We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful time”
Review of Golden Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Golden Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful time”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Golden Apartments in August this year. Yiannis and Eleni were marvellous hosts and made our stay wonderful. The town and tavernas are delightful. We would recommend the restaurants of La Casa by the lake and Avli which up a side street about two minutes walk from the lake. With regard to the toilet roll issue. The apartments are self catering so ALL toiletries should the guests responsibility. If you stay in self catering in the UK you have to supply your own. Why should Crete be any different?
We will be returning in October to enjoy the wonderful apartments and Greek hospitality.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well equipped but if you suffer from mobility problems the ground floor is the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gottogoagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    36
    5
    6
    2
See reviews for
75
121
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Golden again in early August and as usual had a wonderful time. I have given a complete review before so there is no need to do it again. The one problem with this forum is that there is no facility to reply to a posting so I hope this will be published.
I am sorry that a recent reviewer did not find the apartments to their liking. The vast majority of reviewers find Yiannis and Eleni very helpful and generous. I see the one toilet roll comment has reappeared. The apartments are self catering for heavens sake, not a five star hotel. A quick scan of the reviews here gives a clear idea of the location of the apartments in relation to the town so what was expected? I am sorry that the reviewer was not able to enjoy the barbeque but at the time Yiannis was unwell and unable to provide one.
For us Golden Apartments represent everything that is good about Crete and its people.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Eats_everything_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I stayed at these apartments in August on a working holiday and had a very enjoyable and productive time. One of the reasons I booked was the free wifi so I could work and the other was the location which is very handy for trips into town and driving to other parts of the island. We have been to Crete several times so we know what to expect but our hosts Yiannis and Eleni were the best yet. The apartments are comfortable and cleaned every two or three days. Much better than some. Pool and surroundings including bar were much appreciated. The area of Lassithi has a lot to offer - great beaches, Spinolonga island, the plateau, small villages and of course the main town of Aghios Nikolaos which we found just right with plenty of tavernas to suit all tastes and pockets. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

After reading nothing but fabulous reviews for these apartments, my partner and I were looking forward to our stay there. We heard so much about these bbq,s and how much yiannis does for you but there was no bbq, no reason for it or apology. He basically had a "can,t be bothered" attitude the whole stay. As paying guests you should expect to receive something if its advertised. Its also in the middle of nowhere but there is absolutely nothing to do .There is a T.V in the small bar area which was hardly ever on. The air conditioning was 8 euros a night which everyone staying there thought was a bit steep you also get one free toilet roll the rest you have to provide yourselves unbelievable!!! We were lucky enough to have fellow guests that were great fun so we still had a nice time regardless, but would not come back to golden apartments.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shelley b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Another great holiday in my favorite apartments. Yiannis and Eleni perfect as usual, could not ask for better hosts. The distance to town is about a 15 minute walk, perfect distance, not too far but not right in the center of the town. The accommodation itself was perfect as usual, we didnt want for anything. The pool was great and we had a great week. Back again soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This summer we had a trip with a difference. I needed space to work as well as take R&R. golden was the perfect spot for this. The location, away from the town, yet with WiFi on site meant that I could keep in touch whilst we relaxed.

Golden is a lovely spot and the Leventis family and their team looked after us so well.

We will be visiting again in the near future. Thank you Golden Apartments!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharp E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

I have 2 days left at this peace of heaven .... What a beautiful place to stay .... We arrived on 14th August for our honeymoon our apartment was decorated with rose petals,candles, sugar almonds and a bottle of champagne ... Yiannis and Eleni are wonderful and yes her lemon cake is to die for ..... Food is excellent the Greek night was amazin with BBQ and dancing ..... Rooms are really well equipped and cleaned to perfection .... There are 12 apartments we have room 3 which has amazin views Everyone is so friendly to each other ..... Yiannis runs a tab system which is great .... Help yourself to beers etc and write it in the book do trusting ... You can always get a sun bed around the pool ... It's so chilled out and relaxed here .... Aircon is available at 8 euros for 24 hrs .... The town is fabulous about a 20 min walk but taxi is only 6 euro ... Aylmiros beach is beautiful only 7 euro for 2 beds and umbrella .. Water sports and fab bouncy inflatable in the sea with slide.... I will be sad to leave but I am definitely coming back next year with my 11 year old daughter she will love it ..... THANKYOU Yiannis and Eleni you are amazin and your little peace of heaven is beautiful x

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hunstanton16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.8 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
807 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
743 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#5 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
560 reviews
4.7 mi away
Elounda Krini Hotel
Elounda Krini Hotel
#3 of 35 in Elounda
183 reviews
1.0 mi away
Minos Beach Art hotel
Minos Beach Art hotel
#1 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Apartments

Property: Golden Apartments
Address: Ammouda, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Golden Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Golden Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Apartments Agios Nikolaos
Golden Apartments Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Golden Apartments Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing