We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place if you just want to chill for a few days!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Candia Park Village
Ranked #2 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

Good if you don't want to do much and have plenty of time ... if you are going to be in Agilos Nikolas only for a day or so, there is not much point staying here ...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hardvision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear guests,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Candia Park the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a save trip home.

We appreciate your kind feedback and are very happy to read, that you enjoyed your stay.

For us, it was a big pleasure to welcome you and we hope to see you again!

With best regards from Crete,
Yours sincerly
Candia Park Village Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (646)
There are newer reviews for Candia Park Village
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 646 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2012

We have travelled to Candia Park 5 times over the last 10 years. We have even arranged to have other family members join us there. The complex is a wonderful, safe , family haven. It is not rich in buzzing night life or a party/club goers paradise( its not far away in Aghios Nikoloas 15 mins by taxi ) BUT it will suit families/couples.On each visit we have been impressed with the progression the complex offers. There is a suggestion opportunity that we partook in several times and on our next visit we were delighted to find our suggestions had actually been implemented. The safety of the hotel village is so important to us and the safety of our young people. We are quite careless actually and once, we left our camera on the table in the bar area at night, it was still there the next morning! My sister left her children's cool bottles on a bus ride to Ag Nik, she mentioned it to the reception staff and couldn't believe her luck when the bottles were returned to her room the next day. My son was taken ill on our first and second trip. The reception staff were truly amazing on both occasions, they even arranged a small toiletries basket for us to take to the hospital . I was petrified to be honest when my 6 year old son was taken to hospital by ambulance but every morning the reception staff called our room to ask how he was and if we needed anything. We learnt in later years, our son was intolerant to the sea water pool, it triggered a problem with kidney function.
The Mini club was a wonderful form of entertainment for our children and nieces and nephews. The small beach is a welcome change to the pool area, it isn't enormous but it is very pretty and quiet, also the shelved jetty area is great for sea exploring( do take jelly fish sting gel). The food is very good with a wide variety although we also had great meals in our well equipped apartment too. The evening entertainment was fairly sparse but it was adequate. I enjoyed the wide variety of travellers visiting this complex, they were not concentrated to one nationality. If you are a book reader, I recommend : The Island ( By Victoria Hislop), an entrancing story of Spinalonga, the Cretan Leprosy Colony. Then take a short trip to the island and see history before your eyes.
The only very negative comment is , I wish we could go back this year but due to financial difficulties, we are not able. I would welcome any questions from would be holiday makers.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank trustme68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded June 25, 2012

Dear trustme,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making Candia Park again the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a safe flight home.

It was a very big pleasure to welcome you again and we highly appreciate your kind feedback and that you share your experiences with other travellers. The opinion and the suggestions/ wishes/ needs of our guests are a very important point of our quality management and we try to comply each suggestion, if possible. We listen to our guests and care about their opinion, because only if our guests are happy, we can be happy as well.

Dear trustme, we hope to see you back in Crete soon!

With sunny regards from Crete,
Yours sincerly,
Candia Park Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We returned here in June 2012 after our first visit in October 2010. As the title suggests it was better than we remembered.
The room, food, complex, pools etc are all brilliant but the real stand out thing is the staff, they really are superb. Very very friendly but not at all in a pushy way.
We arrived on a Thursday and only realised late that night that the air-con in the room wasn't working. I nipped in to reception on our way back from breakfast to ask if they could get someone to look at it. By the time I had walked back to the room (90 seconds) the janitor was letting himself in to fix it!

The better exchange rate for the euro made the prices seem somewhat better. A large draught beer is 3.90 as are cocktails between 4 & 5 p.m. in the pool bar. A litre carafe of wine in the restaurant was 12-13 euros depending on which colour you go for.

We found a bottle of white wine in the minimart prices at 3,30 which was more than passable for drinking on the balcony.

My kids loved the mini club which still operated on a drop in basis so you don't have to commit to them spending hours and hours there. They only ask for numbers for things like the pizza party. On a Tuesday there is a kids disco which let us have a more peaceful meal.

On Monday's is a traditional Cretan buffet & entertainments, every second Saturday is a mediterranean buffet.

None of the entertainment goes much past 9.30 so no issues with noise keeping the kids (or you) awake.

Room Tip: I would recommend going for a Suite with a Sea View.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bob43951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2012

Dear bob,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making the Candia Park again your hotel of choice. We hope you had a safe flight home.

We appreciate your detailed review and are very happy, that you enjoyed your stay and you even saw improvements since your last visit. Indeed, we are working every day in improvements in order to make all our guests happy - only if our guests are happy, we can also be happy.

It would be a big pleasure to host you again and we hope to welcome you again soon!

With best regards from Crete,
Yours sincerly Candia Park Village Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

my partner , myself and our two children, aged 10 and 5, just returned from Candia Park. we all loved the pools, the beach is beautiful and warm, the staff were all very friendly, especially the pool bar staff, everyone looked after us, we would definatly return, never seen our rep so cant really comment on that but everyone was really helpful.

Room Tip: a cash machine on the resort would be ideal, our balcony had a garden view but we could see all the...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beverley s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2012

Dear bev,
dear russ,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making the Candia Park the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a safe trip home and appreciate your kind feedback.

Thank you very much for your suggestion concerning the cash machine. The next cash machine is in Agios Nikolaos, but we will check if it's possible to get a cash machine in the hotel in order to give some more service to our guests.

Dear bev, dear russ, it would be a big pleasure to welcome you again and we hope to see you back soon!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly Candia Park Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Just have come back from a week at Candia with my boyfriend. We had a lovely week! The staff were very helpful and friendly and even gave us a present upon departure! The apartment was spacious with a large balcony and included aircon! a massive perk when so many other hotels charge as an extra. Buffet breakfast had a good range although it became a bit monotonous by the end of the week. We ate lunch one day there which was okay- nothing to rave about. They have a private beach that is small but really nice and a lot quieter away from the noise of the pool.

The resort is more suited to families than young couples- and so we found ourselves heading into town most nights. This was fine as it is only €8 each way. If you like exploring i would recommend a hire car giving you the freedom to go to town and Elounda or maybe further a field.

Overall a nice resort- I probably wouldn't go back unless i had young children.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool if you don't want the noise of the nightly entertainment
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2012

Dear Jo S,

thanks a lot for visiting Crete and for making the Candia Park the hotel of your choice. We hope you had a safe trip home and we are lucky to read that you enjoyed your stay.

Candia Park indeed is rather a family - orientated hotel with a lot of family - friendly facilities. Of course also couples can spend a nice holiday with us and are very welcome, but our other hotels in Agios Nikolaos (Minos Palace and Minos Beach) are a bit more suitable for couples holidays.

We hope to see you back in Crete soon and are looking forward to be your host again!

With best regards,
Yours sincerly Candia Park Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2012

But - the food at the evening restaurant was really not good! Friendly service but bad food. The taverna which is open for lunch is ok - and it is also possible to get a sandwich at the pool bar.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Apollo
Thank Barbara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2012

Dear Mrs. Barbara,

Thank you very much for visiting Crete and for making the Candia Park your hotel of choice. We hope you had a good journey home.

We are sorry to read that you disliked the food in the evening. On our buffet, our guests find a wide variety of different international and cretan dishes for every taste, also a special kid's buffet for our smallest guests is provided. If you may have a special wish during your next holiday or you are missing an item on the buffet, please let us know and we are sure to find a solution.

We hope to see you back in Candia Park soon and will be happy to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Yours sincerly Candia Park Hotelmanagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

I was travelling solo and I was not warned by my travel agent that most of the guests of the hotel are families with children from Russian provinces. Cafeteria, beach, entertainment places were very noisy with children shrieking, mums reprimanding them for bad behavior, etc. I needed a relaxed, quiet holiday but it was spoiled by my wrong choice of the hotel. In addition to it A/C units are very very noisy. On a positive note - the hotel is surrounded by a beautiful park, it has several well kept swimming pools, the food was OK with the exception of fish (it was either the wrong kind or they do not have an experienced fish cook). The bottom line is this hotel is NOT suitable for couples without children or solo travelers.

Room Tip: higher floors have a lot of air conditioning noise because the external units for both the ground...
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Svetlana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bluegr_Management, Manager at Candia Park Village, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2012

Dear Svetlana,

thank you for having been our guest - also we were not able to fulfill your personal expectations and needs and we feel very sorry for this.

Kindly note, that Candia Park Village is designed and managed as a family - friendly hotel, especially for families with children. Of course we have also quiet corners in the 65.000 square meters of gardens, but families with children have to be expected, if a family friendly hotel is booked. This is also communicated clearly in the brochures of the touroperators.

In your case we honestly think, that it would have been better to book e.g. one of our other hotels like Minos Beach or Minos Palace in Agios Nikolaos.

Thank you very much for your understanding and kind regards from Agios Nikolaos,
bluegr Hotelmanagagement

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
1.0 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
2.5 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
936 reviews
19.9 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 172 in Hersonissos
3,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hermes Hotel
Hermes Hotel
#7 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
845 reviews
36.8 mi away
Marilena Hotel
Marilena Hotel
#25 of 32 in Amoudara
410 reviews
0.9 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candia Park Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candia Park Village

Address: Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#11 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $90 - $262 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Candia Park Village 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Cretan style village right on the sea between Aghios Nikolaos (3.5km) and Elounda (5km), from which a frequent bus service connects with both villages.The airport and capital City of Heraklion are 65 km away, and all the fascinating attractions of the island can be reached by full or half day excursions. The village is comprised of 222 units of different types, set among 65.000 square meters of gardens. All units enjoy the same facilities including individual air-conditioning / heating, direct dial telephone, safety deposit box, TV, fridge, facilities for light cooking, filter coffee machines, hairdryer, private bath and shower and large terrace or balcony. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candia Park Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candia Park Village Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Agios Nikolaos
Candia Park Village Crete/Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing