We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great people”
Review of Lato Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lato Hotel
Ranked #12 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Lato definitely offers good value for money: clean rooms with airco and free wireless, very friendly service, decent breakfast. The rooms and bathrooms are small though, and could do with a slight make-over. But then again, you're on Crete, so not need to stay locked in longer than necessary.

There's a small pool we didn't use, and several (small) beaches are within walking distance. You may want to consider renting a car though, as the best beaches are a bit further out, and the area is well-worth exploring. Parking is easy, as Lato offers a spacious (and free) parking.

The hotel is nicely situated, about 2 km outside Agios Nikolaos (which makes for a nice walk, apart from the last 500 m. or so which is along the way to Elounda), overlooking Mirabello bay and parts of the city. Try to book a room with seaview (i.e. first & second floor), it's worth the few euros more.

Highly recommended when you're looking for a no-frills hotel with a laid-back atmosphere!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarGio06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (475)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 475 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Lovely hotel, staff were helpful and friendly. Jeanette made the holiday, fantastic barmaid and made the best chips on Crete! Rooms lovely and clean too. Relaxing holiday and great location Will definitely return was one of the best holidays we have ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie656899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We had an absolutley fantastic holiday at the Lato. The hotel is everything you could want for a relaxing holiday - friendly, clean and so much more. From reading some of the more 'negative' reviews on this site, it might be worth pointing out that I am under 60 (by 30 years!) and did not know anyone going to the hotel, however left from our two weeks holiday having made some wonderful friends who we will be keeping in touch with. Anyway - more about the hotel. We were staying in room 3 which was on the ground floor. The road was quite busy, however as we had air conditioning and the door shut at night it did not bother us, even when we were at the pool (every day!) the noise from the road was not a problem. The room was clean, and our beds were made every day. The sheets and the towels were changed at least twice a week which was great.
George, Van and George were very welcoming and always smiled at you when you passed them on reception. (also Van makes a mean vodka and coke :) ) Jeanette was amazing - her bacon and egg butty was to die for - just what was needed after a night on the wine!
The hotel bar at happy hour (6-8) was great fun - I can recommend the Long Island iced tea and the cosmopolitan cocktails - only 4 euros each if you buy them during happy hours. We had some great nights dancing and singing at the bar and them onto the Avra down the road where the dancing and singing continued.
The pool was well kept and clean- during our stay at the Lato it was very hot (in the 40's some days) and so we were very comfortable taking shade under the big tree at the side of the pool. However there was plenty of room for sunbathing. Breakfast was light and basic, the Greek Yoghurt and honey was lovely. We did go to the Avra for breakfast a couple of times which made a nice change.
Overall a wonderful holiday that I didnt want to end ---- until next year - Yamas!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Graceylou5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We loved our 1 week stay at this charming and friendly hotel. George and his team give a great welcome and Jeanette does a fantastic job in tending bar, making cocktails and cooking wonderful snacks. Her home made chips and Lato omelette are to die for! We'll definitely be going back in the not too distant future. The nearby restaurants are all good, especially the Avra for excellent food and warm hospitality (Costa doesn't need much encouragement to get his bouzouki and start the singing and dancing). The Bockos has a superb view over Mirabello Bay. The olive oil farm, a 10 minute walk from the Lato, is a worthwhile visit. Yammas!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val and Nigel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

Based on the reviews we had high expectations despite the moderate price... finally the room was small, rather noisy, A/C not sufficient, cleaniness was poor. Location is convenient for excursions in Agios Nicolaos prefecture.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

from the cleaniness of the hotel and rooms to the smiles of everyone of the staff.
We had a ground floor room at the front and even though it was close to the road you cannot hear any noise from traffic. Breakfast was fine, even including some hot dishes which we have never known before. Pleasant walk into town, especially in the evening with that nice breeze from the sea. Some nice restaurants closer to the hotel, a five minute walk, Plato being our favourite, the seafood was to die for, and if you fancied something not on the menu all you hHave just spent two great weeks at the Lato, we have been before to Crete but this was our first time at this hotel but will not be our last. Cannot think of any negative things to say, everything was perfect ad to do was ask and if they could they would cook it. But whichever one you picked the service was aways friendly and reasonably priced. Jeanette behind the bar was great, friendly and nothing was too much trouble, didn't try her chips but heard they were great. The other guests were friendly and we even spent a great evening with a young Greek couple and their lovely daughter. Mo you should be a rep for the hotel!
As we said at the beginning, next time in Crete this will be the hotel we'll book. As another reviewer said if people keep returning to the Lato that must be a recommendation!

Yamas!
John and Chris from London/Kent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is the third time of staying at this very friendly family run hotel and therefore would thoroughly recommend it. Nothing is too much trouble for any member of the staff. Our room, which was twin bedded, necessary due to the hot weather, overlooked the bay of St Nicholas - such a lovely scene to wake up to each morning. The rooms are always very clean, basic but adequate. The pool is just the right size and is well kept and very welcome to cool off. The town is within a short walking distance, between 15-20 mins walk, and is well stocked with bars and tavernas and shops. Our favourite restaurant being the Avra, brilliant food and friendly staff. Each morning there is always a very good selection of breakfast to suit all types. This hotel offers a very relaxing and friendly type of holiday, a lot of the guests have returned more than once, which must be a recommendation in itself.

Room Tip: Rooms to the front of hotel have the best views, although can be a bit noisy with quad bikes and mot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.2 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
0.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
875 reviews
1.5 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#11 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
660 reviews
1.9 mi away
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
#15 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
168 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lato Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lato Hotel

Address: Ammoudi, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Best Value Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $40 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Lato Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cozy, attractive hotel set in beautiful surrounding gardens overlooking the Mirabello bay. It reflects the charm and peacefulness of the countryside, while the resort is within 15 minutes walking distance. A great friendly family hotel that ensures a more enjoyable holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lato Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lato Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Lato Agios Nikolaos
Lato Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing