We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good beach location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sensimar Minos Palace
Ranked #4 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Bucharest, Romania
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good beach location and service”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night only before cruise ! It was pleasant, just on the beach,nice stuff!
The breakfast had a very nice surprise The Cretan Brekfast with nice bread, biscuits , nuts, honey, olive confiture, tomatos
Like it!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMariaCristina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Ana Maria Cristina,

Thank you very much for having been our guests and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you enjoyed your cruise and had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your night in Sensimar Minos Palace and loved especially the location and the breakfast.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon and also, that you stay a bit longer with us.

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    151
    48
    18
    8
See reviews for
55
387
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

minos palace was everything the thomson brochure advertised and more, the staff from the maids upto the receptionist were all very friendly and most helpful.
Our room was spaceious and we had a good sea view, ROOM 230
The food was exellent with plenty of choice,we were half board but we still found amply choice for lunch with in the hotel bars
we would go back again .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Christine,

Thank you very much for visiting Sensimar Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and appreciate especially the service and the food. Your compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfeild
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We stayed from the 28th July to 8th August and yes the hotel has a relaxing and calming atmoshphere, but I am sorry it's not paradise.

The room we booked was not a sea view it looked over an inlet were locals moored boats and the view was of the local supermarket and restaurants, we did have mountains in the distance but it's not the panoramic views we read about in the hotel blurb.

My biggest gripe is that the British are not really catered for as the hotel was full of German's and Russians and this is noticeable in the level of service. Maybe the bailout from the EU needs to be explained to the Greeks that the UK is part of the EU and is a significant financial contributor and some of the bailout money is from the UK.

If you want peace and quiet I would recommend this hotel but " It's not Paradise".

Room Tip: Try and avoid the rooms over looking the front of the hotel, we had a poor view and our room was clo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camera1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Sensimar Minos Beach and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant trip home.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the calming and relaxing atmosphere.

We are very sorry that we did not fulfil your personal expectations in some other points and ask you for our sincere apologise. Kindly note, that sea view does not automatically mean that you have the full panoramic view to the sea without seeing something else. In your case, you were overlooking the small bay with the tiny fisher boats, which definetely belongs to the sea.

In Sensimar Minos Palace, all guests are warmly welcome and most guests are very satisfied with our services. Although most of our guests are from Germany, Switzerland and Austria, we have also many British guests same as guests from other countries.

Dear guests, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again for some relaxing days!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

but our stay was for 2 weeks and for the 1st time ever, we were keen to get home from holiday. Positives were - the staff who were great, helpful and friendly; the lovely outside dining areas; quiet relaxed atmosphere; the views; only e6 for taxi back from town.
Negatives were - the distance to town - it is an easy walk but very hot as there isn't much shade; the food was repetitive and although breakfast was great, dinner was a struggle; anything freshly carved was rationed out in tiny portions. Our room was a good size but with broken wardrobe doors and a mouldy bathroom it was in need of an update, the bed was very uncomfortable. There are plenty of sunbeds but not enough parasols for shade.

Beware that the Thomson excursion coach will not come up to pick up and drop off at the hotel (though they do on arrival and leaving). You need to go down to the main road for pick up and drop off, which can be a hot trek.
The entertainment was dreadful a keyboard player with awful Satcmo/Chris Rea impressions was the worst, also how can 'dance night' be a laptop playing mp3s?; The one night there was to be some greek music and dancing, most guests couldn't see what was happening as it was situated out of sight around the corner of the L shaped terrace.

All in all we have had better hotels, but the wonderful staff made our stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Jill,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and liked especially the service, the relaxing atmosphere and the outside dining areas. Also the weaker points of your review found our full attention. Please be sure that we will work on them, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim. Thank you for informing us about those details!

Kindly note, that the distance to the center of Agios Nikoaos is clearly mentioned in all hotel descriptions of the touroperators. Please understand, that we cannot influence the weather conditions and that we also cannot provide more shade on the public roads.

For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again if one day you decide to return to Crete!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed here from 25th June to 9th July and we had a fabulous time, We had booked a suite as we had our teenage daughter with us and when we arrived we found that the hotel had upgraded our room to one with a private shared pool,,,,fantastic !! It was an amazing room (233) and we will definitely return and book the same room as well. Hotel very well run, management are hands on ensuring a well organised hotel. We found the staff to be very courteous, polite and friendly - all of them, Maria on reception - thank you ! I found it hard to find fault, food is very high standard, good veggie options as well for our daughter. There are international dishes, I prefer even more Greek food options, but they have to cater to all tastes I suppose. I have never felt compelled to write a review of any holiday, but we fell in love with this place, same again as soon as possible for us ! Well done to all at Minos Palace.

Room Tip: Room with private shared pool.....it's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riccardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Riccardo,

Thank you very much for making Sensimar Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and liked especially the room, the food and the service. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and it is nice to see, that you also felt this. Please be sure that we will forward your big compliments also to our team, as we think that this is the nicest way of additional motivation.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Great quiet hotel, great staff and great value.

The staff is very professional, they are kind and will assist you with anything.

Rooms are great too, aircon'd, clean and the toilet seats are REPLACED after the last visitor. Great view from room 178 as well (180 degree sea view).

Access to the town is easy, but not doable by foot - you'll have to pay 6 euros flat rate to go to the town.

One of the small downsides were that the WiFi was a bit unstable, however, this was taken note of for us.

Another point was that their range of vegitarian food was pretty poor at some nights at the buffet, which was a minus.

Bottom line: calm hotel, great staff, food is OK, no big complaints.

Warmly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arco123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for staying with us in Sensimar Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

It is nice to see, that you enjoyed a relaxing and peaceful holiday and that you liked especially the quiet atmosphere and the service. Your big compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best for our guests. Thank you also very much for your remark concerning the WiFi and be sure that we will work on it.

Please allow us to mention, that the center from Agios Nikolaos is reachable by foot in app. 20 - 30 minutes. Of course in summer, when it's very warm, it's more comfortable to take a taxi at least on the way back.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is an adult only hotel and if you want peace and quiet it's definitely the place to go. The food is excellent with plenty of choice and the staff are friendly and efficient. We had a sea view suite which was very private and had two sun loungers and table and chairs on the patio so if you didn't want to go to the beach or pool you could relax outside your room. The views are stunning from the dining area and it's a pleasure to eat in such beautiful surroundings. It was my birthday whilst there and my husband arranged a private dinner under one of the canopies overlooking the sea with waiter service which was very special and romantic. The Spa is also worth a visit as the therapist was very professional and made the treatments relaxing. The entertainment was very amateurish and to be honest not worth listening to. It would have been nice just to have some Greek music playing in the background instead of Greeks singing 'I did it my way' in a strange tempo and accent. The piano player was particularly bad. That being said, we weren't particularly put out by the entertainment but would have preferred nothing whilst enjoying an after dinner drink.

Room Tip: I would recommend the suites and there are also some with private swimming pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSHLichfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

It was a big honour for us to welcome you for your birthday and we are pleased to read, that you enjoyed our little surprise. We are also very thankful for your comments concerning the entertainment, as they help us to improve. A very soft entertainment is part of our concept, but be sure that we will rethink about the live music.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Sensimar Minos Palace Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
67.1 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
1.0 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#5 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
576 reviews
20.5 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#3 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
856 reviews
0.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Minos Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Minos Palace

Property: Sensimar Minos Palace
Address: Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#4 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#15 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Minos Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a rocky headland above the Agios Nikolaos Bay, the Minos Palace enjoys magnificent sea views and is just 2,5 km from the city centre. Sensimar Minos Palace offers 148 units with spectacular views of the Mirabello Bay. The hotel is luxurious but personal, picturesque, having high standards of service and accommodation. Add to this its beautifully landscaped gardens and enviable beach side location. Food & Beverage Facilities: Amalthea Main Restaurant - Indoor & outdoor restaurant located near the pool area. Serving an excellent choice of Greek and International cuisine. Enjoy the table d'hote restaurant with theme evenings offering buffet style also not forgotten are vegetarians & diabetic special menus. Culinarium Inblu Taverna - a tavern overlooking the beach serving lunch, ideal for those seeking al fresco with local specialties. Bacchus Lobby Bar - match your mood for refreshments, coffees or exotic cocktails in an elegant setting by the pool. Island Beach Bar - is the ideal place to relax and socialize, offering exquisite cocktails, hot and cold beverages, light snacks gazing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Bookgreece.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Minos Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Palace
Minos Palace Hotel Crete
Sensimar Minos Palace Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing