We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and relaxing”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed here in October for my husbands 60th birthday! We arrived fairly late but found a cold meal in the fridge to put us on! The staff were very friendly and extremely helpful and the food was superb! On my husbands birthday there was a card in our room with a beautiful cake in the fridge - so thoughtful! The only downside was the air conditioning - or lack of it. This was turned off in October and although it was unseasonably warm it was not turned on again. Too uncomfortable for me though! Also the hotel was 4 star however the rooms were more like 3star! They could have done with a little more TLC .Would certainly go again however we were told that the hotel had been sold to the Russians so I am unsure what is in store for this lovely hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Murray1810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (876)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

368 - 374 of 876 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2013

We were so pleased overall that we booked the IBEROSTAR Hermes Hotel in Agios Nikolaos, Crete for a fortnight's holiday in September along with our two close friends. Being on an all-inclusive package for the first time we were most impressed with both the quality of the food and the variety. OK the barbeque on a rare, rainy evening in our 2nd week didn't match up, but that was only a one-off during the whole fortnight. We over-indulged at times with the food but........
Being slightly unsteady on my feet at that time I was put off by the many steps to be negotiated to get to the outside bar, sunbeds and lifts. However we did book a sea-view room on the 8th floor and the lifts did go up that far. We attended a Saga Dinner cocktail drinks event before the meal and my husband seemed to miss his footing on some steps near the outside bar but thankfully only a slight cut to his thumb was the outcome to himself and as it was his first sip of the cocktail, I don't think we can blame over-indulgence of the alcohol kind! We had a slow stroll into the town a couple of times and visited some upmarket shops on one occasion and this was useful holiday shopping territory. We also enjoyed a brandy coffee at a comfortable bar overlooking the lake. We also had a day trip to Spinalonga, a small island but now uninhabited. It was originally a fortress but for 50 years a Leper Colony until 1953. We both managed to walk round the island - me with a lot of help from fellow Saga trippers - and had a picturesque boat trip back to the coach. The guide was really knowledgeable about the history of this island and it was an excellent half day outing. We didn't indulge in other trips this time but many Saga couples did.
The weather for mid-September was at times too hot but shade could be found with umbrellas and shaded seating. Apparently one of the guests there was Gerhard who had been holidaying there for over 20 years. Very little English was exchanged when we tried to get to know him but he was a good advert for the hotel and always smiley! As for the staff, they were excellent and always tried to please. Being a Type I diabetic for over 70 years it was reassuring to have friendly and kind staff around. At the risk of sounding selfish, the weather was very cloudy on our last day and so it wasn't too miserable to have to say goodbye to our friends and staff. As our flight was a late one, we booked an extension on our actual room for 25 Euros but as our hotel bill for the whole fortnight was under 20 Euros, we had plenty of spare cash and it was worth doing!
Like our friends we would be very happy to go back here again with an all-inclusive package. Well done IBEROSTAR Hermes and Sue & Roy for giving us a memorable, happy and 'lots of laughs' time at this special hotel.

Room Tip: We recommend a sea view room on a high floor, as the views of the Mirabello Bay are spectacular - it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Birthdaybelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just returned from a very enjoyable 2 week all inclusive stay at the IBEROSTAR Hermes Hotel in Aghios Nikolaos in Crete.
The “very” enjoyable element was because we had agreed to meet a couple of friends and holiday together for the fortnight.
The hotel itself is right on the sea front on the main road running through to Aghios Nikolaos; the village is a 10 minute walk away.
The Reception area was spotlessly clean and had very helpful and polite staff (we needed help with the free WiFi as the web pages kept coming up in Greek!).
Access to the pebble beach could be gained in Reception via an underground passage that helped avoid crossing the busy road.
When we originally booked, we emailed the hotel requesting a high floor, sea view which is exactly what we were given (9th floor – lift only goes to the 8th then you need to walk up one flight of stairs.
The first problem we encountered was trying to get in to our room with either of the two swipe cards. We discovered that the despite any advice on how to use the card (quick in, slow out or vice versa) we got to know neighbours quite quickly as they offered to help using their method of entry. In a rather odd way although annoying this added some pleasure to the experience.
The room had a double bed, not the most uncomfortable (we have had a lot worse), adequate wardrobe/storage space, a fridge, TV and a free of charge safe. We had a spectacular view looking out across the Mirabello Bay. The cleaning staff did an excellent job of keeping not only our room but the hotel as a whole to the standard expected of an IBEROSTAR Hotel. The only observation we would suggest is that when they finish cleaning the bathroom is to replace the shower hose to its position rather than wrap it around the bath taps.
The second problem to try our perspicacity (haven’t used that word for a long time, just thought it needed an airing although probably not the right one anyway) was having just settled down for the evening on the first night, we were disturbed by a very loud vibrating noise. Reception was advised and a Maintenance engineer was swiftly despatched. This was tracked down to a running tap in the cleaner’s room on our floor. If the position of the tap head was turned the noise could be reduced or even stopped. The incident occurred again and this time some more permanent action must have been adopted because that was the last of the noise akin to the QE2 docking.
This was the first occasion that we had holidayed in a Greek all inclusive hotel and must admit the food offered was of a very high standard; the desserts certainly surpassed the Spanish ones. One observation perhaps worthy of note is that the lunch salads whilst excellent in presentation didn’t provide the opportunity to have any cold meat or eggs or prawns unless you were prepared to try to pick them out of a mixed salad ensemble.
We discovered, quite by accident (our third problem), that there are rules regarding what “drink” is and isn’t allowed to be ordered in the restaurant. Our lady friend could only drink white wine with her meals and didn’t find the house wine very palatable; we then incurred the wrath of the Maitre’D (Mr Bisquits - more later) when we ordered a gin and tonic! It would appear that the only alcoholic drinks that the Restaurant is allowed to serve are Beer or Wine. He obviously thought that we were trying to “buck” the system looking to be seasoned Greek Holidaymakers.
We later discovered that sparking white wine (Cava) was available in the restaurant and this solved the issue.
And now for the fourth!
Whilst we have already indicated that the food was excellent, we now have the mystery of the missing cheese biscuits!
On the odd occasion, the cheese board (nearly always present was our favourite blue cheese) rarely had the required biscuits. Therefore, my wife, not to be thwarted by this shortfall, decided on a somewhat direct approach and went to the local supermarket and bought some to provide both ourselves and friends a suitable meal “finisher”!
Well, had we any idea of what was to come?
We all achieved the cheese course element of our meal (something most of do on holiday but rarely at home) when the “purchased biscuits”, no brand names but we managed to TUC into them, were placed on the table in readiness for our pleasure when who should appear but the Maitre’D “subsequently named “Mr Bisquits – after the Fox advert, who tried to “steal” our bisquits all in good fun recognising our attempt to highlight the fact that they weren’t always present.
This really added to our holiday enjoyment!
Meals / Drinks Times
The Main Restaurant the “Phaethon” served meals at the following times:
Breakfast 07.00 – 10.00 - Continental Breakfast 10.00 – 11.00
Light Snacks 11.00 – 12.30
Lunch 12.30 – 14.30
Light Snacks 14.30 – 17.00
Dinner 18.30 – 21.30
You could choose to sit inside or out.
Before I forget - bottled drinking water was available from either of the two bars (no charge).
The “Bay View” Pool Snack Bar served drinks 10.30 – 17.00.
You need to be aware that the snacks available at the Pool Bar are not part of the All Inclusive deal but can be purchased at a 50% discount from the price list – we never found that we needed to participate but those that did certainly seemed to enjoy what was available.
At 17.00 the Main “Ikaros” Bar took over from the Pool Bar until Midnight.
Generally, all drinks were served by hotel staff.
On the Ground Floor adjacent to the Reception area but with access to the main road is the “Del Mar” Blue Concept Bar. All Inclusive guests are allowed to use the facility but must purchase drinks at a discount.
We never had a major problem getting a sunbed although you need to be aware that the hotel set up is such that the pool is on the 5th Floor. Pool towels (free) were provided in the room and could be changed via the room maid. Day-time activities were thin on the ground but possibly as it was near the end of the season (not that this should make a difference). The multilingual animation lady (I believe was called Velina, apologies if incorrect) was very pleasant and often appeared in the afternoon with a tray of melon pieces. We called her “Vileda” as she was always going round mopping up information especially if there was a Scrabble word that required explanation! Evening entertainment wasn’t bad, we certainly enjoyed the quick change act and the three piece band had us up dancing on both of their visits.
We agreed that we would be more than happy to visit this hotel in the future.

Room Tip: We preferred our choice of a high floor with superb sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank The_Bald_Piper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Visited end of season, couldn't understand why not more popular.

Rooms tired but like all hotel very clean. Showers simple with hot water. Beds comfortable - singles together to make double. Only criticism - air con poor . and if open doors / windows be aware of mosquitos, most people had a couple of bites so take creams etc
Food at breakfast and dinner good buffet offering. (for Greece, a country not renowned for food or wine).
Service very good
Would definitely return

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y0rkie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2013

This place is just great and so well located ! Just in front of the sea and with a swimming pool on the roof. Really had a great time. Enjoyed all the dinners at the really good buffet restaurant. People were also so nice with us Animations every night.
.Hope to be abble to come back some day !!
Special thanks to Eva and Velina !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar
Thank ghys91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel was good in every way. Our trip was end of season so there were many over 55s there. (Which my friend and I are) breakfast was varied and suited every nationality. Fresh cooked eggs counter and fresh bread every day. We preferred to eat out in the evening but many people were all inclusive and they said it was very good value. Bedroom very clean and serviced each day, fresh towels and sheets if required. Tiny local beach of shale but sandy ones within walking distance. The lake is a short walk away and lovely restaurants there also some boat trips from there too. Evening entertainments were good for older people. Evalina worked very hard on these. Some daytime entertainments and keep fit offered. I am sure that there would be something for children in the high season. Good bars and free internet. Wifi a bit iffy.
You can find it somewhere. !!
Staff were very helpful and friendly.
NB .we didn't use the spa so cannot comment.

Room Tip: Book a sea view room if possible as views not brilliant from other rooms. Check if aircon REALLY wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Fab location right on sea front and only 5 mins stroll to town centre. Got a great deal as early in season around £50 per night B&B. Best breakfast choice I think I have had except I like my coffee strong. Rooms are a little old fashioned but clean and pleasant with a comfortable bed. I would recommend splurging on a sea view room and instead of a half board option, going into town for meals as the restaurants in ag nik are great value and very good quality. Not much of a beach but an attractive pool area with quality loungers and again that view.Quality 4* hotel in a pretty resort.

Room Tip: has to be a sea view for me!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank karenlovestravellin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Agios Nikolaos hotels
0.0 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#9 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
972 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#1 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
663 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Nicolas Bay Resort Hotel & Villas
1.0 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Address: Akti Koundourou 17, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Hermes)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range: $67 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing