We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kalithea Apartments
Ranked #44 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Reviewed August 25, 2012

The good: Spectacular view, friendly people ( special thanks to Maria who does pretty much everything ! ), cheap.
The bad: Dated accommodation, in desperate need of renovation, no TV in the room, the air con is charged extra (be aware because you will need it if you are there in July or August ! ), linen was clean but with some holes !, ants are everywhere, shower was temperamental and there was no wifi in the room.
I cannot comment on the food or the pool, as we did not make use of these facilities. There are so many excellent places to eat and so many wonderful beaches around, that there is no need to stay in the room. Remember to hire a car because the apartments are in the middle of nowhere !
If you are after some budget accommodation with basic amenities, this is an acceptable place to stay.
I do not believe the apartments are worth for more than 20-25 pounds per room per night.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms as you will have no privacy. Make sure you pay for air con. Book through se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 141 reviews

Reviewed August 22, 2012

We were slightly anxious about choosing Kalithea apartments after reading conflicting reviews, but were really pleasantly surprised. The room was exactly like the photos; white, clean, stone floor, basic, white sheets and..the most amazing balcony with a panoramic view of the sea..stunning.
I loved the goats and hearing them first thing in the morning with their bells clanging.
We seemed to be the only people on the entire island without a car so we caught buses to Elounda and Agios which was fine. Added to our daily adventure. We were experts by the end of the week.
There's no food served here which seemed a bit weird, but there's an amazing cafe/restaurant just down the hill at the next apartments. We tried out the 'self catering'..not many tools for the job so stuck with breakfast at home and ate out for the rest.
The swimming pool is fab; clean, warm and big enough.
Maria is Wonder Woman! She seems to clean all the apartments single handed and does an amazing job!
Kalithea Apartments are on the top of the hill in between Agios and Elounda so buses or car is a necessity, unless you happen to like walking up very long hills with no pavement in the blistering heat.
We were on a budget so didn't use air conditioning so it was a little hot at night.
If you want to be in the middle of town and party don't stay here. If you love amazing views, quiet, goats, lovely people, sunsets, sunrises and lots of steps this is for you..and all for a tenner a night, bargain!

Room Tip: Email and say whether you need a double or twin. Room 18 is FAB!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank catherine p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Excellent value for money apartments. Basic and clean, no frills. Maria and Nikos were extremely friendly and helpful. Views were amazing, especially watching the goat farmer opposite feeding his goats early each morning. Brilliant location for both Agios and Elounda. Would definately recommend as a good, cheap base for a holiday in that part of the island where everyone is so friendly.

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 21 and 22 at the top so views were amazing! Flight of stone steps to rooms which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nic A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in the summer of 2011. Its a dog hole to be honest! We were put in the worst room going at this hotel and when we kindly asked if there was another room we could change too, we were told no rooms avalible - not sure how that is when the keys are left in the doors 24/7. The 14 days we were there the keys remained in 30% of the rooms. Anyway our balcony faced a brick wall about 10 feet infront so the 'seaview' was a no-go and the bins were right under our room. The pool is filthy and the whole place is one big joke with one women trying (ill give her that) to do everything. I can not believe people rate this hotel anything but poor....you get what you pay for i suppose but you at least expect it to be habitable.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank frankel141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Just this evening got back from the Kalithea apts.
My wife and I spent 10 nights and loved every minute of our stay.
As it was early season the Restaurant was not open but as seasoned Crete visitors this was not a problem as friends made over the years directed us to the better places to eat.
The pool is fantastic and has great views down to Aghios Nikolaos.
There is a good bar with snacks/breakfast available on request and the 3 pc's are available with free internet access in the reception area.
However, the Apartments are 3.5 kms to Elounda and 5kms to Aghios (roughly) so that would be about 7euros to Elounda and 10 euros to Aghios if you go by Taxi.
Havana beach is a short taxi ride away and the Restaurant above Olgas is a perfect place to enjoy a meal or just chill with a Mythos and still be able to monitor the beach should you have children with you.(and possibly serves the best Saganaki in Crete ! )
The bus service runs across the front of the Apts but flagging the things down is difficult to say the least :(
Maria the cleaner keeps the Apartments spotless and is quite a character around the place and Manolis will call you a cab from Reception should you need one.
I am a Mosqito magnet and suffered a few bites so bring your anti mozzie gear !
And on reflection I would definitely pay for the Air conditioning. Even early in the season it was blisteringly hot in our room which was a small studio overlooking the Pool (and the amusing Goat filled field on the opposite side of the road )
If you fancy a really laid back meal with possibly THE Best views in Crete then pop over the road to the Adrakos Apts (to the side of the Mirum building ) Kostis and his Family have created a very special atmosphere with superb food and gardens ( no menu...just ask what they have that day..you will not be disappointed )
For us. It was perfect. At the price. Unbelievable !

I disagree with the negative views stated by others but maybe they were first time visitors to Crete and just don't get the ambience. We will return to the Kalithea complex. But definitely with the air Con.

Room Tip: We asked for a double bed with a sea view and a late check out....we got them all If you are unhapp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Simon-Gtr-Mancheste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This place is a little gem. Yes, it's run down from former glories but the prices reflect that. What is there is the comfort of the rooms, the fantastic views from most of the apartments ( we stayed in 3 of them - long story!) and some of the balconies are to die for. Where we stayed for most of the holiday had a 5 metre x 5 metre balcony overlooking both Elounda Bay and Ag Nik, and in front was the hill full of goats. The sunrise in the morning was worth the money alone. It astounds me though that no one and I mean no one stopped for a beer at the bar, before they weent out or after. Myself and Nikos were drinking alone each night. Why??? The prices were superb for an apartment /hotel bar. Thank God for the wedding group who were there in the week before and a few days during our holiday. They at least made an effort to give the place atmosphere and congratulations to Alison & Ian on their wedding. Nikos even put on a BBQ in our first week. Thanks to Lorenzo for cooking! The hard working Maria did well to keep the apartments clean and tidy. One thing though, unless you intend to get buses (bus stop outside) or taxis into either town, you will need transport. And as it is in an elevated position, you need to be fit or able bodied. 39 steps to our apartment! But the views are worth it. All in all, a great value for money place to stay, no wonder many return every year! Well done Nikos, Manos, Maria & Lorenzo.

Room Tip: No, just in case we return! We want our room! Most have a great balcony, rooms are big and many have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CigarManandSilvee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My boyfriend and I went to Crete for the first time earlier this month (June 2012) and I have to say that we were very disappointed with our accommodation at the Kalithea Apartments. We booked our holiday as a package deal and we were told that the apartment was a short walk from the beach with fantastic views. Firstly the apartments were very difficult to locate, when we arrived in Agios Nikoloas we assumed the apartment would be close to the beach but this was not the case as the apartments were located high up in the hills. There was a bus that went every hour from the apartments to town and vie versa, a taxi to town cost 10 euros and this was the only option if returning to the apartment after 9pm as that is when the last bus stops. When we arrived the views were truly beautiful and it felt very peaceful. There are no restaurants or shops around so you did feel very isolated. The pool had a thick layer of grease and the receptionist wasn't the most welcoming. He lead us to our room up some very steep steps to a very small and dated room. The bathroom shower fitting was broken and had to be held in your hand and it had very little water pressure. The toilet made the most horrendous noise that lasted for 10 minutes every time it was flushed. The bed sheets had holes in them and the towels provided were 2 bath mats covered in rust marks and 1 large towel to share between two people. We had to pay an extra 8 euros (I think) for air conditioning and for a safe deposit box. There were two single beds that were pushed together to form a double however, there was a large gap in between the beds even when pushed together. As we got in to bed we saw a large cockroach on the ceiling and you could hear plenty of mosquitos buzzing in your ear at night. In the morning the bathroom was covered in moths and there was a praying mantis mantis in the sink. I don't want to sound too negative, it is cheap and Maria the cleaner is lovely but it was just wasn't what we were expecting, another couple we met at the apartments had moved rooms 3 times already. Anyway taking everything into account we decided to pack our things and leave in the morning, we found a hotel in the centre of Agios Nikoloas near the lake for 40 euros a night and it was the best decision we made all week.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sha_G_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.5 mi away
Mirabella Apartments
Mirabella Apartments
#14 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
311 reviews
2.0 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
5.3 mi away
Ostria Apartments
Ostria Apartments
#2 of 4 in Ammoudara
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Cretan Village Hotel
Cretan Village Hotel
#1 of 1 in Amoudara
184 reviews
5.9 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
4.8 mi away
Poppy Villas
Poppy Villas
#8 of 34 in Agios Nikolaos
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Apartments

Address: Lenika, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalithea Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalithea Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Apartments Agios Nikolaos
Kalithea Apartments Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing