We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Minos Beach Art hotel
Nearby Hotels
Naiades Almiros River Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Miramare Resort & Spa(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Candia Park Village(Agios Nikolaos)
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$273
$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Daios Cove Luxury Resort & Villas(Agios Nikolaos)
$775
$340
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Doxa Hotel(Agios Nikolaos)
$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Blue Marine Resort & Spa(Agios Nikolaos)
$127
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mirabella Apartments(Agios Nikolaos)(Great Value!)
$42
$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$156
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (906)
Filter reviews
906 results
Traveler rating
571
228
72
20
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
571
228
72
20
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaterfront bungalowbouillabaissebacchus restaurantmattress topperhalf boardsuperior bungalowart installationssea frontwaters edgedressing areaindividual bungalowssun loungerslounge barhard bedsstar hotelrelaxing holidaymain building
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
422 - 427 of 906 reviews
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Minos Beach. Agios Nikolaos Crete

I would have dearly loved to give this hotel a glowing report.

The location was heavenly, the swimming wonderful, the staff absolutely charming, the food on the whole was good, cleanliness first class. BUT they badly misrepresented the bungalows on their brochures and web sites. The tour companies too have been derelict as they compound this misleading information. When you look at the website and brochures you see the best bungalows, but the standard sea front bungalows must have been designed by the Greek prison service. Small is perhaps an understatement. They maintain that they state in the literature (which we couldn’t find) that these bungalows have an area of 25 sq. metres. So what does that mean if you are not an architect? And remember it will include the bathroom and cupboard space. The hard beds might appeal to some.

Bear in mind that this is not a cheap and cheerful holiday. The charge for two during the first two weeks of July is over £4k for half board and then you have the extras on top. If you want any night life – don’t rely on the hotel. Dinner was usually over by 21.45 and only twice did they offer a bit of music with a duo during the meal. Don’t expect any dancing.

It was amazing to discover that the local wine offered in the restaurant (no others were available – no French, New World or other European) were of equivalent price that you would expect to pay in a mid-priced London restaurant for a decent Shiraz or Merlot. It is not unreasonable to say the wine available at around €25 was not of a standard we are used to. One would have thought that this sort of wine would cost about half of what they charged and indeed at the local supermarket was just over a fifth of the price.

We were at an equivalent standard hotel in Majorca last year at over £1k less; snack lunches were half the price. One would have thought that in view of the Greek economic position, they might have offered competitive rates. Such a shame as Greece and its islands are wonderful. The historic sites fantastic and the people are charming and friendly. If we felt it was better value for money we would go more often. Just to put things in context – we spent about 40% more in Mauritius in March, but the value for money was terrific – I did post a report on the Trou Aux Biches.

One other thing does deserve a mention. My wife and I are scuba divers. There is a dive centre attached to, but not part of the hotel – the Pelagos Diving Center, run by Stefanos Bonis. We have dived extensively for 20 years around the world and this dive centre is one apart. The care and attention, the expertise - all are peerless. And the diving is pretty good too! The prices might not be the cheapest, but you get what you pay for – really great value. Highly, highly recommended. If you are anywhere within striking distance of Agios Nikolaos and you are a diver or want to learn – give this a visit.

Room Tip: See my report - if you want to spend the money upgrade to a better bungalow, but for that sort of price you could go to the Caribbean.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Harry,

Thank you very much for staying in Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to read that in general you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. We are also very thankful for your critical remarks, as they help us to improve. Please be sure that we will be working on them, as the satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim.

It was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if one day you decide to return to Agios Nikolaos!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the main hotel. It was very nice and clean and a lovely balcony overlooking the gardens. We enjoyed strolling down to the sea and always managed to find sun beds and shade. The food was excellent as was the (house) wine. We also loved Maria at the pool bar. We found the little church in the grounds which was so tiny and well worth looking for.
We also went to Spinalonga, take a hat and water, there is no loo also ! It was very interesting and we enjoyed the experience.
We found Agious Nikolaos a bit disappointing. We enjoyed the lake area.
The hotel and staff and food was fantastic, so that's all we needed really.

Room Tip: Our room was 201 in the hotel.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandrah55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Sandrah,

Thank you so much for choosing Minos Beach and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to read that you found the relaxation you were looking for and that you enjoyed especially the food and the beach area.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again, if one day you decide to return to Agios Nikolaos!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We are just coming to the end of a wonderful,relaxing two week stay at the Hotel.We are already planning our return. Other Reviewers have gone into great detail about the set up of the Hotel so I will not reiterate other than to confirm that the Service is excellent- friendly and efficient -from the Reception Staff to the delightful Victoria at the Pool Bar to the welcoming Staff in the Restaurant .The food is of a consistently high standard and the Breakfast is a real treat catering for all tastes. The setting of the Hotel is superb, truly beautiful and the " vibe" is very much relaxed
We took trips to Knossos and Heraklion and to Elounda and Spinalonga.I would recommend both.The Taverna "Avra", turn right and walk down the Hill for 3 mins was a good lunchtime option.
We leave late tomorrow evening and the Hotel have provided a room for the day, for which we are grateful to the lovely Lady on Reception!Thank you for that and to all in the Hotel who made it such a great break. I heartily recommend it to anyone who is looking for a stylish,low key,yet luxurious break away. Crete has so much to offer and this is the place to see it from.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Katherine,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for staying with us in Minos Beach. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well deserved holidays so much, that your are planning to come back. Please be sure that we will be awaiting you with open arms!

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward for your return!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

If you want to drop out of the rat race, have privacy, simplicity but with the added bonus of excellent food and availability of all the water toys i.e diving, snorkling, boat hire and discreet attention of warm and friendly staff then the Minos Beach Hotel is paradise.

We have been going back for about 20 years. We have also travelled to a great many other destinations and hotels but nothing compares with the charm of this hotel.

Small whitewashed stone chalets perch right next to the sea or nestle in the extensive gardens, where you can quietly read, sunbathe, dive into the beautiful, clear waters or just gaze out onto the gently changing haze of colours that drape over the mountains opposite you.

A trip down to the town for a morning coffee to sit in one of the many cafes that surround the sea filled lake and to browse the many different shops is enough for myself and my husband. Though there are many local trips if you need more stimulation The pretty town of elounda or the island of spinalonga amongst them.

But a wonderful holiday relies on the quality of the hotel and its staff and ultimately that is what brings us always back to the Minos Beach Hotel.

Room Tip: all have their different charm of position
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Julie,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for staying with us in Minos Beach. We hope you had a smooth trip home and did not forget to take some Cretan sun with you.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are glad to see, that you really enjoyed your well deserved holidays and spent your days in Agios Nikolaos and in Minos Beach in a relaxing way. The deep relaxation and complete satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and it's nice, that you also appreciate this.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again, whenever you decide to return to Crete!

With best regards,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Lovely stay. I agree with many of the other comments regarding this hotel.

Setting is lovely. Lots of room which makes it feel really quiet. Great pool and access to sea. we stayed in sea view bungalow - again nice. We were half board and food was to a very high standard. They let us swap dinner for lunch which meant you ere not tied to eating every night in hotel. Service was good.

We booked it for relaxing getaway - this is what we got. This may be the week we stayed but it was really quiet - the rest clientele were bit older than us (we are in late 30s). Maybe because of this, the bars were lacking in atmosphere.

Points made in other reviews - not sure it's five star. Reasons for this: Beds were very cheap and hard, wifi very patchy and slow, rooms (especially bathroom) was a bit tied, service round pool area very nice lady but bit slow.

Agios Nicholas itself was bit souless and tacky. Again we went in early July so season had not yet started.

Holiday tip - get a car and travel some of the island. It's very pretty with some lovely beaches, fishing villages (mokla and plackla) and mountain views.

Would return as was nice. Ps when booking try monarch airlines website - we got a great deal.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank MiddlemLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Minos Beach Art hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Minos Beach the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

The complete relaxation - this is what we want to give to our guests and it's nice to see, that you also found the relaxation you were looking for. Also the weaker points of your review found our full attention and we will have them in mind. Concerning the WiFi, we are a bit astonished, as last month we have installed more antennas and normally WiFi is working good now in most parts of the hotel. Please be sure that we will check this issue again.

For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again for a relaxing holiday.

With sunny regards from Agios Nikolaos,
Yours sincerely
Minos Beach Hotel Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews