We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Honeymoon with the kids in tow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kalithea Apartments
Ranked #40 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Honeymoon with the kids in tow”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We are just back from our August-Sept Honeymoon staying in the Kalithea Appartments. We had a very warm welcome from Maria who i called the trojan as she is so hard working and funny trying out her English while skipping between appartments to clean and the reception to mind. On our first day she gave us pool items for the kids she had saved over the summer and saved us so many Euros on inflatables,we left them for the next guests too. Nikos managed the bar at night where we sat after a trip back from town and played pool with the kids before bed.You can order food from the fantastic Twins delivery service which done club sarnis to souvalaki but the pizza where stone baked and fresh,id also recommend pasta chicken Polla.We stayed by the lovely kept clean pool with the kids most days having Twins for lunch or the local shop in Elounda (by car) We travelled into Agg.Nik everynight for the night life which the kids loved and we relaxed-taxis are plenty so you can choose hire car or taxi as well as a bus right outside the appartment but stops around 8:30pm. The views are amazing and a relaxing nightcap on the balcony before bed while the kids slept was great.We had a fridge,freezer,cooker and all we needed in a well stocked kitchen although dated just added to the cretan feel ...great place,fantastic honeymoon -cant wait to go back next year.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great and located just up high from the road so noise was limited-i stayed on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    47
    25
    13
    6
See reviews for
36
64
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Looe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is the second time my family and I have stayed at these apartments. They are situated between Ag Nik and Elounda and a car is a must. There is a bus service to both Ag Nik and Elounda right outside the apartments these are both frequent and remarkably punctual, the knack is to be at the stop for 10mins after it leaves Ag Nik or Elounda. The apartments are basic as is normal for Greece. Our apartment was one bedroom (Double Bed) there was a seperate Shower room and toilet. The Lounge had two single sofa beds and divided into a kitchen area. The room was very spacious as was the balcony (Half the size of a squash court) All the apartments I saw had such large balconys some with views to Spinalonga Island the others to Ag Nik. The swimming pool is great but deep , my wife is 5'2" and could only stand by the corner steps. The apartments are owned by three owners Vangellis from Aquarius Bar Ag Nik, the owner of Twins a restraunt in Ag Nik which will deliver food to the apartments and the owner of puerto a bar in Ag Nik. This place is amazing value for all it as to offer as long as you dont mind either driving, Bus or Taxi. Taxi from Ag Nik is 9 Euro which compared to Cyprus (2011) I thought was reasonable the distance from Ag Nik is about 4km and the same for Elounda.
Places to go;---- Plaka and Spinalongais a must as is the Happy Train from Elounda up into the mountains and a village called Selles. The trip is about 3 hours and cost 17 Euros. Lunch at Taverna in Selles a guided tour of Selles church and the village. Then to a war memorial. Plenty of stops and photo opportunities. The guide Karen is the craziest and loveliest lady you will ever meet. Best beach Ammoudi beach just before town of Ag Nik and best Taverna Knossos opposite Ammoudi Beach. Stifado and Kleftico to die for.
Finally at Kalithea is the best lady you will ever meet MARIA she has been well mentioned before in other reviews but this lady works 12 hours only being paid for 8 so if you are happy with MARIA please leave a tip to boost her wages. She is well worth every penny.

Room Tip: All the rooms have seaviews ask for Spinalonga or Ag Nik views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Looeterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Basic apartments that could do with a bit of updating of the kitchens and bathrooms but otherwise all you could need. Very clean and tidy, regular cleaning service. The marvelous Maria, the most hardworking person I have met. Would do anything for you, very helpful and friendly. Had lots of advice of where to go. Pool excellent, never too busy and always had beds/seats. Wonderful views but you do need a car as a little far out of Agios Nikolaos and Elounda to walk. Not much availability in mini-market but had menu for very good takeaway. Lidl and Carrefour in Agios Nikolaos for food shopping and lots of other little supermarkets for last minute stuff. Lovely area and the sea is lovely! Would come back good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melsan04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
readingite
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Great apts but you must hire a car. Buses stop at 8.30pm so a pricey (for the distance) taxi back. Shop not yet stocked and restaurant not open but great meals delivered from same owners very efficiently. Maria is the most helpful and hard working lady I've ever met on holiday and Nichos runs a good bar and gets people talking to each other.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlehun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Lovely apartment over three floors, clean and tidy. Maid service every other day. Lovely pool and pool area - never busy. Unable to get food at apartment block but lovely restaurant at apartment block across the road. Could purchase water and crisps at bar but that's about all. Bit out of the town - 45 mins walk to Elounda and 60 mins to Ag Nik. Buses every hour - taxis 8 - 10 euro. Would highly recommend for someone with transport as the views were amazing.

Room Tip: Stayed in room 33 - great for 2 people - fabulous views - no need for air con.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie_humphreys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We have stayed here several times and will be returning in October 2011. We always rent a car but there is a bus service that stops right outside. The apartments are very clean and serviced regularly by the amazingly energetic Maria. Work here is seasonal and wages in Crete are low so please remember to leave a tip. Maria is worth every penny!

The bar is only open in season and is run by Nikos. He's always happy to serve and will often pour you a Raki, the genuine article distilled in a mountain village.

Nikos once saved our holiday by advising us of a fuel strike. We filled up just in time thanks to him and all service stations closed hours later.

Nicos and Maria run a fantastic place and we will return again and again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Treepella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2011

In truth - it is out of the way on top of a cliff. But the views are stunning and taxis are affordable and arrive within minutes of ordering. The apartments were basic but clean and were set amongst flours / gardens etc. Maria is lovely and will do anything she can to make you feel comfortable. Tips: Over the road to the apartment there is a lovely little restaurant where you can sit outside with an amazing view. It's really cheap (we had a drink each, bread basket, basic main course and ice creams for around ten euros for both of us). Also if you catch the bus literally throw your arms around (rather than the British mentality of expecting it to stop anyway - we missed a few buses at first). I'd recommend this place for people who want a peaceful base whilst looking around the island, but if it's a family break i'd recommend somewhere more in town. Would return again

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frazer82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
1.4 mi away
Paradise Primavera Apartments
Paradise Primavera Apartments
#26 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
60 reviews
2.9 mi away
Manos Apartments
Manos Apartments
#37 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
42 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Polydoros
Hotel Polydoros
#27 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Creta Hotel
Creta Hotel
#23 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
145 reviews
3.9 mi away
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
Naiades Almiros River Hotel
#15 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
154 reviews
1.8 mi away
Eliza Hotel
Eliza Hotel
#24 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kalithea Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kalithea Apartments

Property: Kalithea Apartments
Address: Lenika, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Kalithea Apartments 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Bookgreece.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kalithea Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kalithea Apartments Agios Nikolaos
Kalithea Apartments Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing