We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great time at Candia”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candia Park Village
Ranked #5 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Another great time at Candia”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Just got back from Candia Park after what was our second visit having been there in 2010, also in August. It was a fantastic experience then, and pleased to say nothing has changed. Still a stunning place, spotlessly clean and very hard to fault. Pool area and beach are a joy, and the views are something to behold. Room wasn't the seafront palace it was last time (when we were upgraded) and there was a bit of an issue with the shower, but that made little difference. Nice touch was offering us a free buffet meal as repeat guests. We again loved the watersports at the beach. Loved it all and gutted to be back, but that's life! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onedeshazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you so much for coming back to Candia Park and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are very pleased to read, that again you enjoyed your well deserved holidays. Indeed, there have not been big changes in Candia Park and we also want to keep this Cretan village style as it is, as we know that our guests love it. But anyhow, each winter we are doing some renovations and improvements.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Candia Park Village Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    165
    33
    9
    4
See reviews for
389
106
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Believe all the positive reviews on Candia Park. We are a family of 5 with 3 teenagers and we all loved it. Food is fantastic given mass catering. Staff were so friendly and it's very relaxing. Perhaps an exercise class or two would be good to make you feel less guilty about how much you are eating

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Andrew,

Thank you very much for coming to Candia Park and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are very pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well deserved family holiday and loved especially the food. Please don't worry about calories! Cretan kitchen with it's herbs and fresh vegetables and especially the Cretan olive oil is one of the healthiest in the world and holiday is also time to enjoy - so each gramm you gained, is pure health.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Candia Park Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We just returned from a week at the Candia Park.
We had a one bedroom apartment which is really good size. The balcony is also a good size and very handy to dry the towels and swimming gear.
The only negative of our room was the location. Just opposite the reception and all the bus stopped there...so was a bit noisy. If we were to go back, we'd ask for a different room.
We arrived at Candia very late at night and very pleasently suprised to find some nice food wrapped up for us in the fridge.
The staff is ever so helpful and patient. We lost the key to our room 3 times and they always gave us a new one. Admittedly the keys were all found the day after at the restaurant. The food was plentiful and different every night. There was always something I liked and I am a very fussy eater.
The beach is lovely and so are the swimming pools and we never had problems finding sunbeds.
We have a 3 years old who loved the baby pool...he was happy to be able to walk around it withough floats or our help.
He also enjoyed the kids club. You cant leave a 3 year old there as it is for kids from 4 upwards, but we could take him and stay with him playing in the cool room. He loved playing Bingo at lunch time!!.
We were on half board an mainly ate at the taverna at lunch. The food was good . We also ate some toastie at the pool bar which were really nice.
The only let down were the cocktails which were a little to weak. We used to take advantage of the happy hour...any cocktail for 3.90.
There was entratenaiment evry night except the wednesday which gives you something to do after dinner.
We loved the cretan evening and magic tony. The other nights were a bit slower and not to our taste...but thats really just a personal thing.
We would definitely reccomend going to the Candia

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Perzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Perzy,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for staying with us in Candia Park. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback and are very pleased to read, that you and your little son enjoyed your well deserved family holidays. The satisfaction of our smaller and bigger guests is our highest aim and it's nice to see, that you also felt this.

Please accept also our apologise for the location of our room. With pleasure we would have offered you to change to another one if we knew about your concerns. If you come next time, please inform us in advance (best already during your booking in the travelagency), that you wish a room in quiet location and we will do our best depending from the availability.

It was big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Candia Park Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ein-Vered
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were lucky to be "upgraded" to this hotel due to overbooking of another hotel. We loved the apartment that had a bedroom and a small kitchen nicely equipped + dining area. The pools are great as is the private beach area. The staff were incredibly helpful, great breakfasts.
A few tips: best to have a car to go around as the hotel is out of the city area. Also the bath accessories are the minimal basics (shampoo/soap only) so bring your own body lotion etc. No wifi in the rooms. I recommend this hotel very much.

Room Tip: bottom floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayelet2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Ayelet,

Thank you very much for coming to Candia Park and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a pleasant flight home.

We highly appreciate your kind feedback, especially as your well deserved holidays normally were planned in another hotel and we are happy to see, that we were able to compensate this and that you really enjoyed your time in our "Cretan village".

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Candia Park Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed here in Aug 2013 with my two children aged 6 and 8. It's a great place to stay and I would go back. We had a 1 bed app which was spotlessly clean on arrival and kept that way thanks to the cleaners. You have everything you need, there isn't a kettle but I boiled water in a pan if I wanted a cup of tea.
It has it's own little beach better than the public ones in the town too, which admittedly I didn't use much (we live near the sea) as the pool was more exciting for the kids, they had small nets up at one end of the pool for people to play handball and all the children played really well together regardless of language (there weren't many British families) however they disappeared at the end of the week.
It is a fair walk out of town (approx 45min/1 hr). There is no path, its on a main road with little lighting at night BUT there is a bus (buses stop at 9:30pm) or taxi (approx 10 Euros one way) so hire a car or stay on site as you have everything you need. You can change pool towels whenever you like too. We really enjoyed it. Food was lovely I kept meaning to ask for one of their recipes but forgot!! Kids enjoyed buffet idea! Salad bar/entree was amazing. Always fresh and lots of choice. Staff always helpful. One thing I really enjoyed was the lack of 'organized activities' like pub quiz or dancing to loud music around the pool which annoyed the hell out of me at the last Thompson place I went to. I felt like I could relax as well as the kids could enjoy themselves. Pools are great. There are 3. One of them has a deep end of 2.8 metres so kids loved jumping in! Looking at going back next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATaylor2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Candia Park the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you and especially your children really enjoyed your well deserved holidays and that you liked the village - style of the hotel and especially the food. If you come next time, please don't hesistate to ask our restaurant manager or the chef of the kitchen for any recipe you want and they will be happy to assist you. One suggestion: Don't forget to buy the according herbs and the good Cretan olive oil in the shops in Agios Nikolaos - in this way you can bring the original Cretan taste into your own kitchen.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we are looking very forward to see you again next year!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Candia Park Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We visited the Candia Park Hotel 6 years ago when our children were young, and two weeks ago came again with a big family group ages 5-75 - all had wonderful time. We were treated warmly with all the arrangements before our arrival, and throughout the entire vacation. We got the rooms that we had asked (and remembered from our first visit), and we were given an appartment on our last day, since our flight back was very late at night (free of charge) - We realy appreciate that!. The location of the hotel in the middle of the blue bay, and the beauty of the hotel (white, light blue, and light brown appartments - simple perfect design of the entire village) - make it unforgetable.Small points: Bathroom is big - but the bath is quite small (and old). In dinner (half board) one must pay for water (we thought it should be included).
Very small points... We warmly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tal_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for coming back to Candia Park after all these years and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a safe trip home.

We are pleased to read that you and your big family enjoyed your well deserved holidays in our "Cretan village". Kindly note, that in the whole world drinks never are included in halfboard. As an additional service and a courtesy, during dinner we offer free fruit juices for the children on the buffet.

For us, it was a pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Candia Park Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Hotel staff extremely helpful and friendly. The location is very good, close to Ag.Nikolaos but not centric, so it is quiet and clean.
The hotel beach, although it is small, it is much nicer than what it appears to be in the pictures.
Our room was very spacious and kept clean, however, it could use some updating of small appliances, beds, linens, etc.
Housekeepers were unbelievably nice.
Although we did not have the full board program, we tried the hotel tavern and liked it.
Although the hotel was fully occupied, it never felt crowded, you could find a decent spot at the beach during the day

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caroimelda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for making Candia Park the hotel of your choice and for sharing your experiences with other travellers. We hope you had a smooth trip home.

We are pleased to read, that you enjoyed your well deserved family holidays. The satisfaction of our guests is our highest aim and it's nice to see, that you also felt this.

It was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again soon!

With sunny regards,
Yours sincerely
Candia Park Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.0 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace
Sensimar Minos Palace
#4 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
544 reviews
2.5 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
855 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#4 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,853 reviews
3.2 mi away
Elounda Garden Suites
Elounda Garden Suites
#1 of 35 in Elounda
391 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candia Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candia Park Village

Property: Candia Park Village
Address: Agios Nikolaos, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#5 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Candia Park Village 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cretan style village right on the sea between Aghios Nikolaos (3.5km) and Elounda (5km), from which a frequent bus service connects with both villages.The airport and capital City of Heraklion are 65 km away, and all the fascinating attractions of the island can be reached by full or half day excursions. The village is comprised of 222 units of different types, set among 65.000 square meters of gardens. All units enjoy the same facilities including individual air-conditioning / heating, direct dial telephone, safety deposit box, TV, fridge, facilities for light cooking, filter coffee machines, hairdryer, private bath and shower and large terrace or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Bookgreece.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candia Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candia Park Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing