was in the 50s all week plenty to do and see .from the lake only a 5 min walk away with plenty of eating places and little bars to jet sking on the other beach again only a 15 walk away.over all a great place to go .makes tenereffe and the like look rubbish.hopefully ill be back in crete next time ill try the other end of the island for no reason other than to see more of this georgeous place.by the way ive seen the hotel santa marina beach and its even better than this

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank pitcher56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you really much for being so kind to feedback in such a gentle and positive way.
We are lloking forward to welcome you again at ''Santa Marina''.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Suffolk, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2014

We had actually thought we had booked the Santa Marina Beach hotel, but this hotel was the one on the confirmation so do check the details before pressing the confirm button! We had a lovely time travelling at the end of July, the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially Andreas and Nikos behind the bar. There were a variety of food to choose from every day, and there are spices etc. to add to your food if you want strong flavours, on top of the cabinets where the food is. We had room 115 in the main building, which has a sea view when you look to your left. The rooms was serviced everyday, and nothing seemed too much trouble for the housekeeping staff. Thank you for a wonderful time :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
Dear Mrs Ann,
We are really delighted to accept such a kind and posittive review as yours about our services.
We really appreciate that.
We wish in the future to have the chance to welcome you again.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2014

I was very satisfied with my stay at the santa marina hotel. We stayed in the annex building across the road which apparently was better than the actually buildings rooms, our room was very clean with a flat screen tv cupboards, beds, balcony etc. We also had wifi in our room which was a bonus, the only fault was that our shower had no hook so you had to hold the shower head when washing. The maid came every day changing towels etc.

We spent most of our time at the pool because it was a great suntrap and the pool was great. We went all inclusive meaning we could get as many drinks as we could from 10am to 10pm which was good.

The food was okay. I had spaghetti bolognese every day because it was the only thing I liked however there was a big range of food it just depends on how picky you are. The resturant staff were so lovely and chatty I particularly liked Simon. Also the barmen were nice and helpful but I never found out my favourite ones name:( it might of been along the lines of Luoia or something.

I had a very enjoyable week and would definitely go back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sophie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you really much for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again at ''Santa Marina''.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

We have just come back from a week at the Santa Marina hotel. When we arrived, as we had a long travel, we were offered a plate of sandwiches, but declined this as we were still able to go to the restaurant for dinner. The room was a good size but the shower was a bit small and could have been and should be updated. The food was very good. There was a wide selection of salads, and a variety of main dishes to choose from. There was always at least one different dish a day. Dessert was a selection of fruit, cake, mousses and ice cream. The staff were very friendly and very attentive to all guests. The trip from the airport was long and took about 2 hours as there were a few stops. The location was fantastic with less than a minute walk to the beach. Overall, we had the most amazing time and the service and staff were brilliant and couldn't do enough to help. Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: Try and stay in the main hotel and not the annexe, although the air con in the annexe was much bette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunita .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you really much for being so kind to feedback in such a gentle and positive way.
We are lloking forward to welcome you again at ''Santa Marina''.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
skelton clevland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Weve just returned home after spending a week at this hotel, It was a last minute booking so am not too disappointed in this but I would not pay the full brochure price as it is not worth it, I would recommend going self catering.
We arrived at the hotel about 4.30 in the afternoon and when we got to the reception our room was not ready, we had to wait about half hour. we were then taken by the porter across two busy roads to the annex.
our room was very basic with a double bed and shower room. the bed had only one sheet on which was a single sheet!! there were two pillows and no extra bedding. the shower room was very tiny and the shower had a hook for the shower head but it did not fit as it had a holder so when showering you had to hold the shower head, a bit of a chew when washing your hair!!
the air conditioning worked very well as the temperature on the evening did not go below 33 degrees.
we went for evening meal but I was immediately disappointed, there was not much choice at all so I opted for the spaghetti bolognaise which was very bland I had to flavour it with parmesan. the deserts comprised of two cakes and three mousses also a tray of fruit which comprised of water melon and cantaloupe melon, also ice cream, over the course of the week we dined out four times on an evening as the food was not good at all, it was more or less the same food every day. there was a salad bar which was ok, but the temperature in the dining room was too warm so the fruit was always warm.
the all inclusive drinks comprised of beer, ouzo and whiskey that was it, they offered a cocktail too which was a red one and a blue one!!! nothing else... you had to take your glass back to the bar to get a refill and the free drinks finished at TEN oclock!!!!!!!!!! weve always done all inclusive holidays and four star (we were told this was four star) and the drinks were always finished at eleven or eleven thirty. this was very disappointing,
the staff were amazing they could not be more helpful and were always happy and courteous, the waiter in the annex was lovely. the pool attendant was very nice and seemed to take pride in his workplace. the pool was very small and only a hand full of sunbeds which were VERY uncomfortable as they did not have cushions on them.
Over all it was an ok stay but would not go back here again, the villiage was beautiful with the most stunning views. theres a lake and a marina with lots of shops and tavernas so plenty to see but after a week we had walked everywhere, I think a fortnight would be a bit boring as it is only small but after having temperatures in the 40s it was nice.
on booking out of the hotel our all inclusive bracelets were taken off us!! not good if you have a late flight home as you have to pay for your drinks when you don't have a bracelet,

So that's why I've titled this cheap and cheerful as that what it was.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2008jules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you really much for your feedback.We are very sorry for anything that annoyed you during your stay. We are looking forward to welcome you again at ''Santa Marina''.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2014 via mobile

Santa Marina is a good hotel with excellent service. I came with my brother and parents but we weren't sure what to expect - it's safe to say that we were pleasantly surprised.

I have a severe allergy to nuts and sesame and Eva, the restaurant manager, took care of me very well. The first meal I couldn't have anything except the salad but the day afterwards, I could eat most of the food on offer which was amazing (and very tasty!). She made sure on every meal that I knew exactly what I could and couldn't eat and made my stay worry-free! I also have to mention the rest of the staff (Simon, Petros, Spirdoula, Andreas, Despina etc.) who were very friendly and did a great job with making our stay as comfortable as possible.

The hotel also has a great location with a beautiful sandy beach literally outside the hotel and Almiros golden beach a 10 min walk away. The lake and the city centre are a 5min walk away too and a great place for shopping and for walks along the coast. We were also able to organise a trip to the Aquaplus water park through the hotel which saved us the hassle.

However, one thing I would say is that the air conditioning needs to be improved and the extra beds are a little uncomfortable but the rooms in general were kept clean and everything felt very homely.

All in all I was very happy with my stay at Santa Marina and would absolutely recommend it for anyone holidaying in Crete.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Ragavan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MICHALIS C, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Santa Marina Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you really much for your feedback and we are looking forward to welcome you again at ''Santa Marina''.
Kind Regards,
The Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.6 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
102.8 mi away
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
Santa Marina Beach Hotel
#8 of 31 in Agia Marina
4.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Mistral Bay Hotel
Mistral Bay Hotel
#72 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
3.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#14 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lato Hotel
Lato Hotel
#10 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Santa Marina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Santa Marina Hotel

Property: Santa Marina Hotel
Address: 4 Kapetanaki Roussou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#18 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Santa Marina Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SANTA MARINA HOTEL, 3* superior , is situated in Agios Nikolaos of Crete, one of the most popular and prettiest resorts in Greece. Convenient for demanding business and leisure travelers. Located at a privileged position in the center of the city, only 600m away from the beautiful lake of Agios Nikolaos and only 50m from a sandy beach. The hotel consists of 198 rooms in 2 buildings The main building consists of 126 elegant rooms, fully equipped to meet the needs of the most demanding customers. Each room is furnished with a private bathroom, 110/220 volts for razors, balcony, hairdryer, A/C centrally controlled, direct dial telephone, mini fridge, music channel and satellite TV. All rooms have free cable internet connection. In the lobby there is free WI-FI. Non smoking rooms can be provided upon request. The second building, of 72 rooms, is 40 m away from the main building, opposite of the hotel , has same facilities but also individual A/C, free WI-FI, sat. TV 32", safe in the room, café-bar, and recently renovated modern rooms. All services(reception, meals, swimming pool, main bar) are provided in the main hotel building SANTA MARINA HOTEL also has a warm and elegant lobby-bar, beautiful outdoor bar, indoor & outdoor main restaurant surrounded with plants and trees, TV corner, reception lounge, safe deposit boxes at the reception (charged), internet corner (charged), playroom with various games and billiard, elevator, swimming pool and a sun terrace with sun-beds (FOC) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Santa Marina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Santa Marina Agios Nikolaos
Santa Marina Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing