We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasure once again!”
Review of Lato Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lato Hotel
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Just back from the Lato once again but this time two weeks just weren't enough so we booked three! This says it all really as George, George and Vangellis continue to upgrade the Lato and keep their customers more than happy. As in previous years we met up with lots of returning guests as well as new customers who were delighted and intend to return. While the hotel is only 2.5 star , the welcome and service are 5star and Janette and Yannis and the lovely friendly breakfast ladies add greatly to the team. This year George's lovely sister Mia spoiled us with her fabulous homemade cakes and pastries as well as homemade marmalades. The peach cake is out of this world and I only wish I had the recipe. A terrific base for visiting Agios Nikolaos, Elounda, Plaka and this year we even booked a trip to Santorini. Looking forward to next year already, thank you so much for our favourite room once again and all your kindness and good luck for the rest of the season.

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view at the front of the hotel, it's breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greecefanatic-9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 478 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2013

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a weeks holiday at the Lato hotel. This was our first time visiting AgNik and we were not disappointed!
First of the all the hotel...rated as a 2 star...but it delivers much more than that! The rooms were perfect for what we needed, basic and clean! They were cleaned everyday by the very friendly cleaners...even helping us out when we locked our key in the room! The pool area is quiet and kept very clean, you never have to fight for space around the pool (despite it not being very large). Pool bar is lovely, the snacks are great and are huge portions (Jeanette is great!) All of the staff are lovely and helpful. Breakfast is basic but there is enough choice!
The surrounding area is fantastic! The hotel is about 20mins walk to the town (5euros for a taxi) but the walk is lovely. The town is great...not too quiet but not too lively...its a great in between, perfect for everyone (unless you want falling over yourself clubbing...go to Malia...)
For restaurants we would definitely recommend Bokos, Piato and Pelagos! If you want to spend a bit more Migomis is definitely worth a visit! Check out Toedeledokie for lunch!! Also do the semi-submarine boat trip!
All in all we had a fantastic holiday. It was relaxing during the day and a bit more upbeat in the evenings. The Lato is fantastic, everyone is so friendly and its so clean! That's the main thing for a 2 star...if you want a luxurious complex...go to a 5star...this hotel is excellent for what it claims to be...DON'T let bad reviews put you off...we had no complaints!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondraE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I are at the Lato and it's so understarred it's unreal. Everybody at the hotel is so friendly and helpful. The rooms are cleaned daily. There is slight traffic noise if you're in one of the front facing rooms of the hotel but it isn't offputting or overloud in my opinion. The pool area is well maintained and very clean. Jeanette is a star, cooking snacks during the day, where nothing is too much trouble and "manning" the bar from 6 to 9pm.The walk into Ag Nik for all other restaurants and nightlife isn't unpleasant and would only take around 15 minutes if you didn't stop at any of the bars or restaurants on the way. A taxi back is still a standard price of only €5. There's restaurants and bars close by at reasonable prices offering very good food and drinks. Particularly good nearby are the Knossos restaurant where Vasillis and his dad make you feel very welcome and the food is very good. Also the Galley bar where the food is good and again nothing is too much trouble. There are a couple of small beaches closeby too for relaxation or stay round the pool to tan-up.

Room Tip: Room 204 if you can get it is probably the best in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sprokit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We stopped here for a few nights as a couple during our tour of the island. We came here because we'd found it such good value on a previous visit a few years back. It didn't disappoint us. It's a lovely family run hotel. Friendly welcome and help with cases from reception. Nice high sea view room as requested. Ok, it's far from in its first flush of youth and fairly basic, but that's exactly what we expected and paid for. Nice enough room with a balcony we used late evening to sit quietly in the cool - the aircon needed assistance with a through breeze. Decent sized fridge and sky news on the tv. Just a shower. Great views across the beautiful bay. The hotel is well cleaned. The pool area is lovely and we enjoyed using it and having a drink now and then. The walk in to town is really enjoyable. Wander in, walk round a few shops, have a drink or two and watch the world go by and then wander back. This is a great base to visit the local sights and beaches from. We ate at the restaurants near by on the way to town - we ate very well. We slept well here. It was fairly quiet despite being on a fairly busy road. Breakfast was excellent. Not a massive choice, but good wholesome fresh food - typical Greek fare. A nice shaded outside area to eat it. We enjoyed our stay here again, it's beautiful, and will no doubt be back in the future.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank johnboySheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

great holiday was had by all at this hotel x good location in a lovely resort x nothing too much trouble for jeanette behind the bar keeping us in cocktails x pool and sunbeds very inviting x would definatly return x

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scoobl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed for a week with daughter and 2 grandkids. Fantastic small hotel, clean, smart, attentive staff who loved the kids. Great small pool area but large enough for the number of guests. Great views over bay to Ag Nic. Nice bar area and the included breakfast with homemade Jams and yoghurt were brill. Will look forward to returning in the future

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sldav15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We had read the reviews about the Lato Hotel on Tripadvisor before we booked this hotel as a Thomas Cook Package holiday. It was our first time in Crete. ( Crete is huge and very beautiful ).
This hotel is priced at two stars but provides 3 star facilities and 4 star service. Many of the guests we met had been several times before. We had room 102 which had a lovely sea view at no extra cost. The rooms are basic but spotlessly clean and linen and towels are changed regularly. Water pressure is very good so showers are lovely and there is an effective, though not very powerful, built in hair dryer in the bathroom. Air con is 5 euros per day extra and is a must. The air con is very effective and the night time quiet mode works really well.
Breakfasts are good with a selection of hot and cold food which you serve yourself to as much as you like. Lunchtime snacks are prepared by the lovely English lady Jeanette ( more of her later ) and are reasonably priced and very tasty. The pool is quite small but fits the size of this small hotel and so sun bathing and swimming are never a hassle and the pool itself was very clean, as were the poolside areas.
The one criticism I have is that in Crete there are lots of insects called cicades, which make a huge amount of noise during the day ( silent at night thank goodness ! ). These sit on trees and make a loud chirping noise all day. In whatever class of hotel , and even the beaches which have trees these pesky insects are there. I used ear plugs which completely eradicated the noise, my partner and the kids had ipods with ear phones , so they were not bothered and others told me you learn to block out the noise after a while. But it was annoying to me before I started to use ear plugs.
Before going out each night we drank at the Lato bar during happy hour ( 6pm to 8pm ). Here Jeanette serves the most amazing cocktails ( rather strong and good value for money ! ) along with a good range of other draught and bottled beers, ciders and soft drinks.
On the Wednesday we had a BBQ that the hotel organised. For 12euros each there was more meat and beautiful salad than you could ever hope to eat and some gorgeous orange cake for pudding. We played some fun party games with the other residents, and this was a good way of breaking the ice with other residents - many of which had been coming back for several years.
We ate out every night and there are some really good quality and value for money restaurants en route from the hotel into town. Ca 50 euros in total gets you a good meal with wine for four adults. The two best restaurants we ate at were the Taverna Bokos some 200 metres down the hill on the right opposite the Ammoudi beach. The menu is at the bottom of their drive and looks a bit "naff" aesthetically but the food and service and the views over the bay are all absolutely fantastic. The other good restaurant is just another 100 metres further down on the right and is called the Avra. Don't as others have advised eat next to the lake. At the lake the food is overpriced and of inferior quality. Just go down and have a drink during the day or early evening down there to soak up the atmosphere. Another good restaurant near the lake behind the tourist information office is called the Embassy and the dining experience is very good with a beautiful tropical looking outdoor area where one eats.
The walk into town is lovely and takes you along the beautiful seafront of Ag Nik. I do not understand why people have moaned about the distance. It is very scenic and takes about 15 mins. En route from the Lato to town you pass the municipal sandy beach of Ammoudi. We really liked it here. The sea is to die for. Ammoudi is a small Blue Flag beach and the water is the bluest I have ever seen and crystal clear. If you are there by 11am in the week and by 10am at weekends you will get a sunbed and sun shade. ( two sunbeds and an umbrella for 7eauros all day ). We alternated between beach and pool days. There are a range of reasonably priced water sports activities that you can do from Ammoudi Beach including Jet Skiing,

You MUST go on the Spinalonga boat trip from Ag Nik. Just book it direct from the pier. It leaves at 12.30pm each day and lasts about five hours. You get a chance to swim from the boat en route and the tour of the island itself is very well done with a guide from the boat.
I also did an introductory Scuba dive at the dive centre half-way between the Lato and the town centre. Just along the sea front about 200 metres after the Ammoudi beach. It costs 60 euros for an introductory dive which lasts in total ( lesson plus dive ) about one hour ten minutes. You dive from the beach and it was FABULOUS. The staff at the dive centre were great and very professional. The sea life just off the beach was beautiful with lots of different brightly coloured fish to swim among, some of them in quite large shoals. They have put two old cars and a bike down at 10 metres depth and these have become micro environments for some of the larger fish I saw. I would really recommend you do this at the start of your holiday, as I did it at the end and I wanted to do it again. After the first beach based dive they let you go out on a boat to a different dive venue. Well worth it and I booked it direct with the dive centre at a time to suit me. If you can swim then this is one of the best ways I have ever spent 60 euros.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view if one is available, The Bay at AG NIk is beautiful and in full view from the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.5 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
992 reviews
0.9 mi away
Du Lac hotel
Du Lac hotel
#23 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
140 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Vasia Ormos Hotel
Vasia Ormos Hotel
#11 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Eliza Hotel
Eliza Hotel
#26 of 97 in Agios Nikolaos
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lato Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Hotel

Address: Ammoudi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $39 - $109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lato Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, attractive hotel set in beautiful surrounding gardens overlooking the Mirabello bay. It reflects the charm and peacefulness of the countryside, while the resort is within 15 minutes walking distance. A great friendly family hotel that ensures a more enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lato Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Lato Agios Nikolaos
Lato Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing