We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Honeymoon Destination”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for our honeymoon and loved it! We stayed 2 weeks at the end of May, probably not the best time to go as things were just starting to open for the season etc.
The food was great, staff friendly and it was very clean.
It was only a short walk into town and we did a trip to Santorini and to spinalonga - both recommended highly!!!
Would go back tomorrow :)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank NI5HA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace for such a very special occasion and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are very pleased to see, how much you enjoyed your honeymoon and how much you appreciate the friendlyness of our team, the food and the cleanliness. Your kind words are a very nice motivation to continue giving nothing less than just the best to our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again whenever you return to Crete!

With sunny regards and all the best wishes,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (612)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 612 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

Spent 4 night at the Minos Palace and really enjoyed it. Even though the room was probably the cheapest it was minimal but with noticeable touches of style; maybe the "sea view" could have been better but again it was certainly the cheapest room around.
The location is really spectacular and the hotel is kept quite well. Breakfast and dinner were at the best standards available and the personnel manning the dining room were outstanding, from the George (not sure about his name really) to Ioannes and all the younger staff. The chefs were also very friendly and always ready to help. I run into one of the managers and he also was extremely well mannered and friendly.
The small private beach (although there is no private beach in Greece this was so unaccessible that was totally a private beach) was surprisingly very enjoyable and well protected from both winds and waves. The little IXth century chapel on the grounds of the hotel is just a gem.
Only low point was internet access: wifi was less than unreliable, but heck: if you are vacationing you can stay a few days off the grid!
Congrats Minos Palace! A well deserved Excellent score.

Room Tip: Well even mine, that was the cheapest, was very good. If facing east instead of west would have been...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MGS136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you found the relaxation you were looking for. Your kind words for our whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, whenever you decide to come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed in this great hotel for a week at the end of June. We wanted somewhere to get away from our busy lives, no noisy clubs,masses of people,somewhere with peace and quiet, and a bit of indulgence.
We were met by the manager and his friendly staff on our evening arrival,bags were taken to our room ,which was huge and had the most wonderful view of the bay we never got tired of enjoying.
The staff were,without exception, helpful and polite, nothing was too much trouble.The buffet style meals were excellent,with a huge selection, delicious main meals ,wonderful breakfasts.we stayed on a half board basis and enjoyed the beach bar for a drink ,and also the beach restaurant for lunch.before we travelled I did read reviews criticising the food-it's not Michelin star ,but who needs that formality on holiday ,and in such a beautiful setting.THe restaurant looks over the sea, you can sit outside or undercover, which we liked as the breeze was wonderful after a day in the sun.
The grounds are well kept and immaculate. Our room was cleaned daily ,bedding and towels replaced and we had flowers and fresh fruit on arrival-it was our wedding anniversary.
The sunbeds are neatly positioned on the terraces surrounding the hotel, which is on a peninsula, we often were alone or just had a few people nearby.the little beach is great swimming from and is kept clean.no children at this hotel means it very peaceful, and there's no noisy entertainment, though the jazz evening was good, and the World Cup was covered on a large screen for those who wanted to watch.
We ventured into town just once,it's about 25 min walk, and that's ok as it's fairly flat after the hotel hill, but we wanted peace and quiet so stayed at the hotel for the rest of the time.we felt well looked after without it being over the top.in the past we've done very active holidays and my husband was slightly concerned about just relaxing-we left driving licences at home! But he agrees that this was a little bit of paradise.We would certainly visit again.EXcellent all round.

Room Tip: We had a suite which was huge,second floor which gave amazing views of the bay.didnt use the spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Nicky,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you found the deep relaxation you were looking for. Indeed, the satisfaction and the relaxation of our guests is our highest aim and it's really nice, that you also felt this.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again for some relaxing and romantic days in Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

I stayed here with my husband at the beginning of June for 1 week. The hotel is very well run, clean, comfortable, peaceful and relaxing - for adults only, no children allowed, just the occasional cat!

We had a suite comprising of bedroom, bathroom and lounge. Our patio had chairs, a table and 2 sunbeds. This led on to a lovely garden with good views across the sea to the mountains. Our room had a TV, fridge, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. There was plenty of storage space. The air conditioning was the best we have ever had abroad. It was very efficient and quiet.

The pool area was very pleasant with good views and beach/pool towels available from the lifeguard. There were sunbeds and parasols here and at the private beach but one day there just wasn't enough to go round. The private beach was just right and the water was extremely clear and excellent for swimming in. There were water sports available but most people just seemed to want to relax.

The main restaurant had inside seating along with covered and uncovered outside eating areas. Again all had lovely views. The food was excellent and buffet style with plenty of choice. We were on a half board basis and never went hungry. Most nights were themed. There was also a beach taverna but of a very good standard again with delightful views. We did go on the special 5 course romantic evening at the taverna with live music, champagne and a rose! This was excellent and worth paying that bit extra for. There is also a beach bar where the staff were very friendly. You could get toasties, panini's, ice cream and drinks here and the views here were stunning.

Evening entertainment was low key but appropriate for this type of hotel.

Clients tended to be aged 40+ with a few young couples, mainly from Germany, Holland, Belgium and a few British. As part of the Tui group there was always a Tui rep around (not English) who was willing to help everyone.

One older guest fell over outside the hotel and was brought back by a local in his car. The hotel ensured that a local doctor was called and her injuries treated straight away. The Reception staff, cleaners and porters were all very courteous and willing to assist at any time. We met many guests who had been returning for 5, 10, 15, 20 years.

I used the Spa facilities 3 times and found the lady there Fotini to be amazing. Her treatments were wonderful. I had a body scrub followed by full body massage, a facial and Indian head massage. A bit pricey (as to be expected in these hotels), but incredibly relaxing and revitalising.

The little shop was again a bit pricey and stocked mostly ladies clothes and accessories.

We hired a car in England but there are so many car hire agencies in Aghios Nikolas that you can just book whilst there. The hotel will assist with this.

So you may be wondering why I have only given this 4* rather than 5*. To be honest not quite sure but talking about it to other holiday makers they felt the same. Whilst we cannot fault the hotel it just didn't seem to have the "Wow" factor like other places we have stayed in. We think it has to do with the bland decoration particularly in the corridors with it's black and white photography, and in Reception which relies heavily on the views from the large windows. As I said before the rooms were clean and comfortable but not luxurious.

Wi-fi at the hotel was really bad but that seems to be the case in other hotels on the island.

However, if we needed to get away from it all for a week and chill out, then this is probably the place we would return to without hesitation. A very enjoyable holiday and rest.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wasessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are delighted to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you appreciate especially the relaxing and quiet atmosphere, the views, our services and the food. your kind words for our whole team are a big motivation to continue giving nothing less than just the best to our guests and to keep on working in little details.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if one day you return to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

my wife and I stayed at this hotel on the 8th June 2014 we found this hotel lived up to expectation everywhere was very clean the room was fantastic the views stunning. Breakfast plenty of choice as was evening dinner you will not be disappointed with the selection on offer all the staff were brilliant and nothing was too much trouble the hotel is a fair distance to the nearest bar and a good 40min walk to town but the taxis are only 6 euros and on time perhaps for guest with walking difficulties this can be a problem but we coped at 67yrs there are secluded parts of the hotel to sun bathe would I recommend this hotel YES WELL DONE TO ALL THE STAFF perhaps the hotel may introduce a small shop for papers etc and MORE ENGLISH CHANNELS on tv

Room Tip: Pick room 201 fantastic views quiet and it even has a window in the bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank brian h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Brian,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are very pleased to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you found the relaxation you were looking for. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving just the best to our guests. Thank you also very much for your suggestions, which we will follow up.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

This is a superbly run hotel in a fantastic location.
We travelled with Thomson on a 14 night package in June. The majority of guests were German, with a sprinkling of other nationalities. The hotel appears to be owned by Blue GR, who also own Candia Park locally, but is branded under the 'Sensimar' umbrella - a German marque for Tui. The hotel is adults only with most guests being couples average age 40 plus.

The rooms are mostly in low rise buildings with sea views from all angles. They are well appointed and maintained - we found the beds a little firmer than we would like, but a request at reception produced mattress toppers to rectify within a few minutes.

Dining in the main restaurant is a buffet with a good choice every night, with occasional special events. Wine is a reasonable price - most nights we had a half litre of wine and a litre bottle of water which cost 9 & 3 euros respectively. Bottles of wine ranged from 20 euros plus.
Breakfast was excellent with delicious freshly squeezed orange juice and eggs and omelettes prepared to order together with a large range of continental and cooked food. Coffee was topped up by attentive waiting staff.

Entertainment is low key - it is a quiet hotel aimed at the more mature clientele.

The location on the peninsula which give the stunning sea views means that it is a bit of a walk to find things outside the hotel. We tended to walk into town and get a taxi back - but there is a bus stop on the main road. Excursions are available -either through Thomson/Tui. A trip to Spinalonga is a must.

There is a spa but we did not make use of it so am unable to comment - we were too busy enjoying the sun round the pool - sun beds were always available.

High praise is due to the staff who were amazingly efficient and helpful. We had a problem with the room safe - our fault - but a call to reception resulted in staff technician resolving the issue in less than 5 minutes.

This is an excellent hotel which we would have no hesitation to recommend to someone in its target market - we are looking forward to returning

Room Tip: Rooms 200 - 216 have lovely views and get morning sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WMH85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2014

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a nice flight home.

We are delighted to see, that during your well deserved holidays you found the relaxation you were looking for, as the satisfaction and the relaxation of our guests is our highest aim. Your kind words for our whole team are a big motivation to continue giving nothing less than just the best to our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are already looking very forward to see you again!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here in May having booked a suite and were not disappointed. Staff were welcoming, the suite consisted of lounge and bedroom each with a balcony overlooking pool and sea views. The food was excellent and we ate outside every mealtime enjoying beautiful views. We enjoyed the small beach and used the sun beds dotted around rather than those by the pool but there were always plenty available. The entertainment was a bit mixed but it was still early in the season so may improve later. We fully intend to return if possible.

Room Tip: All rooms have good views, choose a suite if you like lots of room. Some rooms have small shared poo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronalds22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2014

Dear Ronald,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for staying with us in Sensimar Minos Palace. We hope you had a save trip home.

We appreciate your kind feedback and are delighted to see, how much you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and especially our food, the views, the quietness and the privacy of our sun bathing platforms and our beach. Please allow us to add, that our entertainment in general is very soft and rather quiet. Our guests are mainly choosing us to find quietness, relaxation and some soft entertainment like e.g. some sports, creative courses, some live music in the evening, etc. and this is what we offer.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, whenever you decide to come back to Crete!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.6 mi away
Hotel Angelos
Hotel Angelos
#40 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
27 reviews
1.0 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
674 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
902 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only

Address: Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#15 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $173 - $357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a rocky headland above the Agios Nikolaos Bay, the Minos Palace enjoys magnificent sea views and is just 2,5 km from the city centre. Sensimar Minos Palace offers 148 units with spectacular views of the Mirabello Bay. The hotel is luxurious but personal, picturesque, having high standards of service and accommodation. Add to this its beautifully landscaped gardens and enviable beach side location. Food & Beverage Facilities: Amalthea Main Restaurant - Indoor & outdoor restaurant located near the pool area. Serving an excellent choice of Greek and International cuisine. Enjoy the table d'hote restaurant with theme evenings offering buffet style also not forgotten are vegetarians & diabetic special menus. Culinarium Inblu Taverna - a tavern overlooking the beach serving lunch, ideal for those seeking al fresco with local specialties. Bacchus Lobby Bar - match your mood for refreshments, coffees or exotic cocktails in an elegant setting by the pool. Island Beach Bar - is the ideal place to relax and socialize, offering exquisite cocktails, hot and cold beverages, light snacks gazing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Palace
Minos Palace Hotel Crete
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing