We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing but great location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Minos Beach Art hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Minos Beach Art hotel
Ranked #3 of 100 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing but great location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We took 2 junior ‘suites’ in August, which weren’t cheap considering there was nothing 'suite' about them - just basic rooms. We have come away feeling that this is not a 5 star hotel. Its a package holiday resort with a fat price tag, nothing more.
The WIFI was poor, reception kept telling us it was good when it clearly wasn't - when you are faced with that sort of blanket response to a complaint, it really is a recipe for disaster. Asking for anything during our stay seemed to be too much trouble, on one occasion we asked for a menu to order some food in the rooms and the receptionist literally tossed it at us, we chose some items and were then told that none of them were available at that time. The whole trip just felt like a rip off - the location is lovely, the staff need retraining. There are other reviews on here that have the same complaints, trying harder would be the intelligent thing to do, decent customer service= happy travellers. The hotel would be good to accept the criticism and strive to improve rather than write a reply where they attempt to whitewash my complaints with the same generic answers I have seen elsewhere.

Room Tip: a 'suite' here is not a 'suite' as we know it Jim!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Minos Beach and for leaving us your review at tripadvisor. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you liked the location of the hotel. But we are very sorry, that we were not able to fulfill your personal expectations and ask you for our sincere apologise. Please be sure that we are taking your critic very serious and that we will work on it, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

Kindly note, that our different room types are described quite clear in the catalogues of the tour operators and also on our website. So we think our guests are informed quite good about the different room types before the booking. To be honest we are also a bit astonished that you felt the WiFi poor, as just in June/ July we installed additional antennas everywhere and normally it's really working quite good. Also our service usually is praised a lot by our guests and most of our staff is working since many years with us.

Dear guests, of course we accept your opinion, but please understand, that we also want to point out our point of view.

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    192
    56
    17
    15
See reviews for
127
511
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level Contributor
174 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

We have just returned from a fabulously relaxing fortnight at Minos Beach. Welcomed back by friendly staff who remembered us from two years ago, we felt ourselves unwinding as we stepped through the bougainvillea-covered archway into the resort’s extensive gardens and followed the porter past fig trees, lemon trees and hibiscus to our sea view bungalow.

We had already e-mailed a request for the bungalow’s two single beds be made into a super king sized bed and covered with one of the hotel’s luxurious, padded toppers, so the bed that welcomed us was divine and the pillows unbelievably comfy. Fluffy white robes and slippers were provided and a good range of toiletries, though I always take my own. Fresh flowers, fruit and a bottle of wine awaited us, along with a fridge full of cold drinks but our first job was to fill the fridge with ice-cold beers and water from the Bacchus supermarket just across the road.

Standard bungalows are compact but adequate. The wardrobe has plenty of hanging space but just two tiny sock drawers makes it difficult to store swimwear, underwear and tee shirts so I left mine in my suitcase in the bottom of the wardrobe and stored my husband’s tees in front of the safe with his case just fitting under a slim table/shelf. Having the wardrobe and dressing table with fixed (good quality) hairdryer opposite each other in the narrow corridor between the bedroom and bathroom makes for a bit of a squeeze when of us were both getting ready for dinner, and there really is nowhere to sit inside the room. The veranda with its table and two chairs more than compensates in the wonderful warm weather, but I’m not sure how waterproof the “roof” shades would be in rain.

The resort has an extensive sea frontage with many sunbathing areas and plenty of empty sunbeds, despite the resort being full – possibly because many bungalows and villas have their own reserved beds. The only problems with reservations seem to occur at the main beach, but the smaller beach facing Agios Nikolaos was virtually deserted. The crazy paving paths through the gardens are uneven so if you are staying in a bungalow, killer heels are a definite no no (though I was fine in my wedges.) Bungalows at the far end of the resort near the water sports centre are a fairly long walk away from the restaurants and reception for anybody with a walking difficulty so I would advise contacting the hotel in advance if this might be a problem.

The resort is dog friendly, which was a bit of a shock when we woke up on our first morning to find two yappy little dogs running around on the beach. However, all dogs there during our two weeks were very well behaved, as were the children: the resort does not provide a children’s club or pool area so families tend to be those happy to relax and play together, snorkel, swim, engage in conversation at the dinner table. The restaurant food might not suit some children –no pizzas and chips, chicken nuggets and only occasional burgers with pitta bread.

Food in the main restaurant is mostly excellent, as are the staff. The buffet is not always labelled but the chef regularly pops out to check the food and is happy to talk through the choices and contents. The "Capitan" at breakfast is always cheerful and Irini, who welcomes guests in the evenings, is absolutely charming: a model of customer service. At breakfast they have purchased an additional juicer which cuts down on the queues for fresh orange juice. There is plenty of fresh fruit and yogurts, breads, cold platters, a pancake and egg station, bacon, potatoes and beans, cereals. Tea and coffee are served to you at the table. Evening meals are part buffet part waiter service with a nightly choice of meat, fish, vegetarian or Cretan main meal. The portions at the main meal can be quite dainty so, after our starter of fruit juice or soup, we tended to fill up with salads, dips and gorgeous tit bits from the buffet: baked aubergines, stuffed tomatoes, fried courgette flowers, cheese and spinach pies. Gorgeous tasty desserts. The hotel attracts a sophisticated clientele who dress smartly for dinner: no one nationality dominated whilst we were there – the mixture included Greek, Russian, German, Dutch, French, Belgian and English. We treated ourselves to a delicious meal at the romantic Bouillabaisse one night - scallops amuse bouche, skate wing starter, fish soup, sea bass.

Entertainment is very low key: the main bar is busiest pre-dinner when guests gather to watch the distant mountains change colour as the sun sets but is virtually deserted after dinner with people going out to nearby tavernas or into Agios Nikolaos – a 10/15 minute walk away, or back to their rooms. During our two weeks there was entertainment on 4 nights: a girl singer for the two gala dinners, a Cretan duo and a Jazz duo. It would be good to see more entertainment; a wider choice of music in the bar; a happy hour; a wider range of cocktails on special offer; a “meet the managers” cocktail welcome party. It would also be good to have the gym opening hours extended beyond the 10-5. I ended up having a few early morning runs along the coast into Ag Nik, around the lake and back and taking daily long swims in the sea to maintain my fitness (and work off the puds!).

We travelled with Thomson and enjoyed a private taxi transfer each way which helped avoid the madness of the coach manoeuvring through Malia on its way to Heraklion, and, after allowing us an extra hour on the beach, brought us to the airport before the crowds arrived. We booked Thomson’s day trip to Santorini, which was expensive, exhausting, frustrating and I would not recommend. Richard, our tour rep from Thomson, was very helpful and did his best to find us an extra week at the hotel when we decided we really didn't wish to leave! Sadly the resort was full so we will have to wait until next year. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Sea view bungalows near the small beach, pools, bars and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yorkshirecat56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach again the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences and the nice pictures with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We are pleased to read, that again you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and it's nice to see, that you also appreciate this. Your review describes our hotel very well and we find it very helpful for other guests. Indeed, the high heels can stay at home. It is possible to walk with them through our gardens, but due to the rustique and natural style of the walkways not very easy. So better bring comfortable shoes and give some relaxation to your feet as well.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you again and we are looking very forward to see you again!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We spent two days in Minos Beach Hotel and the overall impression was positive. If your first priority is a crystal clear blue sea where you can swim freely without people making jetski, water ski or other annoying things around you then this hotel is the right place for you. We stayed in a seafront bungalow and we saw that many seafront and all waterfront bungalows are very close to the sea; so from your room it takes less than a minute being in the water :))
We also observed that there were not many children around and the majority of the hotel clients were couples without kids.
The staff were always polite and proffessional. Especially the girls working in the restaurant, two ladies in the beach bar and porters deserve a special thank.
Overall we enjoyed our room, spacious and modern. Bed was new and not so hard but not so soft either.
We stayed on halfboard and had two dinners in the hotel, they were OK but not that great. Breakfasts were better though.
My only critisism would go to the bathroom in our bungalow. Bathroom really needed some improvement. It looked old and it was very hard to close its door. Also the stable shampoo cups on the walls looked cheap in such a nice hotel.
Overall it was a very nice two days for us in Minos Beach and would like to stay again in this beautiful hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Senol A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Senol,

Thank you very much for coming to Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your short, but relaxing stay in Minos Beach. Also for your suggestion we are very thankful, as it helps us to improve.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again and that you stay a bit longer with us!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

When we arrived and stayed our first night at the junior suite we were really dissapointed . The room was dark , two singles beds together and the Tv was so small that we couldnt see it from the bed. The day after We have complained and the hotel manager had offered us a superior room with a discounted rate. We were then very happy with the room and all the rest of the hotel .... Beautiful location, great service and lovely food !!! The colour of the sea is breathtaking .... Try to get the sunbead on the beach !! Very relaxed ... We have an amazing time

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Priscilla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Priscilla,

Thank you very much for choosing Minos Beach and sor sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Your compliments for the whole team are a big motivation to continue giving only the best to our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NOTTINGHAm
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The hotel is beautiful, set in its own grounds on the waters edge. We stayed in a superior suite with a sea view and have to say the views were amazing.
The food was good quality, part buffet and part waitress service. We paid extra to have the Lobster night meal in the La Bouillabaisse restaurant, the meal was excellent and so was the service. The service in the other restaurant was good but a little slow sometimes.
Drinks were quite expensive and this resulted in people going out of the hotel in the evenings, making the evenings every quiet.
We arrived on a late flight and was given a bag with sandwiches on arrival and had wine and fruit in our room.
We will defiantly be returning.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming to Crete and for staying in Minos Beach. We hope you had a smooth flight home.

We are very pleased to read that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays and especially the lobster dinner with the very nice view from our gourmet restaurant. Thank you also very much for your open words concerning the main restaurant. When we are fully booked, indeed sometimes it might last a bit longer, but we are doing our best in order to quick and correct service to our guests.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Good location within walking distance of centre of Agios Nikolaos. Friendly and helpful staff. Excellent food (and lots of it). Also useful having a watersports centre right next door - try the dive centre - the best!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Tony,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays and especially the food and our service.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have just returned from two weeks at the Minos art hotel. We can thoroughly recommend it for a great unwind. Our junior suite villa was spacious, clean, with great views, and considering they are built in clusters around the grounds, we had ample privacy. Our only gripe with the room would be the VERY hard beds. The staff were attentive and cheerful especially the two ladies running the beach bar - maybe the guy on reception could learn a thing or two off them, grumpy wasn't the word. The food is fantastic with great variety and considering the varied clientele, they manage to cater for all .We did struggle to get sunbeds on the beach as some guests were going down to the beach at 6am to reserve them, fair enough if you are planning on using them all day, but there were several days when every sunbed had a towel on it..yet no one showed up until lunchtime, maybe the hotel management need to address this issue??? All in all...a great tonic.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Sarah,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are very pleased to read that you appreciate especially the privacy of the bungalows, the cleanliness and the food. Concerning the beds we would like to add, that each person has individual needs and habits concerning his sleep comfort. If somebody feels his matrass too hard, with pleasure we provide several kinds of toppers in order to customize the beds to each individual needs - just a short information at the reception is needed.

Normally we have more than enough sunbeds in the hotel at the pool, at the platforms surrounding the hotel and at the beach - so reservation is not needed. It is not our policy or our philosophy to remove personal belongings of our guests from the sunbeds and we also do not want to disturb our guests in this way. Therefore we kindly ask our guests to behave themselves considerately and not to reserve sunbeds.

Dear Sarah, for us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.3 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
1.3 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
1.2 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#6 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & V...
#1 of 100 in Agios Nikolaos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 967 reviews
3.6 mi away
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas
6.6 mi away
Blue Palace, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa, Crete
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Minos Beach Art hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Minos Beach Art hotel

Property: Minos Beach Art hotel
Address: Akti Ilia Sotirchou, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Spa Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Minos Beach Art hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Minos Beach art hotel has been influenced by the traditional architectural style of fishermen’s villages of Eastern Crete. One storey, whitewashed bungalows and villas with terraces and minimal interiors are almost touching the sea. The unique environs of the hotel with its sumptuous gardens and narrow stone paved streets host the 45 works of Greek and foreign artists. In the eastern part of Crete, only a ten-minute walk from the town centre of Agios Nikolaos and a 45-minute drive from the airport of Heraklion. Exquisite decoration features, minimalist forms and Feng-Shui elements enriched by the Greek aesthetics of cotton and wood, handcrafted details, candles and water syntheses, create unique spaces and corners, making your stay in Minos Beach unforgettable. For a truly VIP experience at Minos Beach, we offer one presidential villa and three executive villas with private swimming pools, as well as exclusive bungalows that are literary “caressing” the sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Minos Beach Art hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minos Beach Art Hotel Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Minos Beach Art Resort
Hotel Minos Beach Art
Minos Beach Hotel
Minos Beach Art Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing