We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Again!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kalithea Apartments
Ranked #45 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Back Again!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I should have written this after our stay in May. It is now September and we have booked the Kalithea for a week next month. We're really looking forward to seeing Nikos and the amazing Maria yet again. As usual I cannot give enough praise to these two people. They will do anything to make your stay pleasant and memorable. When we leave we have booked a week in West Crete for a change. It will be hard to leave but I'm hoping to find similar accommodation over there. I doubt we'll find another Maria and Nikos though!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Treepella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    47
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
36
64
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
worcestershire
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Recently back from this wonderful acomodation ,had 14 wonderful nights and would not think twice about returning ! maria, nikos and jan worked very hard to make sure we had a great time... the rooms are very basic as acomodation in greece genrally is unless paid for... fantastic pool...great holiday .

Room Tip: rent a car to see this region of crete some fantastic places to visit and great beaches to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greeklover030570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Looe, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Our 4 stay in 4 years Excellent apartments with excellent staff Maria, Nicos and Jan, The views are stunning Kalithea means beautiful view. At present rooms are £23 a night for 2014. I am already looking to book again for 2014. The rooms are basic as all are in Greece unless you want to pay £500 - £750 a night in the delux hotels. Kalithea is both clean and Friendly. It is children friendly. All the people I have met at the apartments have been lovely people who all engage with one another sharing there experiences locally and further afield in Crete. The buses run every Hour just make sure you are at the bus stop 10 mins after it leaves Ag Nik or Elounda. Maria is outstanding and can never do enough for anyone. To think some do not even leave a tip for her hard work and attentions makes me ashamed to be british. Nicos is the best manager running the bar of an evening and again will do anything within reason to accommodate anyone. These apartments are excellent value and can not be beaten I challenged you to try.

Room Tip: Room 27 has great views having its balcony on one of the highest positions. Hire car Preferable but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Looeterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

Just arrived back from Kalithea.To be honest having read previous reviews we were expecting a bit more....Our room was not bad ....the usual bit of tape holding things together!! agree with previous person ...selling a self catering apartment when there wasn't even a toaster was unacceptable.We realise you get what you pay for as we stay basic every year ,and it was very cheap however,there is still a level of maintenance that needs to be upheld and it wasn't.
Jan was lovely and works incredibly hard to please everyone during the day on her own - an asset to Kalithea!! Did not feel the same about Nikos.....he was asked a number of times by different families if maybe a b b q could be put on one evening but he was very unwilling.Also what has already been said about the poor dog out the back.It was very upsetting ...considering the neglect and conditions he was kept in, he had such a lovely nature and we fed and watered him along with lots of others.
The views were the best we've ever had in an apartment .....they really do go all a round .You do have to budget for taxis and buses and we can recommend Plaka .Lovely restaurants and fantastic views of Spinalonga.That was a 6.40 euro bus ride there and 13 euro cab ride home.Well worth a visit!
On the whole, it was the people we met and who we were with that made the holiday for us .We are a family of 5 ..our youngest being 4 years old and sadly we would not recommend .It was almost like we were staying in a place that had been given up on and could be made so much more of with just a bit of TLC!!!
p.s the reason i have voted so highly for service was purely down to Jan, and of couse Maria who cleans the well worn apartments!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Completely agree with the previous review on TripAdvisor. Our apartment was spacious and clean. You have to get a bus/cab everywhere which is a drain on your resources. The bar is manned by Jan during the day and she is absolutely lovely and can't do enough for you. As said previously, the poor dog chained up really upset us and would have put me off going if I'd known he'd been there. We fed him every day and night. Quite upsetting really. Met lots of lovely people though and enjoyed our two week stay. The view is exceptional (as are the amount of mosquitoes - take lots of repellent!).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2013

What a great place to escape to. Up high on the hill between Agios Nikolaos and Elounda. 4km from nearest town. reasonable bus service. if you want to see something of the island then a car is a must. If your a big party hire a car at the airport saves on transferes as well. ours took ages (1 and a half hours) to get to and fro. people with walking difficulties be aware there are alot of steps to most of the appartments. there was 70 to ours as we were at the top. great view though. We went self catering and expeced to be able to cook. one of the two rings wasn't working and it took 1/2 hour to hard boil an egg using hot water from the kettle. NO toaster, if you can fit one in your case take one. no microwave either so don't expect to be able to do much cooking. breakfast and snacks are available from about 8am to 6pm by the lovely Jan in reception. very helpfull font of knowledge. maid service via Maria is excellent, she really looks after you. daily bathroom bin empty and clean sheets every 3 days. The pool is lovely and deep not much of a shallow bit at all. If you've got kids there's not much for them to do. Air hockey and pool table. A big TV but never saw it on. Not manned 24 hours so if you arrive really late your keys in your room door and a note telling you which one on reception door. Our room phone didn't work so had to use my expensive mobile to phone emergency doctor who was brilliant in the middle of the night. 90 euro for his visit. Aircon paid locally at 4 Euro a day is a bit steep but very nessesary. Didn't like the fact they had a chained up dog at the back of the place, went and fed him titbits most days. not a good impression at all. To be truthfull they don't make the most of what this place could offer. All in all though a lovely relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: top gives best view but loads of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moglentours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
notts
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

After reading other reviews on this place we decided to try it. I found it very quiet and relaxing mainly because you aren't near anything. It's about midway between AgNik and Elounda. There are buses that run hourly but they end at about 9pm so it taxis from then on if you don't have a car. It is not manned 24 hrs but what staff are there are great. Maria works her socks off and Jan (a more well spoken (ex)rep you couldn't possibly find) attends to your daytime needs whilst Nickos does the night time bar shift. All rooms have good views I would say but the higher up you are the more steps you have to ascend. Air con is extra - normal in my experience. Cooking was a bit of a stretch with one electric ring which didn't kick out much heat. We used their recommended hire car company which was very straight forward and cheaper for cash. One thing I wasn't happy about was the chained up dog Arris up behind the main building. I went to see it as much as possible changing it's water and giving it some titbits. We were told it was seen too but still.

Room Tip: I would say half way between top and bottom would be ideal, far enough from the pool but not so many...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank byngo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
2.9 mi away
Manos Apartments
Manos Apartments
#28 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
49 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#27 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
45 reviews
3.9 mi away
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
#15 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Angeliki Apartments
Angeliki Apartments
#33 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
59 reviews
4.9 mi away
Ammoudara Beach Hotel
Ammoudara Beach Hotel
#24 of 34 in Agios Nikolaos
34 reviews
2.4 mi away
Melas Apartments
Melas Apartments
#16 of 34 in Agios Nikolaos
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Apartments

Property: Kalithea Apartments
Address: Lenika, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalithea Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Bookgreece.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalithea Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Apartments Agios Nikolaos
Kalithea Apartments Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing