We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable holiday”
Review of Hermes Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hermes Hotel
Ranked #7 of 95 Hotels in Agios Nikolaos
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We have just returned from our holiday staying at the Iberostar Hermes. This hotel is in one of the best locations in Agios Nikolaos being only a five minute stroll from the centre of the resort. The food was excellelent, always loads of choices and always being replaced, couldn't find fault with any of the meals. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a sea view room, which is a must, as if you don't you look out onto buildings and is not very nice, but the sea view is worth paying extra for. The rooms are spacious and kept spotlessy clean but they are very tired and old fashioned however we were very comfortable. Plenty of wardrobe space, good sized bathroom with plenty of hot water. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again. We loved Agios Nikolaos, plenty to see and loads of shops, although a bit pricey. Especially nice around the sea water lake, which has loads of cafes and restaurants around it. You must visit Spinalonga Island and the trip in a glass bottomed catamaran to see the Turtles is wonderful, both trips 15euros each and well worth it.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view room preferably high up for a better view. We had room 919 which we loved
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    286
    90
    23
    13
See reviews for
171
436
34
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed here for a wekk in a large sea view suite, with balcony. the hotel, staff and facilities were all great, with the exception of room decor which was tired, carpets whiech were rumpled, air con which was old fashione and noisy, and the cupboards which had seen better days. But it was verl well cared for, very clean, and the service was superb. Nothing was too muchtrouble for the staff, the buffet food was fresh, hot or cold as appropriate and regularly refreshed, and varied by meal. Each dinner was themed. The salt water pool was chilly, but provided welcome refreshment when in the sunn for too long. There is no proper beach, just a small area of shingle which provides access to the sea for the hardy. Very close to the town centre, and with great views. Highly recommmended.

Room Tip: Sea view, get one of the bigger ones with a seperate lving area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phinthyme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stayed for two weeks with friends. Upgraded free of charge on arrival to a suite with sea views. Rooms could do with updating as a little dated however very clean and quite comfortable. Food was pretty good although perhaps lacked variety. Staff were mixed - some lovely, some seemed to just want the season to end!

Would stay again...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank ddlwright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Southgate, North London
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Excellent, comfortable hotel. Food excellent, well presented and large variety at all (self-service) meals.Be prepared to put on some weight you won't be able to resoist the desserts (all prepared on site). Staff throughout were outstandingly helpful, professional and friendly. Do ask for a sea-view room and you'll get an amazing vista of the bay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
Thank D.D_and_Mrs.L.D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The hotel, or better yet, its rooms, are clearly needing an update.
The food isn't exquisite but its quite good with some variety.
All the staff was extremelly helpfull and every need was satisfied.
The best part about this hotel is clearly its location since you can make a short walk and have a lot of restaurants and stores at your disposal.
Don't go for an all inclusive because you'll miss a great opportunity to try some good local restaurants and its greek food.
Also don't rent cars through your travel agency since you have 3 car rentals really close to the hotel. Dont' miss this opportunity to get to know the island a little bit more.
Last but not least, be prepared to pay 2,5 euros per chair and 2 euros for a sunshade everywhere...

Room Tip: Go for the sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bringiton86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel as other reviews have stated is a good four star hotel, what makes it 5 star is the hotels excellent staff. The rooms are a little dated but spotless. The food is excellent with many choices. The pool ( salt water ) is a little cool but lots of room around for sun beds. The bars are large and serve most drinks I can think off.
But put these rather ordinary points together with the most friendly, helpful, hard working group of people that any hotel would be proud off and it shines. From reception on arrival through the catering staff the bar staff and the maids each one made us feel so very welcome and it was their aim to keep ushappy.
Well done to all. Would fully reccommend this hotel to all.

Room Tip: The views are excellent from floors 5 upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank merseymcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to this area and chose the Hermes for its closeness to centre. The hotel in general was really nice and the staff were excellent, very helpful. It was the room that let the hotel down. We booked a double room with sea view at an extra cost and although we got that it was not as shown on the many websites which had this hotel. It was very dated like a blast from the seventies and we were very disappointed that it was not what we expected.

The house keeping staff did a great job in keeping everything spotless and they were very pleasant. The food was great as were the waiters etc.

We would go back to this hotel if we were assured of a room that looked like the one on their website.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Iberostar

Helpful?
1 Thank ProspectPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Agios Nikolaos
0.0 mi away
Coral Hotel
Coral Hotel
#12 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
456 reviews
1.0 mi away
Miramare Resort & Spa
Miramare Resort & Spa
#10 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
889 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sensimar Minos Palace - Adults Only
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Candia Park Village
Candia Park Village
#3 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
607 reviews
20.7 mi away
Creta Maris Beach Resort
Creta Maris Beach Resort
#6 of 171 in Hersonissos
2,957 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
Mirabello Beach & Village Hotel
#6 of 95 in Agios Nikolaos
1,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hermes Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hermes Hotel

Property: Hermes Hotel
Address: Akti Koundourou 17, Agios Nikolaos, Crete 721 00, Greece (Formerly Dessole Hermes)
Location: Greece > Crete > Lasithi Prefecture > Agios Nikolaos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 Luxury Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
#9 Romantic Hotel in Agios Nikolaos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hermes Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the coastal line of Mirabello bay, Hermes hotel gives you the opportunity to tastethe unique Mediterranean Sea and is only one step away from the heart of the lively city ofAgios Nikolaos. Hermes is the perfect starting point for those wishing to explore the wondersof Crete simultaneously offering an experienced service and numerous facilities for yourcomfort ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Bookgreece.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hermes Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Hotel Crete/Agios Nikolaos
Hermes Agios Nikolaos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing