We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heaven!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed at the Minos Palace from the 9th - 16th June and thoroughly loved it. I came back to the UK feeling like I had a holiday, was refreshed and chilled!

The staff were fantastic and really made our holiday - Georgie, Andreas and Ritsa kept us entertained with their stories, local knowledge and antics. They really are a credit to the hotel.

The hotel is beautiful. My boyfriend lived at the beach bar as they played music, he could have a chilled beer and look out over the sea. There was a constant breeze as the hotel is on a peninsula, which was very welcomed on the hot days! The pool is small but adequate for a quick dip. It is a salt water pool, so nice to have a little float about in.

The food was brilliant, lots of choice - meat, fish, veg, pasta, salads etc. The BBQ on our last night was yum - lamb chops, chicken kebabs, a whole roasted suckling pig! We had lunch in the Taverna which was also very nice.

Our room was cleaned every day, had a huge balcony and a gorgeous view over the harbour.

Drinks were an average price in the hotel and in the bars in Ag Nik, around 5 euros for a pint of local beer, 7 euros for a cocktail... There are bars in town that do 'Happy Hour' up until 10pm, where you get 2 4 1 on drinks. Alexandros is a cheesy 80's rooftop disco style bar, Yiannis is a rock bar, we loved Puerto - played a mix of music, good mojito's and lovely people. There are loads of restaurants around the lake, serving a variety of cuisines. You can walk in to town which takes around half an hour or jump in a taxi which costs 6 euros.

Entertainment at the hotel was okay... we are in our 30's, so was a bit 'mature' for us, but got in to it after a few drinks! There was a 'piano man', a jazz duo, 'Disco Fox' (which consisted of an ipod being plugged in..). There were also themed nights, such as the Gala night' where all the staff were thanked for their hard work, guests were asked to dress in black and white and we had champagne and canapés on arrival for dinner. There was also the 'Sunset dinner' where we were asked to wear something yellow, orange or white and had the bbq etc.

Definitely worth getting a car or quad and exploring Elounda and Plaka. Both beautiful places with nice beaches and stunning views.

All in all, we loved this place and can't wait to book up for 2 weeks next year. :)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hayley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Hayley,

Thank you very much for making Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasent trip home.

It's nice to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and also took the chance to explore the region. Your big compliments with pleasure we will forward to our team, as this is the nicest way to say "Thank you" and of course also a big motivation.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

203 - 209 of 613 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2013

We chose carefully before booking a two week holiday, checked TripAdvisor, other websites etc.. The travel agent’s website had photographs of a ‘Sea View Suite’ which showed contemporary furnishings, a full length mirror, everything looking modern and stylish.

We arrived and found out we had been ‘upgraded’ to a superior suite which was larger than the one we had booked and also had a ‘private’ pool. On the face of it, a very nice upgrade, but the on first seeing the room it was quite different. The furniture was of dark wood, the décor was dated; it was not the room we had booked.

Now, at the end of our two week stay, we realise that this HAS been a very nice upgrade.

Apart from some dodgy after dinner musicians (but then of course you can skip it and go and sit somewhere else!) the rest of my review is all positive:

The views from all around the hotel are superb. The hotel and grounds are all very spacious; there are lots of areas to sit in the day or at night without it feeling crowded. Meals are a pleasure as you can take a table over-looking Agios Nikolaos or face the sea with the distant mountains on the horizon. The food is very good and although it tends to be similar dishes at each sitting, there is plenty of choice as it’s a buffet affair so you can chose what you like . If you want table service, there is another restaurant overlooking the beach which is open (some / most?) evenings. There is also a beach bar serving drinks and cheese toasties during the day, again with superb views. For a fee, a water-sports guy near the beach will take you by (taxi) boat and drop you off right into the centre of Agios Nikolaos - well worth a trip.

All of the staff have been very friendly and are a credit to the hotel. The average holiday-maker age must be late fifties. We are late forties, but came because we wanted peace and quiet for two weeks and that’s what we got. The hotel is clearly catering for the German market as the TV is mostly in German with one BBC news channel. There is free WiFi throughout the hotel. There is not an iron / ironing board in the room. The hotel does not have one you can use; so either iron all your stuff before you come, pay to have the laundry service sort it out, or just go for that creased look.

Finally, perhaps I should point out that during our stay we also visited the neighbouring St. Nicholas Bay Resort, the Minos Beach Art Hotel, the Candia Park Village and the Elounda Beach Hotel for meals / drinks and although all of them are excellent hotels, we were very happy to be staying at the Minos Palace. ‘Thank you’ to everyone there!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Crustyfur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for choosing Minos Palace. We hope you had a relaxed flight home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and it's nica to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and liked especially the location and the service. With pleasure we will forward your compliments to our team, as we think that this is the nicest way to say "Thank you" and of course also a big motivation.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We stayed 4 days in this resort and really liked it a lot! We really want to emphasize the outstanding food and very nice restaurant area. We found prices to be standard ( eur 25 pp for buffet, ca 3,5 eur for a beer/coffee and between eur 20-30 for a bottle of nice Cretan wine - plenty of choice)
We had a room with shared pool which I can definitely recommend since, at least in our opinion, the main pool area could do with some more 'green' (grass, trees, etc...). The terraces on these rooms have fantastic view and the shared pools are big so they're almost private.
Beach area and bar are indeed very enjoyable.
Staff in general is very friendly and the hotel and gardens are well maintained
All in all a if you're looking for some peace and quiet in a cosy resort with great food this is it.

Room Tip: rooms with shared pool offer very good value for money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBB188636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Minos PAlace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are pleased to read that even in those few days you were here you fond the relaxation you were looking for. Indeed our sharing pools are quite big, because we want to offer the maximum of privacy to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see again and that next time you will stay a little bit longer!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Lovely hotel with own beach and a 30-40 minute walk into the centre of town - plenty of bars and restaurants on the way tho! Drinks in the hotel are very very expensive - 27 euros for a carafe of house wine versus 9 euros in town. Staff friendly especially beach bar. Biggest bug bear is lack of sunloungers and people leaving towels on for hours whilst they go off and do who knows what. There is even a notice in your hotel room telling you that towels will be removed if you leave them unattended for long periods - this NEVER happened. The hotel needs to invest in more sunloungers and enforce their own policy to stop this issue which is really disappointing in a 5* hotel. Plenty of choice at the breakfast and evening meal buffet with great service. Overall a lovely hotel but its time this world wide problem with sunloungers is resolved once and for all!

Room Tip: Take the local boat trip from town to Spinalonga - great value at 15 euros and an english speaking g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoeyBingley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear Joey,

Thank you very much for choosing Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you spent a nice holiday. Thank you also very much for your suggestion concerning the sunloungers. Please allow us to add, that we really have plenty of sunloungers by the beach, on the sun bathing platforms all around the hotel and by the pool. We even provide more sunloungers than beds, so there is absolutely no need for reservations. Normally our guests also know this and act accordingly, but we will have an eye on it.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The Minos Palace Hotel lived up to its description, a beautiful setting with the architecture of the buildings sculpted into the natural rise, from the sea, of the rocky landscape, all located at the end of a fairly short peninsular. The paths and walls throughout the delightful gardens are constructed from natural stone and snake around the grounds allowing some very pleasant little walks. There are lots of Olive Trees, flowering shrubbery and well maintained hedges.
The paths and walkways also give easy access to the private sandy beach and the Beach Bar. We found there to be just an adequate number of sun loungers, although the most popular locations were claimed quite early. The well maintained beach gave access to a beautifully clear sea if still a bit chilly in early June, but great once you were in! Fresh water showers were available on level paved areas and there was a changing hut too. Water sports were available from a staffed cabin in the beach area and the service at the beach bar was second to none, a great place to just relax.

The main pool is situated on the upper level of the grounds, just yards from reception and the main restaurant and bar, surrounded by lawned gardens with Olive trees and Palms. The pool whilst a single entity, had two very deep sections divided by a narrow strip, although that was quite deep too. Great for serious swimmers, but a little too deep if you just wanted to cool off and stand around chatting in the water.

Rooms are spacious with a huge bed and everything else you would expect to find, mini bar, fridge, tea and coffee making facilities, well appointed bathroom with a good strength shower and large balconies. Room 143 was a little disappointing, as having paid for a sea view, (most rooms have a good view anyway and I would guess nearly all have some kind of view of the water as the hotel has the sea around three quarters of the grounds, being on the end on the peninsular), this room had a greatly obstructed direct view which was a shame.

It is a quiet and relaxing location, adults only and no disturbance from anywhere else. The staff were very good, nothing seemed too much trouble and they went out of their way to help. There is a variety of accommodation styles, rooms within the main building through to pool side rooms and bungalows located in the grounds. Whilst the grounds are extensive, we missed having a local town or village to walk around in the evening, Agios Nikolaos, the nearby resort was about a mile and a half away and whilst we walked there and back a quite few times, it's a little bit too far for just a casual stroll. We did find a couple of very pleasant little bars locally and the "Galley" had a great "free" wifi signal which proved very handy as the hotel signal wasn't always great. Taxis aren't too expensive and the quality of cabs and service levels were both very good. There is a local bus service too.

The food was good and there was plenty of it at both breakfast and dinner, we didn't worry about lunch as we really didn't need it, although there was an option to have lunch at the Taverna located close to the private beach in the hotel grounds and snacks were available both at the main bar and beach bar.

We were very satisfied and enjoyed our holiday. One tip we found was that the boat trips were much better value from the local harbour in the town, an example being the trip to Spinalonga at 15 euros, a very interesting half day excursion and very good value for money.

Do not expect to enjoy the departure process at Heraklion Airport, it's awful, Crete really does need bigger and better facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RK987654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for choosing Minos Palace and for sharing you detailled experiences with other travellers and for giving them helpful hints. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

It's nice to see that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and appreciate especially the facilities and the quietness you found in Minos Palace. Your compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best for our guests.

Our main pool indeed is quite deep. The advantage is, that also the very hot months like July and August the water temperature remains fresh.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerly
Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We've been to the Minos Palace 4 times now and each time it doesn't disappoint. The location is superb, sited on a peninsula and with its own beach and lovely grounds. The food is buffet and there is plenty of choice, perhaps the buffet is smaller than it used to be but we have no complaints about the quality and range.
We had a superb room with an infinity view of the sea which was a delight to wake up to each morning.
There are activities going on around the hotel if you want them, including exercise classes.
I had a massage in the Spa and can honestly say it's the best i've ever had.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Judith,

Thank you very much for returning to Minos Palace and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are very pleased to read that you again spent a nice holiday in Minos Beach and that you found the relaxation you were looking for. The satisfaction and the relaxation of our guests is our highest aim and it's nice to see, that you also felt this.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and it will be even a bigger pleasure to see you again soon!

With sunny regards from Agios Nikolaos,
Yours sincerly
Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We arrived at the Minos Palace at midnight, so had missed dinner, but there were plated-up cold meat and salad platters and a bottle of wine to welcome us to our room. We also received a voucher for €20 off food at the hotel's beach taverna. One could also opt to forgo dinner any night to receive a €20 taverna lunch voucher, and we did this on several days to enable us to eat 'out' in the evening, and also as we generally preferred the more genuine Greek food served here as opposed to the good quality but fairly monotonous evening buffet (the breakfasts were very nice, a massive selection of hot and cold food and the most stunning views if you choose to eat on the terrace). All the hotel staff were all very friendly and helpful, and any problem or enquiry that arose was dealt with promptly and efficiently.
The location of the hotel, on a peninsular, is spectacular, and the views too! The rear of the hotel looks out over the seemingly endless seas of the Mirabello Bay, and the front of the hotel looks across a watery inlet to the very picturesque town of Agios Nikolaos.
Our room looked out over the pool area and Mirabello Bay. The room itself was comfortable but we were a little disappointed as we felt the brochure pictures had implied the rooms were larger than they are. We also only had the bed and one small armchair, so tv viewing wasn't very comfortable, not that we watched tv all week as there wasn't a single English channel, though there were several German ones :-( It was generally very peaceful sitting on our balcony of an evening, apart from one night when the noise from the '90s night' disco downstairs was rather annoying. Beware as well a few mosquitos on the balcony in the evenings.
The hotel grounds are exceptionally well mainained. The pool area was clean and peaceful, with plenty of sun beds and parasols, a nice change from the usual morning scramble for sun beds at other hotels! There were also various small more private sunbathing areas dotted around the cliff side on the way own to the beach. The beach itself was small, and the greyish sand not very appealing, but again there were plenty of sunbeds and parasols, and the sea was gloriously clear and turquoise (except occasionally when the wind blew rubbish from Ag Nik and passing boats into the cove). The grounds of the hotel are quite hilly, and to get down (and more so up) to the beach and taverna could prove a bit of a problem for anyone with mobility issues.
The walk into Ag Nik is a gentle 20+ minutes stroll, all paved, with various mini markets and tavernas along the route. The town itself is definitely worth a visit and there are many restaurants around the harbour and the 'bottomless lake'. There is a bus from the main road to the town, and to Elounda the opposite direction, which seems to run hourly, till about 9pm.
Altogether a lovely hotel if you just want to relax, and the grounds and views are stunning. Would definitely recommend. A lovely honeymoon location!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Dear Sue,

Thank you very much for making Minos Palace the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays in Minos Palace and that you liked especially the location and the views. We are also very thankful for your suggestions, as they help us to improve. Concerning the beach we want to add, that our watersports team is doing its best to keep the sea clean and every day they are going out with small boats in order to collect the stuff, what the sea and the wind occasionally is bringing to us.

Dear Sue, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and it will be even a bigger pleasure to see you again soon!

With sunny regards from Agios Nikolaos,
Yours sincerly
Minos Palace Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.6 mi away
Hotel Angelos
Hotel Angelos
#40 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
27 reviews
1 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
675 reviews
3.5 mi away
Elounda Bay Palace
Elounda Bay Palace
#16 of 35 in Elounda
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Royal Marmin Bay Boutique & Art Hotel
0.2 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
0.3 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#3 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only

Address: Thesi Nisi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $172 - $362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only 5*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a rocky headland above the Agios Nikolaos Bay, the Minos Palace enjoys magnificent sea views and is just 2,5 km from the city centre. Sensimar Minos Palace offers 148 units with spectacular views of the Mirabello Bay. The hotel is luxurious but personal, picturesque, having high standards of service and accommodation. Add to this its beautifully landscaped gardens and enviable beach side location. Food & Beverage Facilities: Amalthea Main Restaurant - Indoor & outdoor restaurant located near the pool area. Serving an excellent choice of Greek and International cuisine. Enjoy the table d'hote restaurant with theme evenings offering buffet style also not forgotten are vegetarians & diabetic special menus. Culinarium Inblu Taverna - a tavern overlooking the beach serving lunch, ideal for those seeking al fresco with local specialties. Bacchus Lobby Bar - match your mood for refreshments, coffees or exotic cocktails in an elegant setting by the pool. Island Beach Bar - is the ideal place to relax and socialize, offering exquisite cocktails, hot and cold beverages, light snacks gazing the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Minos Palace
Minos Palace Hotel Crete
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing