We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel, not a true 5 star though”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Although this is by far the best hotel I stayed in Greece, it's not a true 5 star. Let's start with the good things. The hotel is located on a peninsula which means almost all rooms face sea. The view in my room was simply spectacular. The best part of this resort was the landscape, gardens and beach/water. The beach was quite small but they found a way to build platforms on the rocks for more sunbeds. The water is very clear and good for snorkeling (beware of the windy days, I made the mistake of going too close to the rocks with my snorkel and fins on such a day and was almost crushed on them by the waves). The hotel also has a very deep pool filled with sea water (2.75 to 3.9m) but I can't understand why the only keep it open from 10 to 18.00 !?. Cleaning was also good and the staff very friendly and helpful. There are 2 main restaurants, one that serves breakfast and dinner and the other, located above the beach only lunch. Both of them had great views and a good selection of foods. While I can't complain about the variety of food, they could have improved the quality. The weakest I've found were juices and fruit yoghurt. The best was the omelette made by a lady in front of you with the whatever vegetables you wanted in. Overall, I've had better breakfast at 4 star hotels in western europe ! The rooms are pretty large and have a huge bed + another small one. The design and finish of the rooms is mediocre and I hated the furniture doors slamming because they didn't install sound dampers. The curtains were amazingly good at keeping the heat away but very close to the door and if you didn't completly pull them to one side, they would get ripped by the door. The bathroom was by me the weakest point of this hotel. They had enough space but yet decided to install a very narrow bathtub which is a pain to use. The sink was also badly designed and difficult to use (sink too far from the edge of the countertop made washing difficult). The fan was really cheap and noisy also !

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuscobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 12, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your stay. We also highly appreciate your open words, as they help us to improve. Please be sure that we will carefully check the points you did not like so much and work on them.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 613 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2013

My family and I had a lovely time at Minos palace hotel great food staff very polite beautiful views what more can one ask for, nice walk into town little bars to just sit in great little shopping parade,taxi to town 6ero's each way lovely and clean and pleasant staff,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank edna54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Edna,

Thank you very much for having been our guest and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant trip home.

We appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to see, that you fourd the relaxation you were looking for and appreciate especially the quiet atmosphere. Your compliments for the whole team are a very big motivation to continue giving just the best for our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

This hotel is a real class act. It is beautifully designed - it makes the best of a wonderful location and has lovely grounds (more of this later). This hotel is very well run; things work as they should. Service is generally smooth and delivered with a smile. Everywhere is squeaky clean and nicely maintained. The food is very good - great quality and presentation, with a lot of options available in a buffet format.

The gardens contain plenty of shady spots with stunning views, and it has a tiny 8th C church of St Nicholas tucked in the grounds (you can borrow the key from Reception to have a look at the remaining frescoes).

It is great option for stop and flop holidays. We enjoyed getting out and about while we were there, but we really appreciated returning our oasis of calm at the end of the day. Its location just outside Ag Nik is very convenient - 5 mins in a taxi (€6), or a 40 min stroll.

Clientele while we were there was a mix of German, Russian and a few Brits. We loved it and we'd be very happy to go back.

Room Tip: Suites are quite spacious - with private terraces and little private garden areas, perfect for serio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JEBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

Your compliments for the whole team are a very big motivation to continue giving only the best for our guests. The satisfaction and the deep relaxation of our guests is our highest aim and it's nice to see, that you also felt this.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night only before cruise ! It was pleasant, just on the beach,nice stuff!
The breakfast had a very nice surprise The Cretan Brekfast with nice bread, biscuits , nuts, honey, olive confiture, tomatos
Like it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaMariaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

Dear Ana Maria Cristina,

Thank you very much for having been our guests and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your night in Sensimar Minos Palace and loved especially the location and the breakfast.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon and also, that you stay a bit longer with us.

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

minos palace was everything the thomson brochure advertised and more, the staff from the maids upto the receptionist were all very friendly and most helpful.
Our room was spaceious and we had a good sea view, ROOM 230
The food was exellent with plenty of choice,we were half board but we still found amply choice for lunch with in the hotel bars
we would go back again .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2013

Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for visiting Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and appreciate especially the service and the food. Your compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed from the 28th July to 8th August and yes the hotel has a relaxing and calming atmoshphere, but I am sorry it's not paradise.

The room we booked was not a sea view it looked over an inlet were locals moored boats and the view was of the local supermarket and restaurants, we did have mountains in the distance but it's not the panoramic views we read about in the hotel blurb.

My biggest gripe is that the British are not really catered for as the hotel was full of German's and Russians and this is noticeable in the level of service. Maybe the bailout from the EU needs to be explained to the Greeks that the UK is part of the EU and is a significant financial contributor and some of the bailout money is from the UK.

If you want peace and quiet I would recommend this hotel but " It's not Paradise".

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms over looking the front of the hotel, we had a poor view and our room was clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camera1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Sensimar Minos Beach and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant trip home.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the calming and relaxing atmosphere.

We are very sorry that we did not fulfil your personal expectations in some other points and ask you for our sincere apologise. Kindly note, that sea view does not automatically mean that you have the full panoramic view to the sea without seeing something else. In your case, you were overlooking the small bay with the tiny fisher boats, which definetely belongs to the sea.

In Sensimar Minos Palace, all guests are warmly welcome and most guests are very satisfied with our services. Although most of our guests are from Germany, Switzerland and Austria, we have also many British guests same as guests from other countries.

Dear guests, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again for some relaxing days!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

but our stay was for 2 weeks and for the 1st time ever, we were keen to get home from holiday. Positives were - the staff who were great, helpful and friendly; the lovely outside dining areas; quiet relaxed atmosphere; the views; only e6 for taxi back from town.
Negatives were - the distance to town - it is an easy walk but very hot as there isn't much shade; the food was repetitive and although breakfast was great, dinner was a struggle; anything freshly carved was rationed out in tiny portions. Our room was a good size but with broken wardrobe doors and a mouldy bathroom it was in need of an update, the bed was very uncomfortable. There are plenty of sunbeds but not enough parasols for shade.

Beware that the Thomson excursion coach will not come up to pick up and drop off at the hotel (though they do on arrival and leaving). You need to go down to the main road for pick up and drop off, which can be a hot trek.
The entertainment was dreadful a keyboard player with awful Satcmo/Chris Rea impressions was the worst, also how can 'dance night' be a laptop playing mp3s?; The one night there was to be some greek music and dancing, most guests couldn't see what was happening as it was situated out of sight around the corner of the L shaped terrace.

All in all we have had better hotels, but the wonderful staff made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Dear Jill,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked especially the service, the relaxing atmosphere and the outside dining areas. Also the weaker points of your review found our full attention. Please be sure that we will work on them, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Thank you for informing us about those details!

Kindly note, that the distance to the center of Agios Nikoaos is clearly mentioned in all hotel descriptions of the touroperators. Please understand, that we cannot influence the weather conditions and that we also cannot provide more shade on the public roads.

For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again if one day you decide to return to Crete!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.6 mi away
Hotel Angelos
Hotel Angelos
#41 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
27 reviews
1 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
675 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#17 of 35 in Elounda
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only

Address: Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $174 - $361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a rocky headland above the Agios Nikolaos Bay, the Minos Palace enjoys magnificent sea views and is just 2,5 km from the city centre. Sensimar Minos Palace offers 148 units with spectacular views of the Mirabello Bay. The hotel is luxurious but personal, picturesque, having high standards of service and accommodation. Add to this its beautifully landscaped gardens and enviable beach side location. Food & Beverage Facilities: Amalthea Main Restaurant - Indoor & outdoor restaurant located near the pool area. Serving an excellent choice of Greek and International cuisine. Enjoy the table d'hote restaurant with theme evenings offering buffet style also not forgotten are vegetarians & diabetic special menus. Culinarium Inblu Taverna - a tavern overlooking the beach serving lunch, ideal for those seeking al fresco with local specialties. Bacchus Lobby Bar - match your mood for refreshments, coffees or exotic cocktails in an elegant setting by the pool. Island Beach Bar - is the ideal place to relax and socialize, offering exquisite cocktails, hot and cold beverages, light snacks gazing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Orbitz so you can book your Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Palace
Minos Palace Hotel Crete
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing