We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Minos Beach Art hotel
Ranked #2 of 94 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Setting”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My sister in law and I stayed at the Minos Beach Hotel and had a great time, the staff were excellent, food good and have never stayed in such a beautiful setting, beds comfortable after having a topper fitted, clean sheets every day, and maids were excellent. The only downside was our bungalow so disappointing apart from our view - minimalistic the brochure said in our view very very basic - furniture basic -outdated tv - we usually like to keep up to date with news in Uk- one English channel - no radio - draw space limited to two very small ones - we ended up using the old fashioned tv cabinet to put our clothes in! no tea and coffee facilities - never heard of in a 5 star hotel! Bathroom also dated and bath quite high to get into. Wi-Fi I only managed to get on twice. Bungalow in general in need of update. Would love to go back but would not stay in a standard bungalow as definitely not 5 star accommodation although charged at that rate. Notice most of the excellent bungalow reviews were for Junior and Superior ones.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a Junior or Superior Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marylou_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Marylou,

Thank you very much for coming to Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

It's nice to see, that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests. Thank you also very much for your remarks. Please allow us to add, that each winter we are doing some necessary maintenance works and also smaller renovations in order to keep the hotel into a good condition.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    489
    199
    58
    17
    15
See reviews for
132
543
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

The ultimate test of any hotel is, would I stay there again? The answer would be a "yes" but only on a bed and breakfast basis.

Idyllic setting,peaceful and private surroundings, bungalow with sea view and private bathing spots with sun loungers - the perfect place to chill out. All the staff were friendly,efficient and polite - obviously very professionally trained.There were many nice touches that were fully appreciated - a welcome drink, porters to take our luggage to and from our bungalow, daily fresh fruit in our room, a free bottle of wine on arrival, daily clean sheets and towels and discrete cleaning of our bungalow at sensible times.

Unfortunately, we had booked half board which meant eating in the hotel's Ambrosia restaurant. The waiters were unfailingly pleasant but the service was painfully slow. On our first night we waited 15 minutes for a menu, another 15 minutes for our order to be taken and yet another 15 minutes before we were served. The same experience happened nearly every night.The restaurant was somewhat pretentious, a setting of 4 knives and 4 forks looked ominous and so it proved to be. There was a first pre-starter course entitled "amuse bouche" which proved to be one mouthful of pureed and processed food where, each night, the waiter would explain what it was that we were eating. I have experienced this before in a Michelin restaurant, but this was nothing like one. The slowness in serving the courses saw guests nibbling their bread or pecking at at a self-service side salad that could be had. As anticipated, the main course was all pretty colours, beautifully presented, and on every single night, with the same brown balsamic sauce drizzled round the large gaps on the plate. A pretty picture but, as hinted at in other comments on Tripadvisor, very little food. One day we had lunch in a local taverna and I had a huge sea bass, beautifully cooked, with a fresh salad. The local sea was swarming with bass and bream (I too took the underwater submarine) yet we hardly saw any fish in the hotel's restaurant. On the isolated occasions that we did, it was about the size of a small tablet of soap. The only night that we had sufficient food was the Bacchus night when it was a self-service buffet !! Only a small proportion of guests (when measured against the numbers in breakfast) seemed to be taking half board. Obviously, the majority (and there were many returners) knew something that we did not. One final question, would you class a hotel where you had to queue 4 or 5 days a week for breakfast, one of "the small luxury hotels of the world ?" I certainly would not, so sort it out Minos Beach. There was plenty of space for extra tables to save guests standing in a queue in the early morning sun.

There were many comments in the hotel's own visitors book and there are on Tripadviser about Minos Beach being an expensive hotel and not value for money. It could be good value, if it provided more fresh, and less pureed, food. The restaurant should stop pretending to be something that it is not and the hotel should sort out some of its decor and empty spaces from the unprepossessing reception area through to the different dining rooms. It could be 5 star in the minds of most guests, but it is just failing in a few areas.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LawmanManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guests,

thank you very much for coming to Minos Beach and for sharing your opinion with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed especially the quietness and the privacy of your bungalow and that you appreciate the work of our staff.

Also your further remarks found our full attention. Thank you very much for informing us about your opinion, as this helps us to improve. We will carefully check the points you mentioned and work on them. Please allow us to add, that our food is praised by many guests. Kindly note, that it's also possible to change the dinner to a lunch in our nice taverna with a great views over the sea. In the taverna, for lunch we serve a small buffet with cold and warm starters and salads and daily changing main courses. Of course it's also possible to choose from our menu.

Dear guests, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if one day you decide to come back to Crete!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My wife and I have been twice to this hotel and had a water room on the last visit it was just the thing for chilling out. Whilst the hotel is classed as 5 star it's close but not there yet. The staff our great and will always go that little bit extra without coming over as being false they treat you as you like to be treated if it's like one of the family and they get to know your and share but if you want it strictly profesional that's what you get.
The setting is great with a view over St Nicholas bay and on Sunday you can even heard part of the church service. Yes the ground are rustic but they are very well kept and lit up at night when you are making your way back to the room .The art work has now weathered and blends into the surroundings. It's a 25 minute stroll into town and 5 euro taxi back. And yes we will return in May 2014 and as always looking forward to it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RabbiBuckley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming back to Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to see, that again you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. With pleasure we will forward your kind words to our team, as we think, that this is the nicest way to thank them and of course also a big motivation.

It was a big pleasure so welcome you and we are already looking very forward to see you again next year!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Minos Beach in September. My partner Kellie wrote a review. This is to add..

The trip was for my partner's birthday and also a surprise engagement.

The hotel staff were exceptionally helpful in planning for these events and also upgrading our room when we arrived. A big thank you!

The highlights were the room (bungalow), the private sun bathing spot you get with the bungalow and the restaurant and entertainment. This was first class, the food exceptional and the service (especial head waiter Miltos) superb.

We will definitely come again.

The only quibbles and I say this to hope for continual improvements when we come again :-)

* The wifi connection was poor. I know the hotel has made upgrades here recently but more work is needed to cope with the new demands on wifi from smart phones etc. We rarely had constant connection throughout the complex so this was not just outside our room

* ironing board in rooms or available. We ironed our stuff like most people before packing but during travel shirts get creased. The hotel requires you to wear trousers in evening for restaurant (quite right!) and I prefer to wear a shirt with trousers. Anyway I went to reception and they don't provide an iron etc. to guests only laundry service at five euros a shirt to iron. This is too much just to iron out some creases. The receptionist did however after I asked get the laundry to do this for free and I provided a tip but it would help to save this bother in future.

* sometimes the service in the bar area was too slow taking more than 15mins to get service by the waiter. This only happened once but on a sat night. When there was more than one waiter for instance during the excellent entertainment evenings this was much better.

So all in all superb, thank you Minos Beach.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neildfulton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice and for joining us for a very special occasion. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are very pleased to see, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. With pleasure we will forward your compliments as additional motivation to our team.

Thank you also very much for your remarks, as they help us to improve.

Please allow us to inform, that for health and safety reasons in Greece by law we are not allowed to provide irons to our guests to use them in the rooms. If this would be different, with pleasure we would have provided an iron for you, but we can just ask you for your kind understanding, why we were not able to fulfill your wish.

Thank you also very much for informing us about the WiFi. In June/ July we already installed far more antennas in the whole hotel and it since then it was working quite well. Please excuse the inconveniences and be sure that we will check the antennas again and work on it.

Concerning the bar, we can just ask you for our sincere apologise. Our barman is doing his very best to serve our guests quickly, but if the bar is full, it can last a bit. We will think about giving him a helping hand, especially when we have live music.

For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

I will not bore you with what is not up to the 5 star grading rather to say that the only things that are definitely 5 star are the staff. They are beyond expectations and the best we have found worldwide in the last 25 years. Nothing is too much trouble and they all work so hard and always with a smile. Nothing is forced, their attention to detail and genuine wish for you to enjoy your holiday more than earns them 5 star.
The drinks prices are also 5 star (not in a good way!), as is the beautiful setting and location. The rooms and the hotel are functional and the food is good but 4 star at best.

If you expect 4 star you will not be disappointed but bear in mind the 5 star price you pay to go there.

Room Tip: Ask for mattress toppers they help marginally. All rooms are twin but can be made up to doubles
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We are pleased to read, that you appreciate especially our staff and the service and with pleasure we will forward your kind words to our team, as this is the nicest way to say them "Thank you" and of course also a very big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

Please allow us to add, that we are officially classified as a 5 - star - hotel according to the European hotel classification, as you can see also on www.hotelstars.eu or www.grhotels.gr.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year.

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are currently staying at the beautiful Minos Beach Hotel. We were slightly concerned after booking to read a few negative reviews. Yes the paths are uneven, but that adds to the rustic charm of the hotel and grounds, which are well kept and beautiful. Yes the beds are hard, but a request for a mattress topper solved the problem. We have found wi fi coverage to be excellent all over the hotel and grounds. Our first floor room 204 in the main hotel has a lovely sea view, which is kept spotless by the always smiling Despina. One of the great joys is always being able to find a lounger by the pool or the sea any time of the day. Maria in reception very helpful when we had a minor problem. We will definitely come back, and the dream would be to stay in one of the lovely waterfront bungalows.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 418Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Paul,

Thank you very much for staying with us in Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had smooth trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you really enjoyed the unique charme and the atmosphere of Minos Beach. Your compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Almost perfect. Great position just outside Ag Nik, wonderful layout within the superb gardens, marvellous access to the sea and sunbathing areas. On top of all that, fabulous food and helpful staff. This is not a place for wild parties but is just perfect for peaceful rest and relaxation. We met many people who go back there every year and we will almost certainly return next September.

Our only criticisms are minor and, I believe, easily addressed -

1. There is no access to irons/ironing boards and you have to use a laundry service. We have stayed in 5 star hotels all over the world and they all now provide this facility.

2. The wifi needs to be improved. Given the extent of the hotel grounds I appreciate this could be problematic but there does need to be good wifi in all the rooms.

If these two issues are resolved by next September, we will be able to write a perfect review.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bevan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
Dear Bevan,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to see, that your enjoyed some peaceful and relaxing days in Minos Beach and enjoyed especially the food and our service. Your kind words for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

Please allow us to inform, that for health and safety reasons in Greece by law we are not allowed to provide irons to our guests. If this would be different, with pleasure we would have provided an iron for you, but we can just ask you ask you for your kind understanding, why we were not able to fulfill your wish.

Thank you also very much for informing us about the WiFi. In June/ July we already installed far more antennas in the whole hotel and it since then it was working quite well. Please excuse the inconveniences and be sure that we will check the antennas again and work on it.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
522 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 94 in Agios Nikolaos
800 reviews
67.0 mi away
Caramel Grecotel Boutique Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
3.6 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.6 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Beach Art hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Beach Art hotel

Property: Minos Beach Art hotel
Address: Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Beach Art hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Beach art hotel has been influenced by the traditional architectural style of fishermen’s villages of Eastern Crete. One storey, whitewashed bungalows and villas with terraces and minimal interiors are almost touching the sea. The unique environs of the hotel with its sumptuous gardens and narrow stone paved streets host the 45 works of Greek and foreign artists. In the eastern part of Crete, only a ten-minute walk from the town centre of Agios Nikolaos and a 45-minute drive from the airport of Heraklion. Exquisite decoration features, minimalist forms and Feng-Shui elements enriched by the Greek aesthetics of cotton and wood, handcrafted details, candles and water syntheses, create unique spaces and corners, making your stay in Minos Beach unforgettable. For a truly VIP experience at Minos Beach, we offer one presidential villa and three executive villas with private swimming pools, as well as exclusive bungalows that are literary “caressing” the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Bookgreece.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Minos Beach Art hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Beach Art Hotel Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Minos Beach Art Resort
Hotel Minos Beach Art
Minos Beach Hotel
Minos Beach Art Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing